Princeton Digital Group began construction on MU2 in Navi Mumbai in April 2026: a single five-storey building on 10 acres carrying 120 MW of critical IT capacity across 18,880 square metres of colocation space. That last pair of numbers is the most useful thing on this page. One hundred and twenty megawatts in 18,880 square metres is 6.4 kilowatts per square metre, four to six times what conventional Indian colocation delivers — and it is a measurable definition of what the industry means when it says AI-ready. No delivery date has been published. The 120 MW is part of PDG’s 210 MW March 2026 Mumbai and Hyderabad acquisition and is not additive to it.
1At a glance
26.4 kilowatts a square metre
Every operator in this registry says its new capacity is AI-ready. Very few publish the two numbers that let you check: megawatts and square metres. PDG has published both.
| Measure | Value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Critical IT capacity | 120 MW | company and trade coverage |
| Colocation area | 18,880 m² | company site |
| Power per square metre | 6.4 kW/m² | 120,000 kW ÷ 18,880 m² |
| Power per square foot | about 590 W | for readers who work in feet |
| Conventional Indian colocation | 1.0 to 1.5 kW/m² | 5 to 10 kW racks at standard aisle widths |
| This building against that | 4 to 6 times | the entire difference between air-cooled colo and an AI hall |
| Implied rack density at 5 m² a rack | about 30 kW | a conservative mid-point for liquid-cooled halls |
| Implied rack density at 2.5 m² a rack | about 16 kW | dense layout, air-assisted |
That gives suppliers something the press release does not. A 6.4 kW/m² building cannot be cooled with conventional perimeter CRAC units and cannot be powered through a conventional floor grid. It needs in-row or rear-door cooling at minimum and liquid distribution if the racks go above roughly 30 kW. The floor loading, the cable containment and the fire suppression are all different.
It also explains the building form. Five storeys on 10 acres is the only way to fit 120 MW in that footprint: 24 MW a floor, about 3,776 square metres a floor, which is a big floorplate by Indian standards but not unusual for a hyperscale shell. A single-storey 120 MW building would need several times the land.
When an Indian operator says AI-ready, ask for megawatts and square metres. Divide one by the other. Under 2 kW a square metre is conventional colocation with better marketing; above 5 is a genuinely different building.
PDG MU2 is the only record in this registry that lets you run that test.
3MU2 inside a 1 GW platform
The 120 MW is a site. It is also a line inside two larger numbers, and neither is additive to it.
| Number | What it is | Relationship to MU2 |
|---|---|---|
| 120 MW | MU2 as a site | the record |
| 210 MW | March 2026 acquisition across Mumbai and Hyderabad | MU2 is 120 of it. Do not add |
| about 1 GW | PDG’s India operating and planned portfolio after the acquisition | MU2 is 12% of it. Do not add |
The arithmetic inside the 1 GW claim is worth keeping visible. MU1 at Navi Mumbai is 150 MW once its expansion completes, MU2 is 120, Hyderabad HY1 is 90 and Chennai CH1 is 72. That is 432 MW of named capacity. The remaining 568 MW is not attached to any announced site, which is normal for a platform that intends to buy more land and equally a reason not to treat 1 GW as a pipeline.
For a supplier, the useful reading is that PDG has a genuinely repeatable design. MU1 is a 50-acre park in Airoli with a five-building plan. MU2 is a single five-storey building on 10 acres. Chennai CH1 is three buildings, Hyderabad HY1 is three buildings. Four sites, all multi-building, all in the same corridor logic, all with the same operator and the same specifiers.
4What is missing: a date
This is the one important gap. Construction started in April 2026 and no ready-for-service date has been published by the company.
Three stages are evidenced. The three that decide revenue are not. Third-party trackers list the site as planned for 2027 with expansions through 2029, and that is their inference rather than a company commitment.
What can be said with confidence is the shape of the programme: a five-storey shell in a live data centre corridor, on land acquired and approved before construction, with power reportedly secured. Those are the two constraints that usually delay Indian data centres, and both appear to have been dealt with. That makes a 2027 energisation plausible without being promised.
