PDG CH1 Chennai CampusNorth Chennai · Princeton Digital Group's first Tamil Nadu campus
Record PRJ-027Tamil Nadu — North ChennaiTier B — announced, not building9 public sources cross-checked
Planned / developingNo construction evidenceOperator-listed capacityPart of $1bn India programme
72MW
Campus design
3
Buildings planned
9.3ac
Land
Sep 2024
Announced
0
Construction evidenced
$1bn
India programme
Princeton Digital Group announced its entry into Chennai in September 2024 with CH1: a 72 MW AI-ready campus across three buildings on 9.3 acres in the northern part of the city, with scalability for future expansion. It was one of two projects in a US$1 billion India programme, alongside the MU1 expansion in Navi Mumbai. Two years on, CH1 remains a planned campus: no groundbreaking, no commissioning, no phase schedule and no tenant has been reported.
1At a glance
Record ID
PRJ-027 — Gridvik India Data Centre Registry
Project
PDG CH1 — Princeton Digital Group's first Chennai campus
Operator
Princeton Digital Group
Location
North Chennai, Tamil Nadu. No specific plot published
State
Tamil Nadu
Record type
campus
Status
Planned or developing. No construction, land allotment, power sanction or commissioning evidenced in public sources
Capacity
72 MW, operator-listed. IT versus gross basis not explicitly stated on the current listing
Configuration
Three buildings · 9.3 acres · described as AI-ready and scalable for future expansion
Investment
Part of PDG's US$1 billion India programme, alongside the MU1 expansion to 150 MW
Gridvik tier
B — announced, not building. The land is real money and the operator is credible, but nothing physical has been evidenced
2What is established — and what is not
The gap between the two lists is the whole record.
Established
A 72 MW three-building campus on 9.3 acres in North Chennai, announced September 2024 as part of a US$1 billion India programme. It appears on PDG's own India locations page, which describes it as a three-building campus offering scalable infrastructure
Established
PDG has a funded India programme and has demonstrated it can build — the MU1 first building took about 20 months
Not established
Any specific plot or address. Any land allotment document. Any power sanction or substation arrangement. Any construction start. Any phase schedule. Any delivery date. Any tenant
What the silence means
PDG announced CH1 and MU1 together in September 2024. MU1 has since gone from 50 MW live to a funded 100 MW expansion with a green loan and confirmed 220 kV substation. CH1 has produced no equivalent disclosure in two years — and in the same period PDG chose to spend its next US$210 million of Indian capacity on MU2 in Navi Mumbai and HY1 in Hyderabad instead
Gridvik's handling
Held as a planned campus at 72 MW, flagged additive in the registry as a distinct prospective site, with status explicitly not operational. The capacity is not counted in any live total
3Why MU1 shipped and CH1 did not — the useful lesson
The pattern in PDG's own allocation of capital
In September 2024, PDG committed US$1 billion to India across two projects: a 100 MW expansion in Navi Mumbai and a 72 MW greenfield in Chennai.
In March 2026, it announced a further 210 MW — and both sites were in Mumbai and Hyderabad. Chennai did not appear.
That is not a retreat from the 72 MW Chennai figure; that announcement has never been withdrawn. But it is a clear statement about where the next dollar went, and why.
