Get Free Teaser
Project record · Enriched · Verified 22 Oct 2026

Nxtra Chennai-II Data Center Park SIPCOT IT Park, Siruseri · Nxtra by Airtel

Record PRJ-011 Chengalpattu district, Tamil Nadu Tier A — procurement-ready 15 public sources cross-checked
Operational · expanding Tower 2 RFS Dec 2026 Capacity conflict — 4 figures Enriched record Hyperscale colocation
40MW IT
Park total
16MW
Tower 1 · live
24MW
Tower 2 · RFS Dec 26
8,000
Rack capacity
<1.5
Design PUE
270ksq ft
Built-up area

Nxtra by Airtel's Chennai-II park at SIPCOT IT Park, Siruseri, is a two-tower hyperscale campus carrying 40 MW of IT power roughly 50 km south of Chennai city centre, fully integrated with Airtel's submarine cable network. Tower 1 (16 MW) has been operational since November 2021. Tower 2 (24 MW) is scheduled ready-for-service in December 2026 — which makes this one of the most time-sensitive procurement records in the Gridvik registry.

1At a glance

Record ID
PRJ-011 — Gridvik India Data Centre Registry
Project name
Nxtra Chennai Hyperscale Data Centre (3rd Chennai facility), operated as Chennai-II Data Center Park / CHN 2
Operator
Nxtra by Airtel — Nxtra Data Limited, a Bharti Airtel subsidiary
Location
SIPCOT IT Park, Siruseri, Chengalpattu district, Tamil Nadu — c. 50 km from Chennai city centre
Record type
Facility — has a non-additive city-portfolio parent record (PRJ-064)
Status
Operational, expanding — Tower 1 live, Tower 2 in fit-out
Capacity
40 MW IT total (Tower 1 16 MW + Tower 2 24 MW). 38 MW was reported at the 2021 launch — see §2
Commissioning
Tower 1 inaugurated 23 November 2021 · Tower 2 ready-for-service December 2026
Built-up area
270,000 sq ft ≈ 25,000 sq m
Rack capacity
8,000 racks at park level · 3,000 racks across 12 data halls within Chennai-II
Investment
Part of Airtel's ₹5,000 crore national data-centre programme announced October 2021
Certification
IGBC certified per 2024 brochure · described as LEED certified in 2021 press coverage — see §10
Gridvik tier
A — procurement-ready. Operator brochure, analyst note and trade press cross-checked

2Capacity reconciliation

Five credible figures circulate for this park. None is wrong — each measures a different perimeter. Averaging them produces a number that matches no source, so this record keeps them side by side.

01530 4560MW 38 MW40 MW IT 24 MW IT46 MW IT 49 MW launch press park, tower split Chennai-II tower Chennai city total sum of city cards marketing figure OPERATIVE this tower only not this facility 3 MW unexplained
Figure 1Published capacity figures for the Nxtra Chennai campus, by perimeter. Only the 40 MW IT figure describes the park as built across two towers; 24 MW describes the Chennai-II tower alone; the 46 and 49 MW figures are Chennai city totals that contain this facility and must never be added to it.
Source-by-source comparison
FigureWhat it actually measuresDateUse it for
38 MWlaunch headlinePark capacity as marketed at launch — the most widely quoted number in press coverageNov 2021Historical
40 MW IT16 + 24Total IT power across two towers — the most granular published split2024Operative
24 MW ITtower levelChennai-II tower alone, across 12 data halls and 3,000 racks2021–24Tower scope
46 MW ITcity headlineWhole Chennai city portfolio across CHE 1, CHE 2, CHE 3 and Siruseri DC3 — contains this facility2026Never add
49 MWcard sumSum of the four visible city facility cards (2 + 4 + 16 + 27). The operator does not explain the 3 MW gap2026Never add
Gridvik read — do not average

38 MW is a 2021-vintage marketing figure. 40 MW IT is the current tower-split engineering figure and should be treated as operative. 24 MW is the Chennai-II tower alone, not the park. 46 MW is a city total that contains this facility and must never be added to it.

