Get Free Teaser
Project record · Enriched · Verified 22 Oct 2026

Reliance Jamnagar AI Data Centre ClusterJamnagar, Gujarat · Reliance Industries

Record PRJ-003Jamnagar, GujaratTier B — enrich before selling11 public sources cross-checked
First phase contracted3 GW announced vs 168 MW leasedEnriched recordHyperscale AI cluster
3,000MW
Announced cluster
168MW
Meta lease
5.6%
Contracted share
$20–30bn
Estimated capex
~1GW
Renewables secured
2028
Meta phase delivery

Reliance Industries is building a 3 GW AI data-centre cluster at Jamnagar, Gujarat, estimated at US$20–30 billion — the largest single data-centre announcement ever made in India. The first committed slice is real and specific: 168 MW leased to Meta, to be delivered within two years, powered by renewable energy and cooled with desalinated seawater. That gap between 3,000 MW announced and 168 MW contracted is the most important thing to understand about this project.

1At a glance

Record ID
PRJ-003 — Gridvik India Data Centre Registry
Project name
Reliance Jamnagar 3 GW AI Data Centre Cluster
Operator
Reliance Industries Limited
Location
Jamnagar, Gujarat — within Reliance's existing industrial campus
State
Gujarat
Record type
Campus aggregate — umbrella record. Facility rows sit beneath it and are non-additive
Status
Announced cluster with a contracted first phase. The 168 MW Meta phase is committed to be delivered within two years; the balance of the 3 GW is not yet evidenced
Capacity
3,000 MW announced for the cluster. 168 MW contracted to Meta. Capacity basis for the 3 GW figure is not specified
Target
168 MW within two years of 10 June 2026, so approximately mid-2028. Full cluster timeline not published
Investment
US$20–30 bn estimated by Bloomberg for the cluster. The Meta phase itself is a lease; Reliance has not disclosed its capital cost
Power
Renewable energy. Meta has secured more than 900 MW of clean energy capacity, including 837 MW of new solar and wind from CleanMax in Rajasthan and Karnataka
Cooling
Desalinated seawater
Gridvik tier
B — enrich before selling. The Meta phase is well evidenced. The remaining 2,832 MW is an announcement without disclosed phasing

2Capacity reconciliation

India's largest data-centre announcement is also the most misunderstood. Three thousand megawatts is a cluster ambition; one hundred and sixty-eight megawatts is a signed lease. Both are true, and conflating them will mislead any pipeline you build from this record.

3,000 MWcluster announcementannounced168 MWMeta lease, first phasecontractedOf the 3 GW announced for Jamnagar, 168 MW has an identified tenant with a signed lease. That is 5.6% of the headline figure.
Figure 1Announced cluster against contracted capacity. The 168 MW Meta lease is the only portion with an identified tenant, a delivery commitment and a signed agreement. The remaining 2,832 MW has no disclosed tenant, phasing or delivery schedule.
Announced01Tenant signed02Under construction03Phase 1 live043 GW built out05Navy = verified · Red = current stage · Grey = not yet evidenced
Figure 2Delivery stage. The cluster is announced and its first tenant is contracted; construction status for the 168 MW phase has not been separately confirmed in public reporting.
What each figure actually measures
FigureWhat it measuresStatus
3,000 MWAnnounced cluster capacity for Jamnagar. Basis — IT load, facility power or grid draw — not statedAnnounced
168 MWContracted capacity leased to Meta, to be delivered within two years, with a written option to scaleContracted
5.6%The contracted share of the announced cluster. Gridvik calculation, not an operator figureDerived
~4 GWCombined Reliance AI data-centre ambition across Jamnagar and Visakhapatnam. A programme total, not a site figureNever add
PRJ-004The Meta built-to-suit deployment is recorded as a child of this cluster. It is not additive — the 168 MW is inside the 3 GW, not on top of itNever add
Gridvik read — the number that sells

Quote 168 MW as contracted and 3,000 MW as announced, and say which is which. A vendor forecasting from 3 GW is forecasting from a press release. A vendor forecasting from 168 MW is forecasting from a lease.