The tenant question is open in a different way. PDG is carrier-neutral and builds for hyperscalers; the 120 MW MU2 building has not been pre-let to anyone publicly. A single 120 MW building is the size of one hyperscaler’s regional footprint, and it is unlikely to be built without a named anchor. Nobody has named one.
5Power, and the time-matched green claim
This record contains something almost no other Indian data centre does: a time-matched clean energy arrangement rather than an annual certificate purchase.
| Item | Position |
|---|---|
| Power status | The March 2026 acquisition release states power is secured and key land approvals are in place |
| Renewable arrangement | A 25-year power consumption agreement with Tata Power Renewable Energy for solar generated in Nanded district, Maharashtra |
| Matching basis | A partnership with Flexidao to implement time-matched carbon-free energy at the Mumbai campus |
| Why time-matching matters | Annual matching can be satisfied by buying certificates generated at noon for a load that runs at midnight. Hourly matching means the electrons line up with the load. It is materially harder and materially more expensive |
| What is not disclosed | Volume, tariff, capacity of the solar project, storage, open-access approval, and how much of MU2’s 120 MW the arrangement covers |
In this registry, "51% green" appears in at least four separate announcements with no generation, no PPA and no matching basis attached. PDG has named a generator, a district and a matching methodology. That still is not a contract for 120 MW — no volume has been published — but it is a different class of claim.
The honest caution is that a 25-year power consumption agreement with a solar generator cannot cover 120 MW around the clock without storage or a balancing arrangement. Time-matched supply for a flat data centre load needs either storage, a portfolio of technologies, or grid supply that is clean at the hour it is consumed. None of those details are public.
6Timeline
- PDG raises more than $1.2 billion in financing, including $800 million of project financing for AI-ready campuses in Mumbai and two other geographies
- PDG announces a multi-site India acquisition adding 210 MW across Mumbai and Hyderabad, taking its Indian operating and planned capacity to about 1 GW and its total India commitment to about $2.5 billion. Land for MU2 acquired
- Groundbreaking ceremony for MU2. Exact date not disclosed
- Construction confirmed as commenced. DCD reports 120 MW, 10 acres, five storeys and 18,880 sqm of colocation space
- W.Media and other trade coverage describes MU2 as part of PDG’s expansion toward a 1 GW India portfolio
- No ready-for-service date, no tenant, no project capex and no power volume published. Construction status last confirmed in April 2026
7Procurement
8Assumptions and method
| Figure | Basis | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
| 120 MW IT capacity | PDG India locations page and its LinkedIn announcement, repeated by DCD, W.Media, Baxtel and DataCenterMap | High |
| 18,880 m² colocation | PDG India locations page | High |
| 10 acres, five storeys | PDG page and DCD | High |
| 6.4 kW per m² | Gridvik arithmetic: 120,000 kW ÷ 18,880 m² | Arithmetic |
| About 590 W per square foot | Same arithmetic in imperial units | Arithmetic |
| 210 MW acquisition | PDG release of 24 March 2026 | High, but the allocation to MU2 is not stated |
| 432 MW of named sites | Gridvik addition of MU1 150, MU2 120, HY1 90 and CH1 72 | Arithmetic |
| 568 MW unnamed balance | Gridvik arithmetic: 1,000 less 432 | Arithmetic |
| April 2026 construction start | Company announcement and trade coverage. Groundbreaking date itself not published | High |
| 2027 delivery | Third-party tracker inference, not a company statement | Low, and not recorded |
| Time-matched CFE | PDG partnership announcement with Flexidao and Tata Power Renewables | Medium — no volume or contract disclosed |
9Limits and open questions
10Sources
Sources: Princeton Digital Group India locations page, PDG 210 MW acquisition release, PDG LinkedIn announcement, Data Center Dynamics, W.Media, Baxtel, DataCenterMap, DataCenterLocations, DCPulse, Blackridge Research, DataM Intelligence, Flexidao and Tata Power Renewables announcements.
