Get Free Teaser
Approved land allotment · Verified 26 Oct 2026

Reliance — Bhogapuram and Polipalli, Andhra PradeshReliance Industries Limited · Vizianagaram district · 1,500 MW proposed

Record PRJ-059Andhra Pradesh — Vizianagaram districtTier B — land allotted, contested14 public sources cross-checkedLand not fully acquired
Land contested855 acres, 25 heldCampus aggregateIncludes a cable landing station
1,500MW
Reported cluster
₹1.08lakh cr
Approved investment
854.97
Acres allotted
₹72cr
Per MW, including the CLS
Oct 2028
500 MW first phase target
43
Farmers in the High Court

On 20 May 2026 Andhra Pradesh approved the allotment of 854.97 acres in Vizianagaram district to Reliance Industries at a 25% discount for a giga-scale AI data centre cluster with a cable landing station, against a stated cumulative investment of ₹1,08,010 crore and a reported capacity of 1,500 MW. A 500 MW first phase at Polipalli is targeted for October 2028. The project is the largest data centre proposal in Andhra Pradesh and it is being built on agricultural land that the state does not yet control: the district collector said on 4 October that 25 acres are in government hands out of the 855 needed, and 43 farmers have challenged the government order in the High Court.

1At a glance

Proponent
Reliance Industries Limited
Approval
G.O. Ms. No. 30, IT, Electronics and Communications Department, Government of Andhra Pradesh, 20 May 2026. 854.97 acres allotted at a 25% discount, with the company to pay 75% of land cost to APIIC as acquisition proceeds
Capacity
1,500 MW reported for the whole cluster. IT versus utility basis is not stated. The 500 MW first phase and the later ~1 GW phase are nested, not additive
Investment
₹1,08,010 crore for the AI data centre and cable landing station as quoted in the G.O. A separate ₹51,300 crore associated renewable energy project is also reported, and an earlier combined headline of ₹1.6 lakh crore. Only the first figure is data-centre capex
Per megawatt
₹72 crore across 1,500 MW, including the cable landing station — which is not a megawatt asset, so the data-centre-only rate is lower
Location
Polipalli, Bhogapuram East and Bhogapuram West villages, Vizianagaram district, near the new Bhogapuram international airport built by GMR
Phase plan
500 MW at Polipalli targeted October 2028; a further ~1 GW at Bhogapuram East and West by 2030. Reported plans, not verified construction dates
Land status
Incomplete and contested. The collector said on 4 October 2026 that government holds 25 of about 855 acres. A separate June 2026 report describes 266 acres acquired, affecting 520 farmers, with 52 assigned-land compensation claims unresolved. The two accounts do not reconcile
Litigation
43 farmers from both villages challenged the allotment in the Andhra Pradesh High Court under the 2013 land acquisition law. The court sought a full response from the state on 29 July 2026
Jobs
Not stated in the reviewed approvals
Additivity
Flagged unresolved. Not summed with other Andhra Pradesh records until scope is formally reconciled

2855 acres, 25 held

This is the most concrete obstacle in the registry, and it is measured in acres rather than in megawatts.

Required for the project854.97 acres approved for allotment855 acReported acquireda June 2026 compensation report266 acIn government handsper the district collector, 4 October 202625 acThe two land accounts do not reconcile: one official says 25 acres are held, another reporting line says 266 are acquired. Both are in the record.
Figure 1Three numbers from three official or reported statements within five months. They describe the same transaction and they do not agree.
Who said what about the land
DateSourceStatement
20 May 2026G.O. Ms. No. 30854.97 acres approved for allotment to Reliance at a 25% discount, land to pass through APIIC
8 June 2026Reporting on compensationAbout 266 acres acquired for the project, affecting 520 farmers, with 52 assigned-land holders still unresolved
29–30 July 2026Andhra Pradesh High Court43 farmers challenge the order. The state tells the court it will take land only if required, with consent or under the Act
3 October 2026The Hindu, quoting officialsThe government has around 50 acres; about 800 acres must be acquired. Around 250 acres are assigned land that farmers cannot sell to private parties but the government can resume with compensation
4 October 2026Vizianagaram district collectorThe government has 25 acres and must acquire the remaining 830 from private owners. Most farmers are cooperating; a few have approached the court
7 October 2026Deccan ChronicleFarmers renew protest, submitting a memorandum to the tahsildar against acquiring fertile agricultural land

The discrepancy between 25 and 50 acres is a detail. The discrepancy between 25 and 266 is not: one account says the state has almost nothing and another says a fifth of the land is already taken. Until a revenue record is published, both belong in the archive and neither belongs in a plan.

