CtrlS Bhopal Edge Data CentreBadwai IT Park, Bhopal · Madhya Pradesh
Record PRJ-033Madhya Pradesh — BhopalTier B — under construction, unevidenced11 public sources cross-checked
Under constructionNo commissioning evidence12 MW edge facilityTier-2 market
12MW
Reported capacity
₹500cr
Investment
5ac
Land at Badwai
27 Apr 2025
Virtual groundbreaking
200
Jobs projected
18mo
Since groundbreaking
CtrlS is building a 12 MW AI-ready data centre on five acres at Badwai IT Park in Bhopal, at a reported investment of ₹500 crore. The groundbreaking was conducted virtually by Madhya Pradesh chief minister Mohan Yadav on 27 April 2025, from the Tech Growth Conclave in Indore. As of October 2026 no commissioning has been evidenced. The capacity basis — IT load versus gross facility power — is not stated anywhere in the public record.
1At a glance
Record ID
PRJ-033 — Gridvik India Data Centre Registry
Project
CtrlS Bhopal edge data centre — CtrlS's first facility in central India
Operator
CtrlS Datacenters Ltd, Hyderabad
Location
Badwai IT Park, Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh. Land allotted by the state government
State
Madhya Pradesh
Record type
single_facility
Status
Under construction. Virtual groundbreaking 27 April 2025. No commissioning evidenced as of 22 October 2026
Capacity
12 MW reported. The source does not state whether this is IT load or gross facility power
Land
Five acres at Badwai IT Park
Investment
₹500 crore, about US$59 million
Economic claims
About 200 jobs phased over development · projected annual SGST of ₹7.5 crore and CGST of ₹7.5 crore at full capacity, ₹15 crore combined
Gridvik tier
B — under construction, unevidenced. A small, genuine, state-backed project whose delivery cannot be confirmed from public sources
2What is established — and the one thing that is not
This is a modest record and it is treated as one. The facts are few but they are firm. The one that matters for any capacity count is not firm at all.
Established
Five acres allotted by the Madhya Pradesh government at Badwai IT Park; a reported investment of ₹500 crore; a reported capacity of 12 MW; a virtual groundbreaking by the chief minister on 27 April 2025; about 200 jobs projected over phases; SGST and CGST of about ₹7.5 crore each annually at full capacity
Established
CtrlS describes the facility as AI-ready with advanced cooling and security systems, positioned for high-performance cloud, AI and data-processing workloads
Established
At the time of announcement, CtrlS reported about 250 MW of combined IT load capacity across its platform
Not established
Whether the 12 MW is IT load or gross facility power. The registry review note is explicit: the source does not identify IT versus gross/utility. At a PUE of 1.3 to 1.4, a 12 MW gross figure would be roughly 8.5 to 9 MW of IT load
Not established
Any construction progress, phase schedule, commissioning date, tenant, or equipment detail
Why the basis matters
A 12 MW gross figure and a 12 MW IT figure differ by nearly 30% of usable compute. For a vendor sizing the opportunity, that is the difference between roughly 14 and 20 generators
3Why a 12 MW site in Bhopal — the logic
This is not a hyperscale play, and it is not meant to be
Twelve megawatts is an edge facility, not a campus. CtrlS operates 370+ MW live and has 4.4 GW of projects, almost all of it in the nine major markets. Bhopal exists for a different reason: proximity to government and enterprise workloads in central India, and a state that offered terms worth taking.
The company's own chairman cited Madhya Pradesh's strategic central location as the reason. That is the real argument — latency to state government systems, a market with almost no commercial data-centre supply, and a policy package that materially improves the economics.
