Get Free Teaser
Project record · Enriched · Verified 22 Oct 2026

Google AI Hub VisakhapatnamTarluvada · Rambilli · Adavivaram, Andhra Pradesh

Record PRJ-001Visakhapatnam & Anakapalli districts, Andhra PradeshTier A — procurement-ready12 public sources cross-checked
Under constructionLive litigation — PIL pendingEnriched recordGigawatt-scale AI hub
1,000MW
Announced hub total
3
Campuses
601.4ac
Land allotted
$15bn
Committed 2026–30
3
Subsea cables
2028
Phase 1 target

Google's Visakhapatnam AI hub is the largest single foreign direct investment in Indian data-centre history: approximately US$15 billion over 2026–2030 for a one-gigawatt hub spread across three campuses on 601.4 acres. Ground was broken on 28 April 2026. Unlike a normal operator build, Google is not the builder — AdaniConneX and Nxtra by Airtel are constructing the buildings and connecting infrastructure, which means every equipment package flows through their supply chains, not Google's.

1At a glance

Record ID
PRJ-001 — Gridvik India Data Centre Registry
Project name
Google AI Hub Visakhapatnam — Google Cloud India AI hub, gigawatt-scale
Operator
Google — implemented through Raiden Infotech India Private Limited, Google's subsidiary
Partners
Adani Infra (implementation partner) · AdaniConneX and Nxtra by Airtel (data-centre buildings and connectivity)
Location
Three campuses: Tarluvada and Adavivaram/Mudasarlova in Visakhapatnam district; Rambilli in Anakapalli district
State
Andhra Pradesh
Record type
Campus aggregate — umbrella record. Individual campus and phase capacities are not publicly split
Status
Under construction. Groundbreaking 28 April 2026 at Tarluvada
Capacity
1,000 MW announced hub total; IT versus gross basis not specified by any source
Target
Phase 1 service readiness late 2028; combined 1 GW commissioned by approximately July 2028 per state statements
Land
601.4 acres allotted by APIIC — Tarluvada 266.6 ac, Rambilli 174.8 ac, Adavivaram and Mudasarlova 160 ac
Investment
~US$15 bn / ₹1.35 lakh crore over five years, 2026–2030
Gridvik tier
A — procurement-ready. Operator, state and trade press cross-checked

2Capacity reconciliation

One number is quoted constantly — 1 GW — and it hides three different things. This record keeps them apart.

Announced01Land allotted02Ground broken03Build out04Commissioned05Navy = verified · Red = current stage · Grey = not yet evidenced
Figure 1Delivery stage. Announcement, land allotment and groundbreaking are each independently evidenced. No campus-level or phase-level capacity split has been published, so '1 GW' cannot yet be allocated across the three sites.
What each figure actually measures
FigureWhat it measuresStatus
1,000 MWTotal announced hub capacity across all three campuses. Basis — IT load, gross facility power or grid draw — is not stated by Google, the state or any partnerOperative
3 campusesPhysical sites, not phases. No published capacity split per campus, so no campus figure can be quotedVerified
3 SPVsOne special purpose vehicle per project component, reported at groundbreaking. Suggests the campuses are separately financed, which usually means separately phasedStructural
5 GWExpansion ambition reported by secondary outlets. Not confirmed by Google, Adani or the state. Treat as an unverified claimUnverified
6.5 GWAndhra Pradesh's state-wide AI compute ambition, which this hub anchors. Not this project and must never be added to itNever add
Gridvik read — do not average

Use 1,000 MW as the hub total and label it as announced capacity with an unstated basis. Do not quote a per-campus figure; none exists publicly. Do not add the 5 GW expansion claim or the 6.5 GW state ambition to this record — both would inflate a national total by thousands of megawatts.