3Site and build

Location
Within Reliance's existing Jamnagar industrial campus in Gujarat — an unusual advantage, since land, utilities, port access and power infrastructure already exist on site
Campus
Described as a hyperscale campus. The Meta facility is the first built-to-suit capacity in India for Meta
Land
Plot area for the data-centre cluster not separately disclosed. The site sits inside an operating industrial complex rather than on greenfield land
Phase 1
168 MW built-to-suit for Meta, delivered within two years of the June 2026 announcement
Design detail
Rack count, kW per rack, PUE target, redundancy tier, floor loading and data-hall count are not published
Relationship to Vizag
Reporting describes the Jamnagar and Visakhapatnam clusters as a paired or twin arrangement. They are separate sites and separate records

4The Meta lease — what is actually agreed

Structure of the deal

Reliance builds and operates; Meta leases. Meta does not own the infrastructure. Reliance provides end-to-end services across the facility lifecycle — design, construction, utility management, renewable power supply, network connectivity and fully managed operations.

Meta pays the full cost of the energy and water supporting the facility. That is an unusual and commercially significant term: it moves the two largest operating risks of an Indian data centre off the operator's books and onto the tenant.

There is a written option to scale beyond 168 MW. That option, not the announcement, is the realistic basis for forecasting the rest of the cluster.

Tenant
Meta Platforms
Structure
Built-to-suit lease. Meta leases, Reliance designs, builds and operates
Capacity
168 MW, with an option to scale
Delivery
Within two years of 10 June 2026
Energy and water
Meta bears the full cost of both
Renewables
Meta has secured more than 900 MW of clean energy, including 837 MW of new solar and wind from CleanMax across Rajasthan and Karnataka, plus a partnership with Fourth Partner Energy
Related enterprise JV
Reliance and Meta have a separate enterprise AI joint venture with an initial commitment of ₹855 crore, 70% Reliance and 30% Meta. This is a commercial venture, not data-centre capacity, and must not be added to the campus figures
Meta's India stack
Compute at Jamnagar, subsea connectivity through Project Waterworth, and the Llama enterprise JV with Reliance

5Engineering

Two engineering decisions are published and both are unusual in an Indian context.

Cooling
Desalinated seawater. A coastal-industrial approach that avoids competing for freshwater in a water-stressed state, and one that only works because the site sits inside an existing coastal industrial complex with desalination and cooling-water infrastructure already in place
Power
Renewable energy, with the tenant bearing the full energy cost. More than 900 MW of clean energy secured by Meta, including 837 MW of new solar and wind
Redundancy
Not published. No tier classification, no N+1 or N+N statement
Backup generation
Not published for this site. Gujarat state policy and CPCB requirements would apply
Density
Not published. An AI-enabled Meta facility implies high-density racks, but no kW-per-rack figure has been disclosed
What is missing
PUE target, rack density, floor loading, data-hall count, substation specification, water treatment design and all equipment vendors

6Timeline

  • Bloomberg reports Reliance plans a data centre that would dwarf Microsoft's 600 MW Virginia site, at an estimated US$20–30 billion.
  • Reliance and Meta announce the agreement. Reliance to develop 168 MW at Jamnagar, to be delivered within two years, with an option to scale. First built-to-suit data-centre capacity in India for Meta.
  • Meta separately announces more than 900 MW of clean energy capacity with CleanMax and Fourth Partner Energy.
  • 168 MW delivery target, two years from announcement.
  • Phasing, tenants and delivery dates for the remaining 2,832 MW of the announced cluster.

7Procurement

Read this before the table

Two different procurement realities sit inside this one record. The 168 MW Meta phase is contracted with a two-year clock, so packages are live now. The remaining 2,832 MW is an announcement with no disclosed schedule, so no credible window can be derived for it.

