Get Free Teaser
Project record · Enriched · Verified 22 Oct 2026

Reliance–Meta Jamnagar Built-to-SuitJamnagar, Gujarat · Reliance Industries for Meta Platforms

Record PRJ-004Jamnagar, GujaratTier B — enrich before selling10 public sources cross-checked
Contracted · delivery ~2028Child of PRJ-003 — not additiveEnriched recordHyperscale tenant lease
168MW
Leased capacity
2yrs
Delivery window
$0
Capex to Meta
~900MW
Renewables secured
100%
Renewable powered
1st
Meta built-to-suit in India

This is the most concrete slice of India's largest data-centre announcement. Reliance is building 168 MW of built-to-suit AI capacity at Jamnagar for Meta, with delivery committed within two years of the 10 June 2026 announcement. Meta does not own the infrastructure — it leases, and it bears the full cost of the energy and water the facility consumes. This record is a tenant deployment inside the 3,000 MW Jamnagar cluster, not capacity additional to it.

1At a glance

Record ID
PRJ-004 — Gridvik India Data Centre Registry
Project name
Reliance–Meta Jamnagar AI Data Centre, built-to-suit
Developer and operator
Reliance Industries Limited
Tenant
Meta Platforms, Inc.
Location
Jamnagar, Gujarat — within Reliance's existing industrial campus
Record type
Tenant deployment — the leased capacity within a larger campus
Status
Announced and contracted. 10 June 2026. Delivery committed within two years, so approximately mid-2028. No separate construction start reported for this phase
Capacity
168 MW built-to-suit capacity leased to Meta, with a written option to scale. Basis — IT load versus facility power — not stated
Investment (Meta)
None. Meta leases; it does not fund construction
Utility cost
Meta covers the full cost of the energy and water supporting the facility
Power
Renewable. Meta has secured more than 900 MW of clean energy capacity, including 837 MW of new solar and wind from CleanMax in Rajasthan and Karnataka, plus a partnership with Fourth Partner Energy
Cooling
Desalinated seawater
Gridvik tier
B — enrich before selling. The commercial terms are unusually well disclosed for an Indian DC lease; the engineering detail is not

2Relationship to PRJ-003 — the most important number on this page

Meta's 168 MW is frequently reported as though it were a new project. It is not. It is the first leased slice of the Jamnagar cluster already recorded as PRJ-003.

3,000 MWcluster announcement (PRJ-003)announced168 MWcontracted to Meta (this record)leasedThis record is the leased portion, not additional capacity. It sits inside the 3,000 MW announced cluster — never add the two.
Figure 1The relationship between this record and PRJ-003. The 168 MW leased to Meta sits inside the 3,000 MW announced cluster. Adding the two together would double-count 168 MW and would inflate the Jamnagar total to 3,168 MW, which matches no source.
Gridvik read — never sum these two

PRJ-003 = 3,000 MW announced cluster. PRJ-004 = 168 MW of that cluster, leased to Meta. This record is the child. The parent already contains it.

The correct way to describe Jamnagar is: 3,000 MW announced, of which 168 MW is contracted to a named tenant. That single sentence is more accurate than anything published about the project.

3What is actually agreed

Structure of the lease

Reliance builds and operates. Meta leases. Reliance provides end-to-end services across the facility lifecycle — design, construction, utility management, renewable power supply, network connectivity and fully managed operations. Meta owns none of it.

Meta bears the full cost of energy and water. This is the commercially defining term. In Indian data centres, tariff escalation and water availability are the two operating risks that most often break a business case. Here they are the tenant's.

There is a written option to scale beyond 168 MW. That option — not the 3 GW headline — is the realistic basis for forecasting any further capacity at this site.

Capacity
168 MW, with an option to scale further
Delivery
Within two years of 10 June 2026
Capex
Reliance-funded. No disclosed capital cost for this phase
Energy cost
Meta, in full
Water cost
Meta, in full
Operating model
Fully managed by Reliance, including utilities and network connectivity
Announcement route
Reliance regulatory filing and press release, 10 June 2026, alongside Meta's own newsroom announcement

4Tenant profile — Meta's India stack

Meta is not buying colocation here. It is assembling the three layers of an India AI presence, and this lease is the compute layer.

Compute
Jamnagar — the 168 MW built-to-suit recorded here, Meta's first AI-enabled data centre in India
Connectivity
Project Waterworth — a planned subsea cable of roughly 50,000 km connecting the United States, India, Brazil and South Africa, with 24 fibre pairs
Enterprise AI
A separate Reliance–Meta joint venture with an initial commitment of ₹855 crore, split 70% Reliance and 30% Meta, to sell Llama-powered AI products to Indian enterprises
Renewables
More than 900 MW of clean energy secured, including 837 MW of new solar and wind from CleanMax across Rajasthan and Karnataka, with Fourth Partner Energy also involved
Why the stack matters
When a hyperscaler owns compute, cable and a distribution JV in the same market, the data-centre lease is the part it is least likely to walk away from. That makes the 168 MW unusually durable compared with speculative capacity

5Engineering

Only two engineering facts are published, and one of them is genuinely unusual.

