Get Free Teaser
MoU-stage record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

ReNew — Mumbai Metropolitan Region, MaharashtraReNew Wind Energy Private Limited · Panvel, Khalapur, Taloja and Bhokarpada · 750 MW proposed

Record PRJ-057Maharashtra — four MMR locationsTier C — MoU only10 public sources cross-checkedSite not secured
MoU onlyFour locations, no parcelsPark proposalGenerator-led
750MW
Proposed
₹70,000cr
Proposed
₹93.3cr
Per MW — above build cost
51%
Green power requirement
7,000
Jobs claimed
2028
Operations target

On 8 October 2026 ReNew Wind Energy Private Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of ReNew, signed a Maharashtra MoU for a proposed ₹70,000 crore integrated green data centre park of 750 MW across Panvel, Khalapur, Taloja and Bhokarpada in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region, with operations targeted from 2028, 51% green power and two incoming feeders from independent sources. At ₹93.3 crore per megawatt it is priced well above what building has actually cost, and the park is four locations rather than one campus. Both facts point the same way: this is a renewable generator building captive demand and the real asset is the power, not the buildings.

1At a glance

Proponent
ReNew Wind Energy Private Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of ReNew. ReNew holds roughly 2.5 GW of energy assets in Maharashtra and says it has invested about ₹15,000 crore in the state
Announced
8 October 2026. MoU signed by P Anbalagan, principal secretary of the Industries, Investment and Services Department and chief executive of Invest Maharashtra, and by ReNew’s Maharashtra state head
Declared capacity
750 MW for the proposed park. IT versus gross facility basis is not stated, and no per-site allocation is given
Investment
₹70,000 crore, about $7.92 billion at ₹88.40 to the dollar. Some coverage describes it as $7.3 billion, which implies ₹95.89 to the dollar
Per megawatt
₹93.3 crore. Between 1.3 and 1.8 times the ₹52 to ₹70 crore rates at which capacity in this registry was built
Locations
Four: Panvel, Khalapur, Taloja and Bhokarpada, in Navi Mumbai and the wider MMR. No parcel, acreage or boundary is disclosed for any of them
Green requirement
51% green power for operations, plus dedicated power infrastructure including facilitation for two incoming feeders from independent sources to the park substation
Schedule
Operations expected from 2028. Some coverage describes 2028 as the start of phased development rather than first operations. No phase schedule is published
Jobs claimed
About 7,000, including more than 2,000 direct — about ₹10 crore of proposed investment per job, or ₹35 crore per direct job
Additivity
Flagged unresolved. Contributes nothing to any total

2₹93.3 crore a megawatt

Divide ₹70,000 crore by 750 MW and the answer is ₹93.3 crore. That is not a rounding error and it is not a scandal — it is a scope question, and the answer is visible in one line of coverage that most readers skip.

The same announcement, described two ways
Source and dateDescriptionImplication
Business Standard, ETDatacenters, ETInfra — 8 to 10 OctoberA 750 MW integrated green data centre park at ₹70,000 crore₹93.3 crore per MW — above build cost
ETDatacenters, 5 October, listing the state pipelineAn integrated data centre and IT/ITeS facility at Khalapur, ₹70,000 crorethe rupee figure covers buildings and IT services space, not only data halls

That single phrase — and IT/ITeS facility — reconciles most of the gap. Office and IT services space carries a very different cost per megawatt because it has almost no megawatts. A park that includes workplaces, a substation and dedicated feeders inside one ₹70,000 crore envelope will always appear expensive when divided by data-centre megawatts alone.

The same pattern appears repeatedly in this registry. Prestige’s ₹5,000 crore Taloja component sat inside a ₹12,500 crore mixed-use package. SentraForge’s ₹188.6 crore per megawatt includes a global capability centre. HCLTech’s ₹14,257 crore cannot be attached to its 50 MW. The Indian market announces integrated programmes and then gets compared on data-centre unit economics.

The honest read

₹93.3 crore a megawatt does not mean this park is overpriced. It means the rupee figure buys more than data halls, and nobody has published the split.

What can be said with confidence: this is not a ₹52 crore a megawatt data centre wearing a green wrapper. The power infrastructure is inside the number, and that is unusual and worth noting.