The market gap
Bhopal and Madhya Pradesh have very little commercial colocation capacity. India's data-centre market is concentrated in Mumbai, Chennai, Hyderabad, Pune and Delhi NCR, with about 90% of live capacity in the top seven markets. A 12 MW facility in a market approaching zero is a different business from a 12 MW facility in Mumbai
The demand
State government systems, public-sector undertakings and regional enterprises — the workloads that benefit from being physically close and from state procurement preferences
The precedent
This is a template several operators are now running: small facilities in tier-2 state capitals in exchange for land, power and incentives. Nxtra's Kolkata build (PRJ-012) and CtrlS' own Kolkata and Jaipur facilities are variants
The risk
Tier-2 data centres in India have historically struggled with occupancy. A 12 MW facility has to fill a small hall before it earns anything, and the local enterprise market is thin
Why it still matters to a vendor
Small projects are easier to win than hyperscale ones. A 12 MW facility is one procurement decision, one specification, and no global vendor panel — a realistic first order for a mid-sized Indian supplier
4The state incentive — where the economics actually come from
The policy
Madhya Pradesh's IT, ITeS and ESDM Investment Promotion Policy 2023, which offers up to a 25% capital expenditure subsidy
What 25% of capex is worth
Against a reported ₹500 crore investment, that is up to ₹125 crore of subsidy. On a project of this size, that is the difference between a marginal and an attractive return — and it is a larger factor than anything in the equipment specification
The second policy
The Global Capability Centers Policy 2025, targeting over 50 global tech centres as part of the state's aim for a US$2 trillion economy by 2047
Land
Five acres allotted by the state government at Badwai IT Park — a direct land allocation rather than a market purchase
The state's revenue case
About ₹15 crore annually in combined state and central GST at full capacity, plus jobs. Modest against the subsidy, which is the honest way to read these deals
Why this matters beyond Bhopal
The incentive is the business case. Any vendor pricing into this project should know that the buyer is working against a subsidised capex base — which changes what capital cost the project can bear, and therefore what equipment is acceptable
What is not disclosed
Whether the subsidy has been sanctioned, its disbursement schedule, conditions attached, and any power tariff concession
5Timeline
Virtual groundbreaking by Madhya Pradesh chief minister Dr Mohan Yadav, at the Tech Growth Conclave 2025 in Indore. ₹500 crore, 12 MW, five acres at Badwai IT Park, about 200 jobs projected.
CtrlS issues a formal release. The facility is described as AI-ready with advanced cooling and security, serving cloud, AI and data-processing workloads.
Reported as a Rs 500 crore edge data centre by market trackers, with CtrlS reporting 250 MW of combined IT load capacity at that time.
No commissioning evidenced. Project trackers still describe the facility as under construction with no completion date
Any construction milestone, commissioning date, tenant, or confirmation that the 12 MW is delivered
6Assumptions and method
What is sourced
Land area and location, investment, reported capacity, groundbreaking date and format, jobs and tax projections, the state policies cited
What is derived
The value of the 25% capex subsidy, the IT-versus-gross implication, and the assessment of why the project exists
Capacity figure used
12 MW as reported, basis unstated. The registry does not convert it to IT load and does not present it as gross
Additivity rule
Flagged additive in the registry as a distinct single facility, but it contributes no live capacity to any total because nothing is commissioned
Status
Under construction, consistent with later tracker descriptions. No commissioning evidence located
7Limits and open questions
Capacity basis
The central gap. IT load or gross power is not stated
Construction status
No evidence of progress since the virtual groundbreaking in April 2025. Whether the project has started on site is not confirmed
Virtual groundbreaking
The ceremony was conducted by video link from a conference in a different city. It is not evidence that construction had begun
Design
No redundancy scheme, cooling architecture, density or PUE published
Subsidy
The 25% capex subsidy is stated as a policy feature. Whether it has been sanctioned to this project is not disclosed
Tenants
None named
What we will not claim
No commissioning, no construction progress, no IT load figure, no schedule and no equipment brands
8Sources
This record was compiled entirely from publicly available sources, cross-checked against one another.
CtrlS Datacenters press release·Economic Times (PTI)·Times of India·The Hindu BusinessLine·DatacenterDynamics·APAC News Network·Entrepreneur India·The Tech Capital·Voice & Data·DC Market Insights·FlexiCloud India tracker
Gridvik does not publish source URLs on record pages; citations are retained in the internal source register and are available on request.
What this page is, and what it is not
This is a short record of a small project announced with a video-link ceremony and not visible since. It is published as short deliberately.