Cooling
Desalinated seawater. Practical only because the site sits inside Reliance's existing coastal industrial complex, which already runs desalination and cooling-water intake at industrial scale. It avoids competing for freshwater in a water-stressed state
Power
100% renewable energy supply arranged by the operator, with the tenant bearing the cost
Density
Not published. An AI-enabled hyperscale facility implies high-density racks, but no kW-per-rack figure has been disclosed
Redundancy
Not published. No tier, N+1 or N+N statement for this phase
Data halls and racks
Not published
PUE target
Not published
Equipment vendors
Not published for any category
What this means commercially
At 168 MW the equipment scope is large and specific, but the specification is undisclosed. A vendor cannot size a bid from public information — which is exactly the gap a paid Deep Dive would need to close with primary research

6Timeline

  • Bloomberg reports Reliance plans a data centre dwarfing Microsoft's 600 MW Virginia site, at an estimated US$20–30 billion — the cluster of which this lease is the first slice.
  • Reliance and Meta announce the agreement: 168 MW at Jamnagar, delivered within two years, with an option to scale. First built-to-suit data-centre capacity in India for Meta.
  • Meta announces more than 900 MW of clean energy capacity with CleanMax and Fourth Partner Energy, plus the separate Reliance enterprise AI joint venture.
  • 168 MW delivery target — two years from announcement.
  • Whether Meta exercises its expansion option, and at what scale.

7Procurement

Read this before the table

The procurement for this phase is being run by Reliance as developer and operator, not by Meta. Everything below is derived from the 168 MW figure and the two disclosed engineering choices. Nothing is sourced from a tender.

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
Order window
Active now through 2027. Delivery is committed for approximately mid-2028. At this scale, electrical and mechanical awards typically land 12–24 months before handover, which places the bulk of packages in 2026–2027.
Procurement heat
High, and unusually credible —because a named hyperscale tenant has signed for the capacity and is paying the utility bills. This is the strongest procurement signal in the Jamnagar cluster.
Who buys
Reliance Industries, procuring directly as an integrated developer. There is no separate EPC platform in between, and Reliance is an experienced buyer across its industrial businesses with established vendor relationships.
DG / gensets (indicative)
168 MW at N+1 redundancy implies roughly 130–160 gensets of 2,000–2,250 kVA class. Basis is unstated, so treat as an order of magnitude. CPCB IV+ emission compliance applies in Gujarat.
UPS (indicative)
Large centralised UPS rooms feeding multiple data halls at hyperscale density. Sizes unpublished.
Cooling (indicative)
The distinctive scope is water-side. Seawater or desalinated-water cooling implies intake, filtration, titanium or corrosion-resistant heat exchangers, and discharge consent management — a package most Indian DC cooling vendors cannot bid for. High-density compute halls would also require CDUs and direct-to-chip distribution.
Categories in scope
DG and gensets to CPCB IV+ · UPS · HV/MV switchgear · substations · PDUs and busway · seawater and desalinated-water cooling systems · heat exchangers · chillers · CDUs and liquid cooling · water treatment and discharge management · racking and containment · structured cabling · fire detection and suppression · BMS/DCIM · renewables and storage integration · heavy logistics and port-side handling
Decision role
Public decision roles — in GridFeed
Stage-change history
Dated change log — in GridFeed
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

8Assumptions and method

What is sourced
Capacity, tenant, delivery window, ownership model, utility-cost allocation, cooling method, renewables, expansion option
What is derived
Only the procurement section
Additivity rule
Non-additive. This record is a child of PRJ-003. The 168 MW is inside the 3,000 MW cluster and must never be summed with it
Capacity basis
168 MW is unlabelled. In a built-to-suit lease it is most likely contract capacity rather than IT load, but no source states this
Relationship to the enterprise JV
The ₹855 crore Reliance–Meta enterprise AI joint venture is a commercial venture, not data-centre capacity, and is not recorded as capacity here
Conflict rule
Where Reliance, Meta and press accounts describe the deal slightly differently, the operator and tenant announcements are treated as primary

9Limits, conflicts and open questions

Construction status
No groundbreaking, site progress or construction start reported for this specific 168 MW phase
Capacity basis
Unstated — IT load, contract capacity or facility power
Design
No rack count, density, PUE, redundancy tier, tier classification or data-hall count
Contractors
No EPC or MEP contractor named
Site specifics
Exact plot, substation and interconnection details, and water consents are not public
Expansion
The scale option exists in writing but no size or date is disclosed
Tenant detail
Meta has not stated which workloads will run at Jamnagar, only that it supports its global AI compute and core services
What we will not claim
No construction progress, no equipment brands, no view on whether the mid-2028 date holds, and no claim that this capacity is offered to third parties

10Sources

This record was compiled entirely from publicly available sources, cross-checked against one another.

Reliance Industries press release (10 June 2026, PDF)·Meta Newsroom (June 2026)·Economic Times·Moneycontrol·Times of India·Forbes·ThePrint·India Today·Financial Express·TechTimes

Gridvik does not publish source URLs on record pages; citations are retained in the internal source register and are available on request.

What this page is, and what it is not

This is a public-source record of a contracted tenant deployment. Every commercial term stated is drawn from the operator's and tenant's own announcements.

No tender insider information, no private contact data, no operator-paid placement. Corrections are free and published with a date.