3Site and build

TarluvadaVisakhapatnam district266.6 acRambilliAnakapalli district174.8 acAdavivaram + MudasarlovaVisakhapatnam district160.0 acTotal 601.4 acres allotted by APIIC across three campuses · groundbreaking held at Tarluvada, 28 April 2026
Figure 2Land allocation by campus. APIIC allotted 601.4 acres in total, with the largest single parcel at Tarluvada where the groundbreaking ceremony was held. Rambilli sits in neighbouring Anakapalli district, so the hub spans two districts and two sets of local approvals.
Address
Tarluvada village, Anandapuram mandal, Visakhapatnam district — groundbreaking site. Two further campuses at Rambilli (Anakapalli district) and Adavivaram/Mudasarlova
Total land
601.4 acres across three campuses
Campus 1
Tarluvada — 266.6 acres, Visakhapatnam district. The groundbreaking site and the largest parcel
Campus 2
Rambilli — 174.8 acres, Anakapalli district
Campus 3
Adavivaram and Mudasarlova — 160 acres, Visakhapatnam district
Land allotment
Approved by Andhra Pradesh Industrial Infrastructure Corporation (APIIC) in February 2026 and handed to Raiden Infotech
Design
Not published. No rack count, density, PUE, redundancy tier or floor loading disclosed for any campus
Energy
New renewable generation — solar, wind and storage — to be developed in Andhra Pradesh by Adani under the partnership
Connectivity
Three new subsea cables: Visakhapatnam–South Africa–United States; Visakhapatnam–Singapore–Australia–US West Coast; Mumbai–Western Australia. Metro fibre also planned

4Delivery structure — who actually builds what

This is the single most useful section for anyone selling into the project, because the buying entity is not the name on the press release.

Owner and end user
Google, through subsidiary Raiden Infotech India Private Limited
Implementation partner
Adani Infra (India) Limited — partnered with Raiden to set up the hub. APIIC allotted the 601.4 acres to Adani Infra at Raiden's request
Data-centre construction
AdaniConneX and Nxtra by Airtel lead construction of the data-centre buildings and the connecting infrastructure
Financing
Three separate SPVs reported, one per project component
What this means
Equipment and services for the buildings are procured through AdaniConneX and Nxtra, not through Google's own procurement. A vendor approaching Google directly will be redirected. The commercial route into this project is the two Indian EPC-platform partners

5Operator and partner profile

Google
Gigawatt-scale global infrastructure programme. This is Google's largest AI hub outside the United States and its largest investment in India to date
AdaniConneX
Adani and EdgeConneX joint venture — Indian data-centre platform. Positioned here as builder of record alongside Nxtra
Nxtra by Airtel
Bharti Airtel's data-centre arm; ~300 MW operating and targeting 1 GW. Also handles connectivity for this hub
Raiden Infotech India
Google's Indian subsidiary and the implementing entity on paper — the name that appears on land records and approvals
Why the structure matters
A three-way structure with three SPVs means delay at any one campus does not necessarily delay the others, and it means each campus may reach the equipment market on its own timetable

6Timeline

  • Google announces approximately US$15 billion for its first AI hub in India, at Visakhapatnam — 2026 to 2030.
  • Andhra Pradesh government approves and completes allotment of 601.4 acres to the project; APIIC approves the transfer at Raiden's request to Adani Infra.
  • Land formally handed over. Commissioning of the 1 GW target reported as July 2028.
  • Groundbreaking at Tarluvada. Foundation stone laid by Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, with the Union IT Minister and Adani and Bharti leadership present.
  • Andhra Pradesh High Court declines an interim status-quo order and allows VHDCPL to continue work at its own risk and cost, subject to the final outcome of the public interest litigation.
  • Phase 1 service readiness targeted — approximately 29 months from groundbreaking.

7Procurement intelligence

Read this before the table

Everything in this section is a Gridvik estimate derived from published information. For this record the uncertainty is higher than usual, because no campus-level capacity, rack count or design has been published. Reconfirm with AdaniConneX or Nxtra before any commercial commitment.

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
Order window
Active now, through 2027. Ground was broken in April 2026 with a 2028 target. Civil and structural work dominates 2026; electrical and mechanical packages typically follow 9–18 months behind foundation work, which places the bulk of equipment awards in 2027 for a late-2028 handover.
Procurement heat
High. The largest single data-centre build in India, actively under construction, with a stated deadline.
Who buys
AdaniConneX and Nxtra by Airtel, not Google. Route commercial conversations through these two platforms. Both are repeat buyers with existing approved vendor lists, so an unregistered vendor should expect to enter as a subcontractor first.
DG / gensets (indicative)
At 1,000 MW announced and PUE assumptions in the 1.4–1.5 range, full build implies roughly 800–950 gensets of 2,000–2,250 kVA class across three campuses on an N+1 basis. Treat the count as an order of magnitude, not a quote — the capacity basis is unstated and the campuses may not be built out equally.
UPS (indicative)
Very large centralised UPS plant. At this scale the likely structure is building-level UPS rooms feeding multiple data halls, with battery monitoring and switchgear packages of comparable size.
Cooling (indicative)
AI-training workloads at this scale make liquid cooling near-certain for the compute halls, alongside air for the balance. No cooling design has been published, so this is inference from workload type, not from a disclosed specification.
Categories in scope
DG and gensets · UPS · HV and MV switchgear · substations · PDUs and busway · chillers, CRAH and CDUs · liquid cooling distribution · racking and containment · structured cabling and fibre · fire detection and suppression · BMS/DCIM · fuel storage · water treatment · substation and transmission works · subsea cable landing infrastructure
Decision role
Public decision roles — in GridFeed
Stage-change history
Dated change log — in GridFeed
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