For any comparison or aggregate, use 40 MW IT for the park or 24 MW IT for the Chennai-II tower, and label the basis every time.

A related trap: Gridvik holds the 46 MW Chennai city headline as a separate, non-additive parent record (PRJ-064). Summing PRJ-011 and PRJ-064 would double-count this building. The registry flags parents and children specifically so portfolio totals cannot inflate silently.

3Site and build

TOWER 1 G+4 · 16 MW IT 16 MW IT OPERATIONAL · 2021 TOWER 2 24 MW IT G+6 RFS DECEMBER 2026 40 MW IT park total 270,000 sq ft built-up 8,000 racks, park
Figure 2Tower configuration. Tower 1 has been operational since November 2021 and carries 16 MW of IT load. Tower 2 adds 24 MW and is scheduled ready-for-service in December 2026, taking the park to 40 MW IT.
Address
SIPCOT IT Park, Siruseri, Chengalpattu district, Tamil Nadu 603103
Listed street address: 3rd Cross Street, First Main Road, A32 & A33, Siruseri
Distance from Chennai CBD
c. 50 km south
Campus
Two-tower data centre park
Tower configuration
Tower 1 — G+4, live, 16 MW ITTower 2 — G+6, 24 MW IT, ready-for-service December 2026
Built-up area
270,000 sq ft ≈ 25,000 sq m
Rack capacity
8,000 racks at park level · 3,000 racks across 12 data halls in Chennai-II
Rack profile
55U rack height · custom-built suites and floors
Floor loading
1,500 kg/sqm
Floor type
Raised floor
Cabling
Under-floor in Chennai-II · overhead reported for the Chennai-III card
Tenant model
Colocation — custom-built suites and floors, designed for hyperscale and GPU-centric workloads

4Engineering and specifications

This is the layer that determines equipment quantities rather than market size, and it is rarely recorded in Indian data-centre reporting.

Power

Total IT power
40 MW — Tower 1 16 MW, Tower 2 24 MW
Power distribution redundancy
N+N for Tower 2 · N+1 reported on directory listings
UPS autonomy
15 minutes battery back-up
Fuel autonomy
48 hours fuel back-up storage
Power phase
Phase 3 supply
Power delivery model
All-in cabinet + power
Renewables
Renewable-energy powered · Airtel targets 50% of data-centre power from renewables
Grid interface
Not itemised for this site. Nxtra energised its first 220 kV GIS substation at its Pune campus in December 2021 — the same pattern applies to campus-scale parks

Cooling and density

Cooling architecture
Air-based with hot-aisle containment · described as liquid-cooling ready
Air-cooled density
~25 kW per rack
Liquid-cooled density
~130 kW per rack
Design PUE
< 1.5 annualised · 1.50 stated on directory listings
Workload design
High-density power designs to accommodate GPU-centric workloads
Environmental standard
ASHRAE

Resilience and connectivity

Design rating
DC Design Rated 3 — concurrently maintainable
Availability SLA
99.99%
Certification
IGBC certified (2024 brochure) · LEED certified stated at 2021 launch — see §10
Meet-me-room
MMR-2, carrier-neutral
Submarine cable
Fully integrated with Airtel's global submarine cable network — the defining commercial feature of this site
Operator network scale
400,000+ route-km of national long-distance and submarine network

5Operator profile — Nxtra by Airtel

The owner's capital plan matters more than the building, because it determines whether a site receives follow-on phases.

Legal entity
Nxtra Data Limited, the data-centre subsidiary of Bharti Airtel
Current scale
~300 MW operating · 15 hyperscale data centres plus 120+ edge sites
Target
1 GW capacity and ~25% Indian market share over the next few years
Near-term programme
Doubling to ~400 MW by 2027, delivered within existing campuses using established power infrastructure and land
March 2026 funding
US$1 billion investment led by Alpha Wave Global, with Carlyle and Anchorage Capital, and Bharti Airtel participating · ~US$3.1 billion post-closing valuation
Renewables
390+ MW of renewable-energy capacity contracted
Why it matters here
Chennai-II is an anchor campus in a funded, publicly stated expansion programme, so follow-on phases at Siruseri should be treated as probable rather than speculative. For context, India's installed data-centre capacity is expected to pass 2 GW in 2026 from just over 1 GW in 2025, reaching 8 GW by 2030 on roughly US$30 billion of capex.