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
Order window
168 MW phase: active now through 2027. Two-year delivery from June 2026 means equipment awards land through 2027. Remaining 2,832 MW: unknown. No phasing, tenant or schedule published — treat as a watch item, not a pipeline item.
Procurement heat
High for the 168 MW phase. Low-to-none for the balance. This is the clearest example in the registry of why announced capacity must never be treated as pipeline.
Who buys
Reliance Industries as the developer and operator. Unlike a colocation campus, there is no separate EPC platform in between — Reliance is procuring directly, and it is a sophisticated buyer with existing vendor relationships across its industrial businesses.
DG / gensets (indicative)
For the confirmed 168 MW phase at N+1, roughly 130–160 gensets of 2,000–2,250 kVA class. The 3 GW figure would imply thousands, which illustrates how unusable the announcement is for planning.
UPS (indicative)
Not derivable for the cluster. For 168 MW, expect large centralised UPS rooms with redundancy, sizes unpublished.
Cooling (indicative)
The distinctive scope here is water-side, not air-side. Desalinated seawater cooling implies intake, filtration, heat exchangers, corrosion-resistant materials and discharge management — a package most Indian DC cooling vendors do not bid for. That narrows competition.
Categories in scope
DG and gensets · UPS · HV/MV switchgear · substations · PDUs and busway · seawater cooling systems, heat exchangers and water treatment · chillers · CDUs and liquid cooling · racking and containment · structured cabling · fire detection and suppression · BMS/DCIM · renewables and storage integration · port and heavy logistics
Decision role
Public decision roles — in GridFeed
Stage-change history
Dated change log — in GridFeed
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

8Assumptions and method

What is sourced
Announced cluster capacity, the Meta lease and its terms, delivery window, energy and water arrangements, renewables, investment estimates
What is derived
The 5.6% contracted share, and everything in the procurement section
Additivity rule
This is a campus aggregate and is non-additive. PRJ-004, the Meta built-to-suit deployment, is recorded beneath it as a child record and must not be added. The ~4 GW Reliance programme total combining Jamnagar and Visakhapatnam is a programme figure and must not be added either
Capacity basis
No source states whether 3,000 MW is IT load, facility power or grid connection. The 168 MW figure is also unlabelled, though a leased capacity figure in a built-to-suit is usually contract capacity rather than IT load
Estimate provenance
The US$20–30 bn range originates with Bloomberg reporting, not with Reliance. It is retained with that attribution

9Energy and water

Jamnagar's advantages are physical, and they explain why the project can be attempted at this scale.

Why desalinated seawater
The site sits inside Reliance's existing coastal industrial complex, which already operates desalination, cooling-water intake and discharge infrastructure at industrial scale. Cooling a gigawatt-scale campus with seawater is impractical almost anywhere else in India
Tenant bears utility cost
Meta pays the full cost of the energy and water supporting the facility. This removes the two largest operating risks — tariff escalation and water scarcity — from the operator
Renewables
More than 900 MW of clean energy secured by Meta, including 837 MW of new solar and wind from CleanMax in Rajasthan and Karnataka
What is not public
Grid interconnection point, voltage level, open-access terms, the split between captive generation and grid draw, desalination capacity, and the water-source and discharge consents

10Limits, conflicts and open questions

The central gap
2,832 MW of the announced 3 GW has no tenant, no phasing and no delivery date. Treat it as an ambition
Capacity basis
Unstated for both the 3 GW and, less critically, the 168 MW figure
Construction status
No groundbreaking, construction start or site progress reported for the 168 MW phase. 'Delivered within two years' is a commitment, not evidence of work in progress
Design
No rack count, density, PUE, redundancy tier, data-hall count or substation specification
EPC and MEP
No contractors named. Reliance is operating as an integrated developer here
Land and approvals
Plot area, environmental clearance and water consents for the data-centre cluster are not separately published. Gujarat state data-centre policy incentives are not confirmed for this project
Relationship to PRJ-004
The Meta deployment is recorded separately as a child. Adding the two together would double-count 168 MW
What we will not claim
No construction progress, no equipment brands, no tenant names beyond Meta, and no view on whether the remainder of the 3 GW will be built

11Sources

This record was compiled entirely from publicly available sources, cross-checked against one another.

Reliance Industries press release, 10 June 2026 (PDF)·Meta Newsroom, June 2026·Economic Times·Times of India·Moneycontrol·Financial Express·Forbes·ThePrint·India Today·Business Standard·TechCrunch / Bloomberg (January 2025)

Gridvik does not publish source URLs on record pages; citations are retained in the internal source register and are available on request.

What this page is, and what it is not

This is a public-source record of a real project with an announced ambition far larger than its contracted capacity. The distinction between the two is stated throughout.

No tender insider information, no private contact data, no operator-paid placement. Corrections are free and are published with a date.