3Four locations, one announcement

This is the detail that changes how the record should be used. The park is not a campus. It is four named locations across the Mumbai Metropolitan Region — Panvel, Khalapur, Taloja and Bhokarpada — and no megawatts have been allocated to any of them.

What a four-site park means in practice
DimensionSingle campusFour-site park
Power connectionone substation, one sanctionfour connections or one long corridor — neither is described
Waterone source, one permitfour permits, four local conditions
Constructionone programme, one EPC conversationsequenced across four parcels, likely four contractors
Tenantsone campus identityfour different latency and connectivity profiles
Riskconcentratedspread, but coordination cost is materially higher
Disclosed—nothing: no parcel, acreage, boundary or per-site capacity

For a supplier, four sites is good news and bad news. Good: a repeatable design that can be bought four times, which rewards vendors who can standardise. Bad: nothing can be quoted against. Four locations with no parcels and no allocation is a map with pins on it, not a pipeline.

The two incoming feeders from independent sources is the more interesting commitment. It is the standard Indian answer to grid reliability at scale and it costs real money — two separate connection paths, two sets of switchgear, and in most cases a higher transmission charge. Its presence in the announcement is evidence that the power design has at least been thought about by someone who knows the corridor.

4The generator is the customer

This is the bit that most coverage missed. ReNew is not a data-centre company entering the data-centre business. It is India’s largest renewable generator building a 750 MW customer for its own electrons, in a state where it already operates about 2.5 GW.

Data centre loadthe announced park750 MWContinuous green obligation51% of load, hourly matching382.5 MWSolar nameplate requiredat a 25% utilisation factor1,530 MWGridvik arithmetic. If the 51% is matched annually rather than hourly the requirement is far smaller, and nobody has said which it is.
Figure 1The green obligation translated into nameplate capacity, on an hourly-matching assumption. This is the single number that tells you how much new generation sits behind the announcement.

A 51% obligation against 750 MW of continuous load is 382.5 MW of firm green supply. Delivered from solar at a 25% utilisation factor, that is 1,530 MW of installed solar; from wind at 35%, about 1,093 MW. Either way the generation requirement is larger than half of ReNew’s entire existing Maharashtra portfolio.

That is the strategic logic, and it is a strong one. Data centres are the only Indian load that is large, creditworthy, flat around the clock and contractible for twenty years. A generator that builds one is not diversifying into real estate; it is creating a captive buyer for capacity it must otherwise sell into a merchant market. It also explains the 51% figure, which is unusual for a developer and completely natural for a generator.

Why a generator builds a data centre park
ReasonWhat it means for the project
Captive demand for own generationthe park is a contracted offtaker, which improves the financing case for new renewable capacity
Green attribute becomes physical, not contractual51% can be met with real electrons and open access rather than certificates
Existing land, permits and grid relationshipsReNew already operates in Maharashtra and knows the corridor
Long-dated, creditworthy loadtwenty-year data centre leases match twenty-five-year generation assets
What it does not bringno data-centre operations, no customers, no carrier relationships, no cloud on-ramps

The last row is the one to watch. Building the building is the part ReNew is least equipped to do and the part everyone assumes it will do. A more likely eventual structure is ReNew owning the power and the land, with an operating partner owning the halls. That partner has not been named.

52028: start or completion?

The schedule is stated in four different ways across six outlets, which is worth recording precisely because the difference is years of revenue.

What each outlet says happens in 2028
OutletWording
Business StandardOperations expected to begin in 2028
ETDatacentersOperations are expected to commence by 2028
ETInfraDevelopment expected to commence in phases from 2028
BW BusinessworldDevelopment expected to begin in phases from 2028
ETSustainabilityBegin in phases from 2028
Indian InfrastructureDevelopment scheduled to begin in phases from 2028

Two readings: operations in 2028, or construction starting in 2028. ReNew has not published a phase schedule, a first-phase capacity, or a single commissioning date, so neither can be confirmed. The gap between the two readings is roughly three years of revenue.