What matters for anyone timing this project is the shape of the problem. A 1,500 MW cluster on 855 acres needs contiguous land. Assigned land cannot be sold to a private party, so about 250 of those acres can only be delivered through resumption and compensation, which is a slower and more contested process than a purchase. That is a legal dependency, not a commercial one, and no amount of MoU goodwill removes it.

The thing that is not in any press release

The land is being acquired under the 2013 Act, with the statutory social impact assessment and public consultation that the petitioners say were skipped.

If the High Court agrees, the order returns to the state. That would put a 2028 first-phase target out of reach without anyone in the project doing anything wrong.

3What ₹1.08 lakh crore covers

Reliance is the one proponent in this registry large enough that nobody asks whether the money exists. The useful questions are different: what the money is for, and whether the number survives division.

The three numbers that circulate as one
FigureWhat it isMust not be used as
₹1,08,010 croreAI data centre plus cable landing station, as quoted in the G.O.a data-centre-only rate per megawatt
₹51,300 croreassociated renewable energy project, separately reporteddata centre capex
about ₹1.6 lakh crorethe combined headline that appeared in earlier coveragea single project value

₹1,08,010 crore across 1,500 MW is ₹72 crore a megawatt. That is at the top of the observed build band, which is where it should be: the number includes a cable landing station, an asset that produces international connectivity and no megawatts at all, and one that costs a great deal relative to its size.

Strip the CLS out and the data-centre rate lands inside the band. That is a reasonable inference and it is not a recorded figure — no split has been published. What is clear is that the ₹72 crore per megawatt should not be read as expensive capacity. This is the rare case where a high headline rate has an obvious physical explanation.

The renewables figure is the more interesting one for suppliers. ₹51,300 crore of generation behind a 1.5 GW campus is the largest embedded power programme in the registry, and it is not part of the data-centre approval. It is a separate project that will be financed, permitted and built on its own timeline.

4Why the cable landing station matters

Almost every Indian data centre competes on power, land and proximity to a city. This one adds the thing that cannot be replicated anywhere inland: a landing point for international submarine cable.

Bhogapuram is on the Andhra coast with an international airport next door. A cable landing station there means the campus can terminate international capacity without routing it through Chennai or Mumbai — and it is the state’s stated intent that Andhra Pradesh gets its own international gateway rather than buying transit from Tamil Nadu.

What a CLS changes commercially
DimensionA campus in a metroA campus at a landing station
Latency to global marketsone hop through a metro exchangedirect
Wholesale capacity costmetro transit and backhaultermination at source
Tenant profiledomestic enterprise, hyperscaleadds international cloud, content and carrier tenants
Anchor riskmany comparable campusesvery few coastal sites with land, power and an airport
What it does not solve—power, water, land, construction, or customers on day one

The strategic value is real and it is also the reason to discount the schedule. A CLS requires a submarine cable to land there, which requires a consortium, a marine survey, permits and a ship. None of that is in the public record. The G.O. approves land for the campus and directs that one additional acre be identified for the CLS — which tells you how early the connectivity piece still is.

5Land, law and the assigned-land problem

Andhra Pradesh is moving faster than any other state in this registry and is doing so on farmland. That is the central tension of this record and it is worth setting out plainly.

The mechanics, and why they are slow
ItemPosition
Land typeFertile, irrigated multi-crop agricultural land supporting thousands of people, per the petitioners. The state says compensation will be at market rates under the 2013 Act
Assigned landAbout 250 acres. Assigned land is granted by the state to landless farmers on condition it is not sold. The state can resume it with compensation — after which it is no longer the farmer’s
ConsentThe state told the High Court it will take land only if required, with consent or by due process. That is a weaker commitment than an outright purchase
Compensation disputes52 assigned-land holders and unresolved discrepancies in survey and revenue records, per June 2026 reporting
Litigation43 farmers, a High Court petition, and a state response ordered in July 2026. No final outcome is in the public record
What nobody has publishedA land schedule, an acquisition timetable, or a completion certificate for the assembly

None of this means the project will not happen. Reliance has the balance sheet to wait, the state has political reason to deliver, and compensation at market rates is a strong incentive for most landowners. But a 500 MW phase targeted for October 2028 requires a filled site within months, not years, and the land is not yet assembled.

Gridvik records the project as approved with land contested. Not delayed, because no revised date has been given; not on schedule, because the precondition has not been met.

