Trentar Private Limited, the technology and infrastructure arm of the Dorf Ketal Group, signed a Maharashtra MoU on 6 October 2026 for a proposed 500 MW green integrated hyperscale data centre park at ₹30,000 crore, and says it has already received a state Letter of Intent setting out the applicable support and incentives. Divide one by the other and you get ₹60 crore per megawatt, inside the ₹52 to ₹70 crore band that built capacity in this registry actually cost. That makes it the most coherent large announcement of the month — and the one with the least site certainty, because no parcel has been selected anywhere in the state.
1At a glance
2₹60 crore a megawatt
Most numbers in this batch are announcements in search of an engineering basis. This one is not. ₹30,000 crore divided by 500 MW is ₹60 crore a megawatt, and ₹60 crore a megawatt is what data centres in this country have actually cost to build.
That single arithmetic relationship is worth more than any launch quote. It means the rupee figure was built from a capacity plan rather than reverse-engineered from a headline, and it means the programme is sized at something a first-time developer could plausibly stage. Compare the ReNew record in this batch at ₹93.3 crore per megawatt and SentraForge at ₹188.6: those are not worse projects, they are simply programmes whose rupee figure covers more than a data centre.
Two caveats, both of which matter. First, at ₹60 crore a megawatt the ₹30,000 crore buys a shell and a fit-out, not a GPU cluster — the compute inside a 500 MW park would cost several times the building again, and that money is not in the figure. Second, the total is stated for the park, and a park with no parcels allocated cannot be probed for how the money is split across sites.
₹60 crore a megawatt is a building budget. It is coherent, it is checkable, and it is the reason this record reads as a real plan rather than a press release.
Everything that would make it a project — a plot, a customer, a connection, a date — is still missing.
3A chemicals company building a data centre
On the face of it, a specialty chemicals group is an odd entrant. It is less odd than it looks, and the reason is specific.
| Capability | Relevance to a 500 MW park |
|---|---|
| Process engineering at industrial scale | High. Refinery and petrochemical projects are engineered, permitted and commissioned under exactly the disciplines a hyperscale campus needs |
| Utilities and thermal management | High. The company already designs and runs heat exchange, cooling and steam systems |
| Water treatment and reuse | High. This is the binding constraint on Indian data centres in 2026, and rarely a data-centre operator’s core skill |
| Continuous operations under safety regulation | Medium. Useful for uptime discipline; not the same as data-centre SLA management |
| Data-centre operations, customers, networks | Low to none. No campus, no published customer, no carrier relationships, no cloud on-ramps |
| Renewable generation | Low. 51% renewable is a target with no procurement, PPA or open-access approval attached |
The company’s own framing leans on this: the group will apply three decades of process engineering, utilities, thermal management, water treatment and continuous-operations experience to a modular campus built for rapid deployment. That is a credible thesis for getting a building up quickly and running it cheaply. It is not a thesis for selling capacity, which is a different business with different customers.
The entity doing this is young — Trentar was founded in 2021 — and its founder and vice chairman, Subodh Menon, has publicly described the campus as modular and designed for scalable growth. For suppliers, that is the most useful technical detail in the announcement: a modular build means repeatable equipment packages rather than a one-off design, and repeatable packages favour vendors who can supply the same skid five times.
4The site is still being chosen
ET reported on 5 October, the day before the MoU was formally announced, that Trentar was evaluating land parcels across Maharashtra and expected to finish in about a month. The company release names the state and nothing smaller. PTI, in its coverage, said the project was likely to be based in the Navi Mumbai region — which is a reporter’s assessment, not a company statement.
| Question | Answer on the record | Answered? |
|---|---|---|
| State | Maharashtra. Company statement | Yes |
| Region | Navi Mumbai, per PTI only. Company names no region | No |
| District | Not stated | No |
| Parcel | Not stated. Evaluation reported as ongoing | No |
| Acreage | Not stated | No |
| Zoning or industrial estate | Not stated | No |
| Power connection point | Not stated | No |
| Water source | Not stated, though water-efficient cooling is described as under evaluation | No |
A 500 MW park is a land-intensive object. At the power densities in this registry, a 500 MW campus is roughly 100 to 150 acres of land and a connection of 500 to 600 MVA. Nothing that size is currently for sale in the Navi Mumbai corridor as a single parcel with a live connection — which is exactly why a statewide search over a month is a demanding timeline.
