Programme record · Enriched · Verified 22 Oct 2026
STT GDC India Multi-State MemorandaKarnataka · Maharashtra · Telangana · Uttar Pradesh · Tamil Nadu
Record PRJ-021National — five statesTier B — umbrella, one site grounded11 public sources cross-checked
Umbrella MoU recordPalava broken groundTwo amounts undisclosedPortfolio — not additive
5
State memoranda
₹12,700cr
Disclosed total
1
Groundbreakings
50MW
Palava phase 1
~400MW
Palava design
400+MW
Portfolio IT load
Between January 2025 and February 2026, STT GDC India signed strategic memoranda with five state governments — Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. Three have published values totalling ₹12,700 crore; two do not. Across all five, exactly one project has broken ground: the Palava campus in Maharashtra, 50 MW first phase against a design of about 400 MW. This record exists to keep the memoranda and the construction apart, because in Indian data-centre reporting they are constantly merged.
1At a glance
Record ID
PRJ-021 — Gridvik India Data Centre Registry
Record
STT GDC India multi-state memoranda of understanding — umbrella programme
Operator
STT GDC India — ST Telemedia Global Data Centres (India)
States
Karnataka · Maharashtra · Telangana · Uttar Pradesh · Tamil Nadu
Announced together
20 February 2026, in the release covering the Chennai Siruseri campus launch. Individual memoranda were signed across 2025 and 2026
Disclosed values
Maharashtra ₹5,000 crore · Tamil Nadu ₹4,200 crore · Telangana ₹3,500 crore. Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh amounts are not disclosed
Capacity
No aggregate. This master does not accept a portfolio MW total from memoranda. The registry holds individual facility records separately
Only grounded project
Palava, Maharashtra — groundbreaking 16 March 2026, 50 MW first phase, design of about 400 MW
Portfolio claim
More than 400 MW of critical IT load across about 30 facilities in 10 cities, including capacity under development
Gridvik tier
B — umbrella record, one project grounded. The most useful thing here is the ratio: five memoranda, one groundbreaking
2The five memoranda
Figure 1STT GDC India's five state commitments. Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh have no published value, which is itself informative — the states that negotiated an amount made it public.
What each state memorandum says
State
Value
Timing
Named locations
Maharashtra
₹5,000 cr
16 Oct 2025
Mumbai, Pune and a new campus at Palava
Tamil Nadu
₹4,200 cr
Feb 2026
Siruseri, and further sites not specified — PRJ-020
Telangana
₹3,500 cr
Jan 2025
Mucherla / Meerkhanpet, Hyderabad — a campus of up to 100 MW
Karnataka
Not disclosed
2025–26
Not specified
Uttar Pradesh
Not disclosed
2025–26
Not specified
Gridvik read — three of five have a number, none has a contract
A memorandum of understanding is an expression of intent. It is generally not legally binding in Indian infrastructure practice. It gives the company a relationship with the state and priority in clearances; it does not oblige anyone to build anything.
The ₹12,700 crore disclosed across three states is therefore a statement about ambition, not a budget. Compare it with the grounded reality: one campus has broken ground, and its first phase is 50 MW.
Note the asymmetry that matters commercially: Telangana's memorandum explicitly names a campus of up to 100 MW at Mucherla. That is the only one of the five where a capacity figure has been attached to a state deal at all.
3Palava — the only grounded project
Palava, in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region, is the one place where this programme has become physical. It also contains the clearest documentable inconsistency in STT GDC's public record.
Location
Palava, Mumbai Metropolitan Region, Maharashtra
Groundbreaking
16 March 2026
Announced scale
First phase 50 MW of IT load; design of about 400 MW — among the largest planned data-centre campuses in India
Investment link
Supported by an investment commitment of ₹5,000 crore, which includes the Maharashtra memorandum
Land — the discrepancy
The October 2025 Maharashtra announcement described Palava as a campus spanning over 27 acres. The March 2026 groundbreaking describes a 46-acre campus. Both are company statements. Gridvik records both and does not reconcile them
Why Palava matters
400 MW in one campus in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region would be a step change in the scale of a single Indian site, and it is being built by a company that is simultaneously preparing an IPO
Record handling
The Palava campus is held as a separate record, PRJ-061. It sits inside this umbrella and inside the Maharashtra memorandum. It must never be added to either
Jobs claim
The Maharashtra memorandum claimed over 500 highly skilled jobs and about 2,000 indirect employment opportunities
4The portfolio claim — 400 MW across 30 facilities
The claim
More than 400 MW of critical IT load across about 30 facilities in 10 cities, including facilities under development
The wording matters
"Critical IT load … including those under development" is not the same as operating capacity. A facility that has broken ground counts toward this number
The trend
An earlier statement in 2024 described 318 MW across 28 facilities, including under development. The growth is real, but the basis has stayed consistent — built plus building, not built alone
Live capacity
Not published. STT GDC India has not disclosed how much of the 400 MW is operational, which makes it one of the few large Indian platforms where the live number is genuinely unknown
Context
India had about 1,789 MW of live colocation capacity in H1 2026, per Cushman & Wakefield. If STT GDC's 400 MW were all live it would be roughly a fifth of the national total — which is why the built-versus-building distinction is worth insisting on
Ownership
KKR and Singtel completed the acquisition of an 82% stake in STT GDC in September 2026, holding 75% and 25% respectively, at an enterprise value of about S$13.8 billion. Tata Communications retains a minority in the India business
IPO
STT GDC India is evaluating a potential listing targeted at the first half of 2027, reported at various times from about US$500 million to US$1 billion. A prospectus would, for the first time, disclose live capacity properly
5Timeline
STT GDC India signs a ₹3,500 crore memorandum with the Government of Telangana for a campus of up to 100 MW at Mucherla in Hyderabad.
