Get Free Teaser
Programme record · Verified 22 Oct 2026

STT GDC Tamil Nadu Memorandum of UnderstandingGovernment of Tamil Nadu · ₹4,200 crore proposed investment

Record PRJ-020Tamil Nadu — multi-siteTier C — memorandum, not capacity9 public sources cross-checked
MoU stageCarries no MW₹4,200 cr proposedProgramme record
₹4,200cr
Proposed investment
0MW
Attached to the MoU
Feb 2026
Signed
45MW
One campus delivering against it
7.2MW
Actually live
Not disclosed
Term or conditions

STT GDC India signed a memorandum of understanding with the Government of Tamil Nadu in February 2026, proposing ₹4,200 crore of investment in AI-ready data-centre infrastructure in the state. That is roughly US$475 million. The memorandum carries no megawatts, no site list, no schedule and no binding obligation — and it was announced in the same breath as a live 7.2 MW facility, which is why the two get conflated. This record keeps them apart.

1At a glance

Record ID
PRJ-020 — Gridvik India Data Centre Registry
Record
STT GDC India — Government of Tamil Nadu memorandum of understanding
Parties
STT GDC India and the Government of Tamil Nadu
Value
₹4,200 crore of proposed investment in AI-ready data-centre infrastructure in Tamil Nadu — about US$475 million at the ₹88.40 reference rate
Signed
February 2026, announced on 19 February 2026 alongside the Siruseri campus launch
Capacity
None specified. The memorandum carries no megawatt figure, no site list and no phase schedule
Known delivery
The Siruseri campus (PRJ-019) — 45 MW campus design, 7.2 MW live — is the only facility publicly identified as delivering against this commitment
Record type
MoU_programme — an intent record, never a capacity record
Gridvik tier
C — memorandum. Useful for tracking state-level intent; useless for estimating procurement

2What a memorandum is not

MoU signed01Land / power02Ground broken03Phase live04Navy = verified · Red = current stage · Grey = not yet evidenced
Figure 1Delivery stage. A memorandum is signed; nothing else about this programme has been evidenced. The one live phase in Tamil Nadu belongs to a facility record, not to the memorandum.
Not a contract
Memoranda of this kind are generally not legally binding. They express intent and unlock a relationship with the state — single-window clearance, land access, incentive eligibility — but they do not oblige the company to spend
Not a capacity commitment
There is no megawatt figure in the memorandum. Any capacity attributed to it has been borrowed from a separate facility announcement
Not a schedule
No dated milestones. The ₹4,200 crore is a proposal over an unspecified period
Not a site list
The state is not told which districts, cities or plots will receive the money
What it does buy
Practical advantages in a state that is actively competing for data-centre investment: a named relationship with the industries department, faster clearance, and political visibility — the chief minister personally inaugurated the facility that was announced alongside it
How to treat it
As a leading indicator of intent, never as capacity. Gridvik holds it with no MW and does not add it to any total

3Delivery against it so far

One facility can be tied to this memorandum in public sources. Everything else is unattributed.

What has been delivered, and what is merely proposed
ItemStatusCapacity
Siruseri campus — STT Chennai 7Phase 1 live Feb 202645 MW design · 7.2 MW live
Ambattur — STT Chennai 4Ground broken Feb 2026Contributes to ~130 MW city potential
Balance of the ₹4,200 croreNot allocated publiclyUnknown
Any further Tamil Nadu sitesNone namedNone
The honest reading

Of ₹4,200 crore proposed, the only capacity visibly under construction is the Siruseri campus and the STT Chennai 4 build at Ambattur. Neither is publicly costed, so the share of the ₹4,200 crore already committed is unknowable.

Do not divide ₹4,200 crore by 45 MW and call it a per-MW cost. The money covers multiple sites over multiple years, and the campus is only one of them. That calculation appears in some commentary and it is wrong.

4Reading the number correctly

The figure
₹4,200 crore, or about US$475 million at ₹88.40 per USD. Press coverage has also expressed it as about US$504 m and US$462 m, which reflects exchange-rate vintage rather than any difference in the deal
What it compares to
STT GDC India's other state commitments: ₹5,000 crore for Maharashtra (October 2025) and ₹3,500 crore for Telangana (January 2025). All three are memoranda, not contracts
What it does not include
Any figure for land. State land allocations are handled separately, and the memorandum does not state whether land is being provided, discounted or sold at market
The portfolio it sits inside
STT GDC India reports more than 400 MW of critical IT load across about 30 facilities in 10 cities, including capacity under development. That figure is not attributable to any single state
Why the state cares
Tamil Nadu is competing directly with Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh for hyperscale investment. A ₹4,200 crore headline is worth having politically even without a binding commitment, which is precisely why headlines and delivery diverge
What to track instead
Land allotment orders, power sanction letters, environmental clearances and building permits. Those are the documents that precede equipment orders. A memorandum never is

5Timeline

  • STT GDC India signs a strategic memorandum of understanding with the Government of Tamil Nadu proposing ₹4,200 crore of AI-ready data-centre investment.
  • STT Chennai 7 at Siruseri is e-inaugurated by the chief minister, with 7.2 MW operational.
  • The memorandum and the campus launch are announced together, alongside memoranda with Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh.
  • Land allotment, power sanction, further site announcements, or any dated milestone attached to the ₹4,200 crore

6Assumptions and method

What is sourced
The value, the parties, the announcement date, and the association with the Siruseri campus
What is derived
The USD conversion and the comparison with the other state memoranda
Capacity
None recorded. The memorandum carries no MW. Capacity mentioned on this page belongs to the facility record PRJ-019
Additivity rule
Not applicable. A memorandum is never additive to a facility record. The Siruseri campus sits inside this programme and is counted once, in PRJ-019
Binding status
Described as a memorandum and treated as non-binding, consistent with how such instruments are generally understood in Indian infrastructure

7Limits and open questions

Allocation
No breakdown of the ₹4,200 crore across sites, years or phases
Binding status
Not a contract. No penalty, no schedule, no completion obligation
Sites
Only Siruseri is publicly associated. Whether the money is intended for further Tamil Nadu sites is not stated
Period
The investment period is not specified
Land
Not addressed in the memorandum as disclosed
Incentives
Whether the state has offered tariff concessions, stamp-duty relief or other incentives is not disclosed
What we will not claim
No capacity, no per-MW cost, no schedule and no view on whether the full amount will be invested

8Sources

This record was compiled entirely from publicly available sources, cross-checked against one another.

STT GDC India newsroom·The Hindu BusinessLine·DatacenterDynamics·ET Telecom·ANI·CRN Asia·Developing Telecoms·The Tech Capital·VARIndia

Gridvik does not publish source URLs on record pages; citations are retained in the internal source register and are available on request.

What this page is, and what it is not

This is a public-source record of a state investment memorandum. The value and date are attributed to the company and the state; the absence of capacity is a finding, not a gap in research.

No tender insider information, no private contact data, no operator-paid placement. Corrections are free and published with a date.