8Assumptions and method

What is sourced
Land parcels as allotted by APIIC; investment; partner roles; dates; court status; cables; energy commitment
What is derived
Only the procurement section — order window, heat, equipment ranges, categories in scope
Capacity basis
No source states whether 1,000 MW is IT load, gross facility power or grid draw. Downstream sizing therefore carries a wide error band and is expressed as a range
Additivity rule
This record is a campus aggregate and is flagged non-additive. It must never be summed with its own campus rows, with Digital Connexion PRJ-002, or with the Andhra Pradesh state ambition
Partner attribution
AdaniConneX and Nxtra are named as construction leads for buildings and connecting infrastructure. Gridvik does not claim they hold every package
Conflict rule
Unverified secondary claims, including the 5 GW expansion figure, are retained and labelled rather than dropped, so the record shows what is circulating and what is evidenced

9Legal and land risk

This is the material risk on the record

6 October 2026: the Andhra Pradesh High Court declined an interim status-quo order and permitted VHDCPL to continue work at its own risk and cost, subject to the final outcome of the public interest litigation.

Environmental-clearance and temple-land challenges remain pending. Construction is proceeding but the approvals are not fully settled, and the court's wording — at the developer's own risk and cost — means development to date creates no entitlement if the judgment is adverse.

For a vendor this is a contract-structure question, not a reason to avoid the project: milestone-linked payment terms and clear termination and demobilisation clauses matter more here than on a site with clean title.

Court
Andhra Pradesh High Court
Order date
6 October 2026
Effect
Interim status quo refused. Construction permitted to continue at the developer's own risk and cost pending final judgment
Outstanding
Public interest litigation; environmental-clearance challenge; temple-land challenge
Commercial implication
Substantial capital is being deployed on land whose title is not finally settled. Any supplier should price that risk into payment terms

10Limits, conflicts and open questions

Capacity basis
Not published. 1,000 MW could be IT load, facility power or grid connection. The distinction changes equipment counts by roughly a third
Campus split
No per-campus capacity, phase split or delivery sequence published. Three SPVs imply separate phasing but confirm nothing
Design
No rack count, kW per rack, PUE, redundancy tier, floor loading or data-hall count disclosed for any campus
EPC contractors
AdaniConneX and Nxtra are named as building and connectivity leads. The MEP contractors beneath them are not publicly disclosed
Anchor tenants
Google is the end user. Whether any capacity is offered to third parties is not stated
Power supply
Renewable generation is committed in principle by Adani. Tariff, open-access terms, grid interconnection point and voltage level are not published
What we will not claim
No equipment brands, no tender dates, no construction milestones beyond groundbreaking, and no view on whether the 2028 date holds

11Sources

This record was compiled entirely from publicly available sources, cross-checked against one another.

Google blog — first AI hub in India, US$15 bn (14 October 2025)·Google blog — AI hub groundbreaking (28 April 2026)·Adani media release — Adani and Google partnership·Andhra Pradesh Industrial Infrastructure Corporation land allotment reporting·The Hindu·The New Indian Express·Business Standard·Moneycontrol·Economic Times Datacenters·DatacenterDynamics·StartupFeed·NDTV

Legal status drawn from Andhra Pradesh High Court reporting, 6 October 2026. Gridvik does not publish source URLs on record pages; the underlying citations are retained in the internal source register and are available on request.

What this page is, and what it is not

This is a public-source record of a real project. Every factual statement in sections 1 to 6 and 9 is drawn from the sources named above. The procurement section is clearly labelled as Gridvik's estimation.

There is no tender insider information here, no private contact data, and no operator-paid placement. Any party can correct this record for free, and every correction is dated and published.