Gridvik also notes a 2028 operations target is aggressive to the point of implausibility for a 750 MW programme with no parcels selected. India’s fastest large campuses take three to four years from land to first megawatt. A 2028 date implies land within months, a power sanction inside a year, and construction starting almost immediately — while four separate locations have to be assembled.

6Timeline

  • ReNew Wind Energy Private Limited signs the Maharashtra MoU for a proposed ₹70,000 crore, 750 MW integrated green data centre park across Panvel, Khalapur, Taloja and Bhokarpada, with 51% green power, two independent incoming feeders, 2028 operations and about 7,000 jobs claimed
  • Business Standard, ETDatacenters, ETInfra, ET Sustainability, BW Businessworld, KNN and Indian Infrastructure report the signing. Wording on 2028 diverges between operations and start of development
  • The state’s own pipeline coverage describes a ₹70,000 crore integrated data centre and IT/ITeS facility at Khalapur, which is a different scope description from the four-site park
  • No parcel, acreage, per-site capacity, power sanction, open-access approval, PPA, water allocation, financing or EPC contractor has been published

7Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 26 Oct 2026
What would be bought
Substations and two independent feeder paths, MV switchgear, transformers, chillers or dry coolers, water treatment, BMS and EPMS, plus renewable generation, storage and open-access infrastructure
The unusual part
Renewable generation and storage sit inside the same programme as the data halls. Very few Indian data-centre procurements include an EPC conversation about solar or wind capacity
Likely window
No date exists. If 2028 means operations, orders would need to be falling in 2027. If 2028 means start of development, orders move to 2028 and 2029
Decision stage
Pre-site. Four locations shortlisted, none secured
Who to approach
ReNew’s project development side for power and land; a future operating partner for halls, cooling and IT infrastructure. The second party has not been named and is the real opportunity
Quality of evidence
Medium on commercial structure, low on engineering. The 51% and feeder commitments show a power design exists in outline
Our confidence
High on capacity and value. Nil on site, schedule, phase sizing and the operating partner
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

8Assumptions and method

Every figure and where it comes from
FigureBasisConfidence
750 MWReNew statement via Business Standard and ETDatacenters. Basis not statedHigh as a claim
₹70,000 croreSame statement, repeated across six outletsHigh
₹93.3 crore per MWGridvik arithmetic: ₹70,000 crore ÷ 750 MWArithmetic
$7.92 billion₹70,000 crore ÷ 88.40. Coverage saying $7.3 billion implies ₹95.89 to the dollarArithmetic
382.5 MW green obligationGridvik arithmetic: 51% of 750 MW, assuming hourly matchingArithmetic with stated assumption
1,530 MW solar / 1,093 MW windGridvik arithmetic at 25% and 35% utilisation factorsArithmetic with stated assumptions
7,000 jobsCompany disclosure, including more than 2,000 directUnverified
2028Company statement. Outlets differ on operations versus start of developmentAmbiguous
Four locationsCompany statementHigh on names, zero on parcels

9Limits and open questions

What Gridvik will not do
We will not allocate megawatts to the four locations, estimate acreage as if published, or record a 2028 commissioning date. 750 MW enters no total.
First question
Who operates the data centres? A renewable generator with no data-centre operating history is unlikely to run 750 MW of AI-grade halls by itself
Second question
What does the ₹70,000 crore actually buy, and how much of it is data halls? The state pipeline describes an integrated data centre and IT/ITeS facility; the announcement describes a data centre park
Third question
Is 51% matched hourly or annually? It is the difference between needing about 1,530 MW of solar and buying certificates
Fourth question
Where are the four parcels, and is the 750 MW split between them or repeated at each? A park spread across Panvel, Khalapur, Taloja and Bhokarpada is not one connection
Why this record matters
It is the first large Indian data-centre announcement structured around generation rather than real estate, and that model is where a lot of the next wave of capacity will come from. Generators have the land, the grid relationships and the balance sheet
What changes the tier
A named parcel, an operating partner, a per-site capacity split, a power sanction, or a PPA. Any of those moves this to Tier B

10Sources

Sources: ReNew statement via Business Standard, ETDatacenters, ETInfra, ET Sustainability, BW Businessworld, KNN India, Indian Infrastructure, Energetica India, w.media, Convergence Now, PropNewsTime.