A ₹5,000 crore memorandum with the Government of Maharashtra covering Mumbai, Pune and a new campus at Palava, described as over 27 acres.
Memoranda signed with Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh. No values disclosed.
Groundbreaking at Palava — the first physical delivery under the multi-state programme. 46-acre campus described, 50 MW first phase, design of about 400 MW.
₹4,200 crore Tamil Nadu memorandum signed and announced with the Siruseri campus launch (PRJ-019, PRJ-020).
The multi-state memoranda are formally announced together.
KKR and Singtel complete the 82% acquisition of STT GDC at an enterprise value of about S$13.8 billion.
Potential Indian IPO, which should disclose live versus under-development capacity for the first time
6What to track — and what to ignore
How to use this record
Five state memoranda and ₹12,700 crore of disclosed intent are not a procurement signal. One groundbreaking, one named first phase of 50 MW and one named 100 MW campus are.
If you are planning coverage of STT GDC India, the useful tracking list is short: Palava phase schedules (PRJ-061), Mucherla in Telangana, and the IPO prospectus, which will be the first document to state live capacity properly.
Ignore
Memoranda as capacity. Any aggregate of the five states as a market figure. Any per-MW cost derived by dividing a state commitment by a campus size
Track
Building permits and environmental clearances in each state · the Palava phase two announcement · Telangana's Mucherla campus design capacity · the IPO prospectus
The single most useful document
The IPO prospectus, expected in the first half of 2027. It will contain audited, site-level live capacity — a thing almost no Indian operator has ever published
Equipment relevance by state
Maharashtra is the live market (Palava, Mumbai, Pune). Telangana is the next with a named 100 MW campus. Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh are intent only. Tamil Nadu is delivering through the Siruseri campus recorded as PRJ-019
Who buys
STT GDC India centrally, through a single engineering and procurement function, across all states. Post-acquisition, with KKR at 75% and an IPO being prepared, expect documented, finance-grade procurement rather than relationship buying
7Assumptions and method
What is sourced
The five memoranda and their dates, the three disclosed values, the Telangana campus of up to 100 MW, Palava's groundbreaking date, acreage, first-phase and design capacity, the portfolio claim, ownership and IPO plans
What is derived
The total of the disclosed values (₹12,700 crore), and the assessment in the tracking section
Capacity
No aggregate recorded. Palava's 50 MW and ~400 MW are recorded in this page as facts about a separate project, held as PRJ-061. They are not added to anything here
Additivity rule
Non-additive umbrella. This record sits above five state memoranda and at least two facility records (PRJ-019, PRJ-061). Nothing is summed
Land discrepancy
Palava is described as over 27 acres in October 2025 and 46 acres in March 2026, both by the company. Gridvik publishes both and takes no position
Binding status
All five are memoranda and are treated as non-binding
8Limits and open questions
Two undisclosed values
Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh have no published investment figure
Live versus pipeline
STT GDC does not split its 400+ MW portfolio into operational and under development. This is the largest gap on the page
Palava acreage
27 acres against 46 acres, both company statements, unexplained
Schedules
No dated milestones for any state beyond Palava's groundbreaking
Land and power
Not disclosed for Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh or the Telangana campus
IPO effect
A listing may accelerate or defer state-level build. Unknown
What we will not claim
No aggregate capacity, no live capacity, no per-state build schedule and no per-MW cost derived from memoranda
9Sources
This record was compiled entirely from publicly available sources, cross-checked against one another.
STT GDC India newsroom·STT GDC Maharashtra memorandum release·The Wire (PTI)·DatacenterDynamics·Economic Times Datacenters·ET Telecom·The Hindu BusinessLine·Blackridge Research·The Next Web·Moneycontrol·Elets eGov·newsvoir
Gridvik does not publish source URLs on record pages; citations are retained in the internal source register and are available on request.
What this page is, and what it is not
This is a public-source record of five state memoranda and the one project that has become physical. Values and dates are attributed to the company and the states.
No tender insider information, no private contact data, no operator-paid placement. Corrections are free and published with a date.