6Timeline

  • Airtel announces ₹5,000 crore to triple data-centre capacity to over 400 MW by 2025.
  • Chennai-II inaugurated virtually by Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. K. Stalin. 38 MW, 270,000 sq ft, LEED certified, third large Chennai facility, integrated with Airtel's subsea network.
  • Nxtra energises its first 220 kV GIS substation at its Pune campus and breaks ground on a 90 MW Mumbai campus — the pattern for campus-scale power build.
  • Chennai DC Park brochure published: 40 MW IT across two towers, Tower 2 RFS December 2026, 8,000 racks, PUE below 1.5, liquid-ready at 130 kW per rack.
  • Nxtra CEO confirms 400 MW by 2027, grown inside existing campuses; the site is described as 38 MW and 3,000 racks at SIPCOT IT Park.
  • US$1 billion raised into Nxtra; ~300 MW operating; 1 GW target.
  • Tower 2 (24 MW IT, G+6) ready-for-service — the next material event on this record.

7Procurement intelligence

Read this before the table

Everything in this section is a Gridvik estimate derived from published figures — stated MW, PUE 1.5 and N+1 redundancy logic. It is not tender intelligence and not insider information. Reconfirm with the EPC or operator before any commercial commitment; final sizing is per the electrical SLD.

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
Order window
Primary packages for Tower 2: awarded or closing now. Tower 2 goes live in December 2026, and MEP and equipment awards typically precede ready-for-service by 6–12 months. The live opportunity here is fit-out, liquid-cooling retrofit and the next phases of the 400 MW-by-2027 programme.
Procurement heat
High — but time-critical. A verification-and-expansion play rather than a fresh tender: treat it as "who already won and what is still open", not "who can I pitch cold".
DG / gensets (indicative)
40 MW IT at PUE <1.5 implies roughly 30–36 × 2,000–2,250 kVA class gensets for the park on an N+1 basis. Tower 2 alone (24 MW IT) implies roughly 20–24 units. 48-hour fuel autonomy at this scale also implies bulk fuel storage and fuel-management scope.
UPS (indicative)
Centralised UPS plant sized above IT load with 15-minute battery autonomy. Module-level quantities are not public; expected scope is large-frame UPS plus battery monitoring.
Cooling (indicative)
The sharpest live opening is liquid. A published 130 kW/rack liquid-cooled design means CDUs and direct-to-chip infrastructure as AI density lands, on top of existing air-cooled halls at ~25 kW/rack. Air-side thermal rejection at campus scale is roughly 60–70 MW.
Categories in scope
DG and gensets · UPS · LV and MV switchgear · PDUs and busway · chillers, CRAH and CDUs · racking and containment · structured cabling and fibre · fire detection and suppression · BMS / DCIM · fuel storage and management
Decision role
Public decision roles — in GridFeed
Stage-change history
Dated change log — in GridFeed
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

The 24 MW Tower 2 figure and the December 2026 ready-for-service date are the two facts that make this record commercially actionable, and neither appears on the operator's current website. Both are stated in the operator's 2024 park brochure. Checking the brochure against the live site is the kind of reconciliation this registry exists to do.

