STT GDC Chennai Siruseri — STT Chennai 7SIPCOT IT Park, Siruseri · STT GDC India's second Chennai campus
Record PRJ-019Tamil Nadu — Chengalpattu districtTier A — procurement-ready12 public sources cross-checked
Phase 1 live45 MW campus designPublishes its redundancyCampus aggregate
45MW
Campus IT design
7.2MW
Phase 1 live
6ac
Plot area
N+2
Generator configuration
99.982%
Availability SLA
~130MW
Chennai potential
STT GDC India's fourth Chennai data centre, STT Chennai 7, opened at SIPCOT IT Park in Siruseri on 12 February 2026, e-inaugurated by Tamil Nadu's chief minister. The campus is designed for 45 MW of AI-ready IT load; 7.2 MW is operational. It is one of the few Indian facilities that publishes its engineering: N+2 diesel generators, dual utility feeds, N+1 air-cooled chillers and a 99.982% availability SLA. For a vendor, that disclosure is worth more than any capacity announcement.
1At a glance
Record ID
PRJ-019 — Gridvik India Data Centre Registry
Project
STT Chennai 7 — Siruseri campus, STT GDC India's fourth Chennai data centre
Operator
STT GDC India — ST Telemedia Global Data Centres (India), majority-owned by STT GDC with Tata Communications as a minority holder
Location
SIPCOT IT Park, Siruseri, Chengalpattu district, Tamil Nadu
State
Tamil Nadu
Record type
campus_aggregate — the campus design figure contains the operational phase
Status
Live and expanding. Phase 1 of 7.2 MW operational from 12 February 2026; the remaining 37.8 MW of campus design is not yet built
Capacity
45 MW IT load campus design, of which 7.2 MW is operational. The 7.2 MW is inside the 45 MW, not additional to it
Part of STT GDC India's ₹4,200 crore Tamil Nadu commitment — recorded separately as PRJ-020
Gridvik tier
A — procurement-ready. A live AI-ready campus with 37.8 MW still to build and unusually complete public engineering detail
2Capacity reconciliation — five numbers, one building
STT GDC's Chennai position generates five different capacity numbers. They nest. Only one of them is new capacity in service.
Figure 1STT GDC's Chennai capacity claims, from the city development potential down to the phase actually commissioned. The 130 MW and 68 MW are city-level figures that contain this campus; 45 MW is the campus design; 40 MW is a different campus; 7.2 MW is what opened in February 2026.
What each figure measures
Figure
Date
MW
Scope and source
~130 MW
Total Chennai development potential across STT GDC's campuses, including existing operational capacity — stated at the STT Chennai 4 groundbreaking
Yes — never add
68 MW
Chennai city headline carried in the registry as a mixed portfolio claim
Yes — never add
45 MW
Siruseri campus IT design — the operative capacity figure for this record
This record
40 MW
Ambattur campus, already operational — a different campus in the same city
Separate
7.2 MW
Phase 1 of Siruseri, commissioned 12 February 2026 — the only genuinely new capacity
Live now
Gridvik read — 7.2 MW is the only number that changed
The announcement reads like a 45 MW data centre went live. What actually happened is that 7.2 MW went live inside a campus designed for 45 MW, and the operator restated a Chennai development potential of about 130 MW.
For aggregating Indian capacity: count 7.2 MW as live and 37.8 MW as pipeline. Counting the 45 MW as operational would overstate Indian live capacity by 37.8 MW at a single facility.
The 68 MW city headline and the 130 MW development potential both contain this building. Any total that includes STT Chennai 7 plus either of those double-counts it.
3Engineering — what STT publishes, and why it matters
Most Indian operators publish a capacity number and a photograph. STT GDC India publishes the redundancy scheme, which is the detail that determines how much equipment a facility actually contains.
Generator configuration
N+2. Two more generator sets than the load requires. This is a materially higher specification than the N+1 that most Indian colocation publishes, and it changes the order quantity directly
Chillers
Air-cooled chillers with N+1 redundancy — consistent with the industry-wide shift away from water-intensive evaporative cooling
Utility supply
Dual utility sources, so the site can survive the loss of one grid feed without transferring to generation
Availability SLA
99.982% — a contractual figure, not a marketing claim, which is why it is more useful than a design-target availability statement
Power and cooling basis
Colocation with AI-ready high-density design. The campus is described throughout as AI-ready, which implies rack densities above conventional enterprise colocation but the operator has not published a density figure
What N+2 actually means commercially
If 7.2 MW of IT load needs roughly 7.2 MW of generator capacity for N, then N+1 means about 14.4 MW and N+2 about 21.6 MW of installed generation. At 2,000–2,250 kVA class units, that is a meaningful difference in unit count for phase 1 alone — and a much larger one across 45 MW
What is not published
Rack count, rack density, PUE, chiller plant capacity, UPS topology and autonomy, fuel autonomy, substation rating, data-hall count, and any tenant name
4The Chennai portfolio — where this fits
This facility
STT Chennai 7 — Siruseri, 45 MW campus design, 7.2 MW live
Ambattur campus
About 40 MW operational, and the site of the STT Chennai 4 groundbreaking in February 2026, which is what unlocked the roughly 130 MW Chennai development potential
The naming
STT numbers facilities rather than phases, which is why a "fourth Chennai data centre" is called Chennai 7 — worth knowing because facility names and record names rarely match in Indian data centres
City context
Chennai had about 214 MW of live colocation capacity in H1 2026 against a pipeline of roughly 368 MW, making it India's second-largest market and its fastest-growing by new supply
The Siruseri cluster
SIPCOT IT Park already hosts Nxtra's Chennai-II campus (PRJ-011) — the two operators are building large AI-ready capacity within the same technology park, which concentrates power, fibre and vendor activity in one place
Why the cluster matters
Two multi-hundred-megawatt buyers within a few kilometres, plus the cable landing advantage that made Chennai India's second data-centre market. For an equipment vendor, Siruseri is a single trip that covers two of the most active accounts in the state
5Timeline
STT GDC India signs a strategic memorandum with the Government of Tamil Nadu proposing ₹4,200 crore of AI-ready data-centre investment — recorded as PRJ-020.