Mumbai had a substation next door
MU1 was built beside the Kalwa substation with its own 220 kV GIS connection. That is why MU1 could deliver a building in 20 months and why the expansion is financeable against a green loan
The 210 MW acquisition came with power already secured
PDG's March 2026 announcement explicitly cited "power secured and key land approvals in place" as the basis for a faster ready-for-service timeline. It bought readiness rather than building it
Chennai is not short of capacity
Chennai had about 214 MW of live colocation capacity and roughly 368 MW of pipeline in H1 2026, with reported vacancy of 26.7% and 41.7% at Siruseri specifically. A new 72 MW entrant in a market with that much vacancy and that much committed supply is a harder business case than a 100 MW expansion of an already-let campus
The general lesson
In Indian data centres, power and land readiness beat announcements. A site with a secured substation and clean title will always outrun a greenfield with a bigger capacity number — and PDG's own capital allocation over 18 months proves it
What would change CH1
A land allotment, a power sanction, a groundbreaking, or a tenant pre-lease. Any one of those converts this record from Tier B to a trackable project within a week
4The Chennai market CH1 is entering
Live capacity
About 214 MW of colocation capacity in H1 2026 — India's second-largest market
Pipeline
Roughly 368 MW of upcoming supply
Vacancy
Reported at 26.7% city-wide in H1 2026, and 41.7% at Siruseri specifically. That is a soft market by Indian standards
Siruseri competition
Sify's Chennai 02 campus at Siruseri has 25.92 MW built against a 130+ MW eventual design, plus an on-site cable landing station. Nxtra's Chennai-II park (PRJ-011) adds 40 MW IT across two towers. STT GDC's Chennai 7 (PRJ-019) has 7.2 MW live against a 45 MW design and roughly 130 MW of Chennai development potential
Why Chennai is still attractive
Submarine cable density — the second-highest number of undersea cables in India after Mumbai — and the shortest route to Singapore. That is a durable structural advantage for latency-sensitive workloads
What North Chennai adds
A different sub-market from Siruseri. North Chennai is closer to the port and industrial power infrastructure, and less congested in data-centre terms. Whether it has the fibre routes and the substation capacity is not established in public sources
The honest assessment
A 72 MW campus in a city with 26.7% vacancy and 368 MW already committed is a genuine commercial risk, and the operator's own capital allocation reflects that. This is not a criticism of PDG — it is the most defensible reading of the evidence
5Timeline
PDG announces a US$1 billion India programme: MU1 in Navi Mumbai expands to 150 MW across five buildings, and CH1 enters Chennai at 72 MW across three buildings on 9.3 acres.
The same programme is described as part of a US$5 billion Asia plan including 500 MW of powered land across Mumbai, Chennai, Johor and Jakarta, on over 88 acres.
MU1's second building goes live; a US$160 million green loan is secured for MU1.
PDG announces a further 210 MW in Mumbai and Hyderabad, taking India operating and planned capacity to about 1 GW. Chennai is not part of this tranche.
Any CH1 land allotment, power sanction, groundbreaking, phase schedule or tenant
6Assumptions and method
What is sourced
Capacity, building count, land area, location, announcement date and programme context
What is derived
The analysis of why capital went elsewhere, and the market figures drawn from Cushman & Wakefield
Capacity figure used
72 MW, operator-listed, not operational. The registry does not classify it as built capacity and does not count it in any live total
Additivity rule
Flagged additive as a distinct prospective site, but it contributes no capacity to any current total. It sits inside PDG's claimed ~1 GW India portfolio (PRJ-025)
Status basis
Classified as planned because no construction or commissioning evidence exists, despite two years having elapsed since announcement
7Limits and open questions
Site
No address or plot identified
Status
Announced in 2024, unchanged since. Whether the project remains active on its original terms is not knowable
Power
No substation, load sanction or DISCOM arrangement published
Capacity basis
IT versus gross not stated on the operator listing
Schedule
No phase dates of any kind
Tenants
None named
Land
9.3 acres is stated, but whether it is owned, leased or optioned is not disclosed
What we will not claim
No construction status, no schedule, no power arrangement, no tenant, and no view that the project will or will not proceed
8Sources
This record was compiled entirely from publicly available sources, cross-checked against one another.
Princeton Digital Group newsroom and India location pages·The Hindu BusinessLine·Economic Times·Datacentre News·DatacenterDynamics·Datacenter News Asia·ETCIO SEA·Developing Telecoms·Cushman & Wakefield India H1 2026
Gridvik does not publish source URLs on record pages; citations are retained in the internal source register and are available on request.
What this page is, and what it is not
This is a public-source record of an announced campus with no construction evidence after two years. The absence of progress is reported as a finding, not as an accusation.