On 19 August 2025 Prestige Estates Projects signed a ₹12,500 crore memorandum with the Government of Maharashtra. ₹5,000 crore of it is for a data centre campus at Taloja. The rest is a 100-acre global capability centre and a 250-acre logistics and residential hub. The data centre is described as a campus together with commercial, residential and allied facilities, and it is expected to create 1,200 jobs. No capacity has been published. The company behind it is one of India's largest listed property developers, and it is not a data centre operator.
1At a glance
2One memorandum, three projects
The structure of this deal tells you more than the number does. A property developer signed a single memorandum covering a data centre, an office campus and a warehousing park. That is a real estate portfolio decision, not a data centre investment decision, and it is being announced as one number.
The data centre line is also explicitly mixed-use: "along with commercial, residential and allied facilities". Every report of this announcement carries that phrasing, and almost none of them carries the implication, which is that the ₹5,000 crore is not a data centre construction budget. Some of it is offices, housing and retail on the same site.
A data centre is a single-purpose industrial building with a very particular power, cooling and security specification. A campus with residential and commercial buildings is a township with a data centre in it.
Both are legitimate. Only one of them generates orders for chillers, switchgear, generators and busway. Nobody can tell from the public record how much of the ₹5,000 crore is for which.
3A developer, not an operator
Prestige builds and sells property. It has no operating data centre in the public record and has announced no operating partner for this one.
| Question a supplier should ask | What the public record says |
|---|---|
| Who will operate the facility? | Not stated. No operator, joint venture partner or management contract has been announced |
| Who is the tenant? | Not stated. No anchor customer, hyperscaler or colocation brand is named |
| Who will design and build it? | Not stated. The developer has construction capability of its own for buildings, but data centre MEP is a different discipline |
| What capacity is being built? | Not stated |
| Is this a build-to-suit or speculative? | Not stated. The phrase "commercial, residential and allied facilities" suggests a mixed speculative development |
None of that makes the project unserious. India is full of property developers who have moved into data centres, and several have succeeded because land and construction are genuinely half the problem. But it does mean the schedule and the specification are unresolved in a way that an operator-led project's would not be.
The practical read: this is a land-and-building play waiting for an operator and a tenant. The 2026 start date was stated in August 2025 and, on the public record, nothing has started.
4What ₹5,000 crore could be
| Rate | Source | Capacity ₹5,000 crore implies |
|---|---|---|
| ₹33 crore per MW | Uttar Pradesh committed pipeline | about 151 MW |
| ₹56 crore per MW | CtrlS Chennai park | about 89 MW |
| ₹70 crore per MW | HCLTech’s stated ceiling | about 71 MW |
The range is 71 to 151 MW if the whole ₹5,000 crore is data centre capital. If a meaningful share of it is the commercial and residential buildings the announcement describes, the data centre is smaller — possibly much smaller. Nothing in the public record allocates the money between the two.
Gridvik records the range and carries no capacity.
5The Taloja corridor
Taloja is one of four corridors in the Maharashtra pipeline and, on the state's own numbers, not the largest. The state has published a Taloja corridor figure of ₹1.31 lakh crore across four projects, totalling 3,770 MW. Navi Mumbai is put at ₹3.48 lakh crore and 4,040 MW across seven projects.
| Corridor | Investment | Capacity | Per MW |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taloja | ₹1.31 lakh crore | 3,770 MW | about ₹35 crore |
| Navi Mumbai | ₹3.48 lakh crore | 4,040 MW | about ₹86 crore |
| Maharashtra total | ₹16.69 lakh crore | not stated | not calculable |
Two corridors in the same state, twenty kilometres apart, with implied costs per megawatt that differ by a factor of two and a half. At least one of the two capacity figures is a target rather than a design.
Taloja also has a physical problem that the money does not solve. State projections put its water requirement at 140 million litres a day — the highest of the three corridors, ahead of Navi Mumbai at 136 and Panvel at 108. Evaporative cooling at this scale consumes water, and Taloja sits inland where the supply is less secure than on the coast.
6Timeline
- Prestige Estates Projects signs a ₹12,500 crore memorandum with the Government of Maharashtra covering a ₹5,000 crore data centre campus at Taloja, a ₹5,000 crore 100-acre global capability centre in Navi Mumbai, and a ₹2,500 crore 250-acre logistics hub at Khalapur. All three expected to commence in 2026. Around 8,700 direct jobs claimed in total.
- Trade coverage confirms the ₹5,000 crore data centre allocation and the 1,200 jobs attributed to it, and notes that the project is scarce on detail.
- No land acquisition, power sanction, operator, tenant, design or construction start has been published. The 2026 start date stated at signing has not been evidenced.
- Any capacity figure, site parcel, operating partner, anchor tenant or construction milestone
7Assumptions and what we refuse to invent
8Limits and open questions
9Sources
This record was compiled entirely from publicly available sources, cross-checked against one another.
Prestige Estates Projects release·Government of Maharashtra release·Economic Times·Moneycontrol·DatacenterDynamics·W.Media·Projects Today·CXO Digitalpulse·GCC Rise·Hindustan Times·The Hawk
Gridvik does not publish source URLs on record pages; citations are retained in the internal source register and are available on request.
A short record of a developer memorandum in which the data centre is one of three projects and its size is not published.
Corrections are free and published with a date.