STT GDC India marks the groundbreaking of STT Chennai 4 at its Ambattur campus, which the company says unlocks about 130 MW of total Chennai development potential including existing operational capacity.
STT Chennai 7 at Siruseri is e-inaugurated by Tamil Nadu chief minister M K Stalin. Phase 1 of 7.2 MW enters service.
Formal announcement: 45 MW AI-ready campus design with 7.2 MW operational, alongside the ₹4,200 crore Tamil Nadu commitment and strategic memoranda with Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh.
KKR and Singtel complete the acquisition of an 82% stake in STT GDC at an enterprise value of about S$13.8 billion, holding 75% and 25% respectively.
STT GDC India targets a potential initial public offering, reported at various times as US$500 m to US$1 bn, to fund further expansion.
The remaining 37.8 MW of campus design. No phase dates published
6Procurement
Read this before the table
Phase 1 is placed. 37.8 MW of campus design remains unbuilt on a site that is already permitted, powered and partially operating — which is the best kind of procurement opportunity there is. Everything below is a Gridvik estimate.
Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
Order window
2026 to 2030 for the balance of the campus. A live phase with 37.8 MW of campus design remaining means the next phases are engineering-led rather than permission-led. The constraint is tenant demand, not site readiness.
Procurement heat
Medium-high, and rising. STT GDC India is expanding in ten cities simultaneously and is heading toward an IPO, which creates both capital and a governance reason to standardise equipment across sites.
Who buys
STT GDC India, through a central engineering and procurement function. Post-acquisition the platform is owned 75% KKR and 25% Singtel, with Tata Communications holding a minority of the India business — expect PE-grade procurement discipline and documented lifecycle costing rather than relationship-based buying
DG / gensets (indicative)
At 45 MW of IT with an N+2 configuration, roughly 60–70 gensets of 2,000–2,250 kVA class are implied across the full campus. For the 7.2 MW phase alone, about 10–12 units. Compare with an N+1 site of the same size, which would need roughly a third fewer
UPS (indicative)
Not published. A 99.982% SLA with dual utility and N+2 generation implies high-specification UPS with meaningful autonomy — but the topology is not disclosed
Cooling (indicative)
Air-cooled chillers, N+1. Published explicitly, which is unusual and useful. No water-intensive evaporative plant is disclosed. For AI-ready high-density halls, expect additional liquid cooling or rear-door heat exchange to be added on top of the chilled-water base as the campus is fitted out
Categories in scope
DG and gensets · UPS · HV/MV switchgear · PDUs and busway · air-cooled chillers and CRAH · CDUs and liquid cooling for AI halls · racking and containment · structured cabling and fibre · fire and suppression · BMS/DCIM · fuel storage · security and access control
Decision role
Public decision roles — in GridFeed
Stage-change history
Dated change log — in GridFeed
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Campus design capacity, phase 1 capacity and date, inauguration, plot size, redundancy scheme, availability SLA, Chennai development potential, Ambattur operational capacity, the ₹4,200 crore commitment, ownership structure
What is derived
Only the procurement section, including the genset arithmetic from the N+2 configuration
Capacity figure used
45 MW campus IT design; 7.2 MW live. The 7.2 MW is stated to be inside the 45 MW, following the registry review note
Additivity rule
Non-additive as a campus aggregate. The campus contains the live phase. City-level figures of 68 MW and 130 MW contain the campus. The registry flags this accordingly
Relationship to PRJ-020
PRJ-020 is the Tamil Nadu memorandum that funds this and other Tamil Nadu investment. This record is a specific facility inside that programme and is not additive to it
Relationship to PRJ-021
PRJ-021 is the multi-state memorandum umbrella. This campus sits inside it
8Limits and open questions
Remaining phases
37.8 MW of campus design has no published schedule
Density
AI-ready is stated but no rack density or kW-per-rack figure is published
PUE
Not disclosed
Tenants
None named. No anchor tenant has been announced for the Siruseri campus
Land detail
About 6 acres is reported by trade press. Whether further land is held for expansion within SIPCOT is not stated
Water strategy
Air-cooled chillers are confirmed, but the full water design — including any make-up, treatment or reuse — is not published
IPO effect
A planned listing in H1 2027 could accelerate or defer the balance of the build. Not knowable from public sources
What we will not claim
No PUE, no rack count, no tenant, no phase schedule, and no equipment brands
9Sources
This record was compiled entirely from publicly available sources, cross-checked against one another.
STT GDC India newsroom·STT GDC India Chennai location page·DatacenterDynamics·The Hindu BusinessLine·ET Telecom·ANI·CRN Asia·VARIndia·Developing Telecoms·The Tech Capital·Analytics India Magazine·Baxtel·Cushman & Wakefield India H1 2026
Gridvik does not publish source URLs on record pages; citations are retained in the internal source register and are available on request.
What this page is, and what it is not
This is a public-source record of an operating data centre with a large unbuilt balance. Engineering detail is attributed to the operator's own location page and release.
The procurement section is labelled as estimation. No tender insider information, no private contact data, no operator-paid placement. Corrections are free and published with a date.