That is also the practical reason to watch this record closely. The site announcement, when it comes, is the first real test of the project, and the registry should date-stamp it.
551% renewable and the water question
The company targets at least 51% of the park’s power from renewable sources, with in-house energy storage, treated-water reuse and water-efficient cooling all under evaluation. Every one of those is a design intent, and the numbers behind them have not been published.
The scale is easy to underestimate. 51% of 500 MW is 255 MW of continuous green supply obligation. Delivered from solar nameplate at a 25% capacity utilisation factor, that is 1,020 MW of installed solar plus storage to move the generation into the hours the campus runs. Delivered from wind at 35%, it is about 730 MW of nameplate.
| Item | Requirement | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Continuous green obligation | 255 MW | 51% of 500 MW, if matched on an hourly basis |
| Solar nameplate needed | about 1,020 MW | at a 25% capacity utilisation factor |
| Wind nameplate needed | about 730 MW | at a 35% capacity utilisation factor |
| Storage | Not quantified | the target is meaningless without it, and no duration has been published |
| Open access or PPA | Not disclosed | no generating asset, counterparty or tariff is named |
Gridvik does not know whether Trentar means 51% matched annually or hourly. Almost every Indian announcement means annually, which is far cheaper and delivers a much smaller emissions outcome. The distinction is the difference between 255 MW of firm green power and some number of renewable energy certificates.
A renewable target with no generating asset, no PPA, no open-access approval and no storage duration is a design goal. In this registry that is a score of zero for procurement purposes.
What would change it: a named solar or wind park, a signed PPA with a volume, or an open-access sanction. None exists.
6Timeline
- ET reports Dorf Ketal’s Trentar arm plans a ₹30,000 crore, 500 MW green data centre park in Maharashtra, is evaluating land parcels across the state, and expects the evaluation to take about a month
- Trentar announces the signed MoU in Mumbai, exchanged during Invest Maharashtra and handed over by chief minister Devendra Fadnavis. Company confirms it has received a state Letter of Intent on support and incentives
- Trade press, including DCD, w.media and Indian Chemical News, repeats the figures. PTI’s Navi Mumbai reference circulates without the company confirming it
- No site, parcel, acreage, power sanction, water allocation, financing, EPC contractor or schedule has been published
7Procurement
8Assumptions and method
| Figure | Basis | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
| 500 MW | Trentar release via PR Newswire, 6 October 2026. Basis not stated by the company | High as a claim, unverified as a specification |
| ₹30,000 crore | Same release, repeated by ET, ETDatacenters, DCE, w.media, Tribune, The Wire | High |
| ₹60 crore per MW | Gridvik arithmetic: ₹30,000 crore ÷ 500 MW | Arithmetic |
| $3.39 billion | ₹30,000 crore ÷ 88.40. The release’s $3.3 billion implies ₹90.91 to the dollar | Arithmetic |
| 51% renewable | Company release | Target, not a commitment |
| 255 MW green obligation | Gridvik arithmetic: 51% of 500 MW, assuming hourly matching | Arithmetic with stated assumption |
| 1,020 MW solar / 730 MW wind | Gridvik arithmetic at 25% and 35% capacity utilisation | Arithmetic with stated assumptions |
| 100 to 150 acres | Gridvik range for a 500 MW campus at densities in this registry | Estimate |
| Site | Not selected, per company. ET reports statewide evaluation | Confirmed as unknown |
9Limits and open questions
10Sources
Sources: Trentar via PR Newswire, Economic Times, ETDatacenters, ETEnergyworld, DCD, w.media, Indian Chemical News, The Tribune, The Wire, Blackridge Research, IPOCentral.