6Timeline

  • First public reporting of the Reliance proposal at Polipalli and Bhogapuram, with the cluster described as giga-scale and including a cable landing station
  • G.O. Ms. No. 30 approves allotment of 854.97 acres to Reliance Industries at a 25% discount, against ₹1,08,010 crore of cumulative investment for the AI data centre and cable landing station. APIIC directed to identify one further acre for the CLS
  • Farmers of Polipalli and Bhogapuram object and petition against the order. Reporting in June describes about 266 acres acquired, 520 farmers affected and 52 assigned-land compensation claims unresolved
  • The Andhra Pradesh High Court seeks a detailed response from the state on a petition by 43 farmers challenging the allotment under the 2013 land acquisition law. The state says it will take land only if required
  • Fresh protests at Bhogapuram. The district collector says government holds 25 acres of the 855 needed and must acquire 830 from private owners, and that most farmers are cooperating
  • No construction start, no final court outcome, no revised phase schedule and no published land schedule exist

7Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 26 Oct 2026
What will be bought
At 1.5 GW the bill of materials is the largest single package in the registry: HV substations and transmission works, MV distribution, chillers and cooling plant, transformers by the hundred, BMS and EPMS, fire suppression, plus a separate cable landing station package
Why the CLS is a separate sale
Submarine line terminal equipment, power feed equipment, subsea vendor liaison and marine works are bought by a different team with a different vendor list from the data halls
Renewables
₹51,300 crore of associated generation is reported. That is a power project procurement, not a data centre one
Likely window
No equipment dates exist. A 500 MW phase targeted for October 2028 would require orders for long-lead substation and transmission items in 2027. Land assembly is the gate
Decision stage
Land. Approved, contested, not assembled
Who to approach
Reliance corporate projects and procurement. This is a professional buyer that runs large capital programmes continuously and will not be reached by a cold approach to a state official
Quality of evidence
High on the approval and the land order, because the G.O. exists. Low on schedule and phase scope
Our confidence
High on 854.97 acres and ₹1,08,010 crore. Medium on 1,500 MW, which is reported rather than approved
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

8Assumptions and method

Every figure and where it comes from
FigureBasisConfidence
₹1,08,010 croreG.O. Ms. No. 30, as quoted across ET, Moneycontrol, Express Computer and the order textHigh
854.97 acresSame G.O. The order text also contains a reference to 853.97 acres, which appears to be a typographical inconsistency in the sourceHigh, with a noted inconsistency
25% land discountSame G.O.High
1,500 MWSecondary reporting. Not in the G.O. Basis not statedMedium
₹72 crore per MWGridvik arithmetic: ₹1,08,010 crore ÷ 1,500 MW, including the CLSArithmetic, not recorded
₹51,300 crore renewablesET reporting, separate from the G.O. figureMedium
25 / 50 / 266 acresCollector statement, The Hindu official quote, and June compensation reporting respectively. Retained side by side because they conflictAll retained, none reconciled
500 MW by October 2028Reported phasingReported plan
Not additiveOverlap with other Andhra Pradesh records is unresolvedRecorded as a rule

9Limits and open questions

What Gridvik will not do
We will not add the 1,500 MW to any state total, merge it with the Digital Connexion or Google Andhra records, or treat the ₹1.6 lakh crore headline as project capex. Nothing is built.
First question
Will the land be assembled, and on what timetable? Everything else in this record is downstream of that
Second question
Who is the tenant? A 1.5 GW cluster with a cable landing station implies international hyperscale and carrier demand. No customer, no anchor tenant and no capacity offtake has been named
Third question
What is the power plan? APTRANSCO facilitation is mentioned and ₹51,300 crore of renewables is reported separately. No connection agreement, no generation site and no open-access approval is public
Fourth question
Is the capacity basis IT load or utility load? On a 1.5 GW figure the difference is roughly 20%, which is several hundred megawatts
Why this record matters
It is the largest land-backed data centre approval in the country and it is sitting on farmland with a court case attached. That combination will decide whether Andhra Pradesh’s AI ambitions arrive in 2028 or in the 2030s
What changes the tier
A final court outcome, a completed land assembly, a construction start, a named tenant, or a published phase capacity

10Sources

Sources: Government of Andhra Pradesh G.O. Ms. No. 30, Economic Times, ETTelecom, Moneycontrol, The Hindu, New Indian Express, Deccan Chronicle, Express Computer, Times of India, Medianama, Andhra Pradesh IT Department.