8Assumptions and method

What is sourced
Every physical, engineering, financial and date fact in sections 1–6 and 9
What is derived
Only section 7 — order window, procurement heat, DG/UPS/cooling sizing and category scope
PUE assumption
1.5 — the site's own published design PUE, not an industry default
Redundancy assumption
N+1 for gensets and cooling · N+N where published for Tower 2 power distribution
Genset unit assumption
2,000–2,250 kVA frames at 0.8 power factor ≈ 1.7 MW usable per unit · block count rounded to a practical configuration and expressed as a range
Facility load derivation
Facility power = stated IT load × PUE. Where a source gives gross power instead of IT load, IT load is derived by dividing by PUE and labelled as derived
Additivity rule
This facility is additive within the Gridvik national total. The Chennai city portfolio record (PRJ-064, 46 MW) is non-additive and never summed with this row
Conflict rule
Conflicting public figures are published side by side with the perimeter each measures. Gridvik does not average, and does not pick a winning source where the scope genuinely differs
Correction rule
Corrections are free for anyone, logged with a date, and independent of whether the submitter buys anything

9Nearby ecosystem

Siruseri has become a genuine data-centre cluster inside SIPCOT IT Park, which matters for power, fibre and competitive positioning.

SIPCOT IT Park and Chennai south cluster
FacilityOperatorStatusNote
Chennai-II park (this record)Nxtra by AirtelLive + fit-out40 MW IT across two towers
Chennai-I, SiruseriNxtra by AirtelLive3.5 MW listed power, PUE 1.5, N+1
STT Chennai 7, SiruseriSTT GDC IndiaBuildingThird Chennai campus from January 2024, two data centres; first expected operational from September 2025. Roughly 0.8 km away
Techno Digital ChennaiTechno DigitalBuildingInaugural facility inside SIPCOT IT Park
Cluster implication

Three operators building inside one IT park concentrates grid capacity, carrier access and skilled labour — and means a vendor working this cluster can cover multiple projects per site visit.

10Limits, conflicts and open questions

What this record does not know matters as much as what it does. These are the questions we would put to the operator.

Certification conflict
LEED stated in 2021 press coverage · IGBC stated in the 2024 operator brochure. Possibly both apply to different towers — unconfirmed
Rack count scope
8,000 racks at park level versus 3,000 racks across 12 data halls in Chennai-II. Both retained; perimeters differ
Tower 2 status
The current operator website card states no commissioning date. The December 2026 ready-for-service date exists only in the 2024 brochure and should be reconfirmed
EPC / MEP contractor
Not publicly disclosed in any source reviewed — the highest-value missing field on this record
Anchor tenants
Not publicly disclosed. The subsea integration strongly suggests hyperscale and cloud anchor demand, but no named commitment was located
Grid connection detail
Substation rating, voltage level and open-access status for Siruseri are not published. The 220 kV GIS precedent is at Nxtra's Pune campus, not here
Land parcel
Plot area and tenure inside SIPCOT IT Park not disclosed. 270,000 sq ft is built-up area, not land
What we will not claim
No tender dates, no private contact data, no installed-brand information for DG, UPS or cooling, and no view on current utilisation. Where a vendor brand is not public, this record says so rather than guessing
Correct this record — free, whether or not you buy anything

If any figure here is wrong, send the record ID (PRJ-011), the field, and a public source. Corrections are published in the dated change log. Operators, EPCs, vendors and analysts all use the same route.

11Sources

This record was compiled entirely from publicly available sources, cross-checked against one another. They are named below for attribution and auditability.

Nxtra by Airtel — Chennai-II Data Center Park brochure (2024)· Airtel press release, 38 MW Chennai launch (23 November 2021)· Airtel press release, US$1 billion Nxtra investment (March 2026)· Nxtra by Airtel official website and location pages· dgtlinfra· Forbes India· DatacenterDynamics (DCD)· Times of India / PTI· ETTelecom· The New Indian Express· CNBC· w.media· datacenters.com· ocolo· Baxtel

Gridvik record PRJ-064 (Nxtra Chennai city portfolio) was used for city-level reconciliation only.

What this page is, and what it is not

This is a public-source record of a real project. Every physical, engineering, financial and date fact above is drawn from the sources named in section 11. The procurement section is clearly labelled as Gridvik's estimation and nothing else.

There is no tender insider information here, no private contact data, and no operator-paid placement. Any operator, EPC, vendor or reader can correct this record for free, and every correction is dated and published.