On 5 September 2026 HyperVault, the AI data centre subsidiary of TCS, announced it had secured 264 acres at Bharat Future City in Hyderabad for a campus of up to 1 GW, with up to ₹70,000 crore of investment from HyperVault and its partners. Divide one by the other and it is ₹70 crore a megawatt — exactly the top of the band at which Indian capacity has actually been built, which makes this the cleanest large number in the registry. Two things are more important than the headline. The committed equity is ₹18,000 crore from TCS and TPG, a quarter of the ceiling. And the design rack density is above 170 kW, which is the highest stated figure in the country and changes what this building is.
1At a glance
2₹70 crore a megawatt — the number that holds
The registry contains many large rupee figures that fail their first division. This one passes, and the reason is worth understanding.
| Test | Result | Reading |
|---|---|---|
| ₹70,000 crore ÷ 1,000 MW | ₹70 crore | the top of the ₹52 to ₹70 crore band |
| What 1 GW costs at ₹52 crore a megawatt | ₹52,000 crore | the floor |
| What 1 GW costs at ₹70 crore a megawatt | ₹70,000 crore | exactly the announced ceiling |
| Margin for GPUs | none inside the ceiling | compute would be a further multiple and is not in this figure |
| Conclusion | the rupee ceiling and the capacity were calculated together | which almost no other announcement in this registry manages |
Two caveats belong next to the praise. First, ₹70 crore a megawatt is the top of the band, which is where a campus with 170 kW racks should sit — the electrical and cooling plant per megawatt is far heavier than in a conventional hall. Second, the ceiling excludes the GPUs. A 1 GW AI campus with accelerators inside would cost several times ₹70,000 crore, and none of that is in the figure.
This is the counterpart to the SentraForge record at ₹188.6 crore a megawatt and the ReNew record at ₹93.3. Those are not worse projects; their rupee figures buy more than data halls. HyperVault’s figure buys a very expensive building and nothing else, which is what a data centre number should look like.
3₹18,000 crore inside ₹70,000 crore
The single most important caveat in this record is that the headline is a ceiling and the committed money is a quarter of it.
| Item | Amount | Status |
|---|---|---|
| TCS equity | ₹9,180 crore | committed, November 2025 |
| TPG equity | ₹8,820 crore | committed, November 2025 |
| Committed equity, total | ₹18,000 crore | 25.7% of the ceiling |
| Announced investment ceiling | ₹70,000 crore | contingent on customer demand, phased |
| Implied debt and partner capital | about ₹52,000 crore | not committed, to be raised phase by phase |
| What that means per phase | roughly ₹18,000 crore of equity funds 250 MW | at ₹70 crore a megawatt, before any debt |
This is a normal and sensible structure for a data centre build. No operator funds 1 GW of speculative capacity from equity. What matters is that the market reads ₹70,000 crore as a commitment when the company has committed ₹18,000 crore and described the rest as dependent on demand.
There is also a strategic asymmetry worth noting. TCS is not a data centre operator by history — it is the largest Indian IT services company, with an existing business selling exactly the managed services that sit on top of this capacity. That gives HyperVault something no colocation developer has: a distribution channel that already sells to the world’s largest enterprises. It is also why the OpenAI relationship exists.
The risk sits in the same place. A captive channel can fill capacity, and it can also mean the capacity is priced internally rather than at market rates. No pricing, tenancy or utilisation has been disclosed.
41 GW at 170 kW a rack
Rack density is the number that separates an AI campus from a data centre with AI on the brochure. TCS has given a specific one, and it is the highest in this registry.
| Measure | Value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Stated design density | above 170 kW a rack | TCS executive at the announcement |
| Racks at 1 GW | about 5,880 | 1,000,000 kW ÷ 170 kW |
| Racks at 1 GW, conventional 8 kW colo | 125,000 | the same capacity at 16 times the rack count |
| Cooling | direct-to-chip liquid | stated. Air cannot remove 170 kW from a cabinet |
| What changes in the building | coolant distribution, high-amperage busway, heavier floor loading, closed-loop heat rejection | a different bill of materials from any Indian campus built before 2024 |
| Floor area | not disclosed | 264 acres is the site, not the building |
| Comparable in this registry | PDG MU2 at about 6.4 kW per square metre; CoreWeave Taloja at 100 to 160 kW a rack | 170 kW is at the top of the global range, not the Indian one |
About 5,880 racks is the arithmetic that matters for anyone selling into this project. It is a small number of very large, very expensive racks, and it means the buying pattern is nothing like a colocation campus. Five thousand racks of conventional equipment is a procurement programme with dozens of suppliers. Five thousand liquid-cooled 170 kW racks is a handful of very large contracts.
The other detail in the record is the AMD collaboration announced in February 2026, covering an AI-ready rack-scale design on AMD’s Helios platform with a blueprint supporting up to 200 MW. That does not make AMD the exclusive silicon — the customer list is described as frontier AI companies and hyperscalers — but it tells you whose reference design the early phases are being drawn around.
5264 acres and a date the state chose
A 1 GW campus on 264 acres is a land-intensive object: 3.8 MW an acre, which is low-density by Indian standards and is what you get when you leave room for substations, water and phased shells on a big parcel.
| Commitment | Made by | Strength |
|---|---|---|
| 264 acres secured | HyperVault, in its own release | the strongest item in the record |
| Up to 1 GW | HyperVault | a design ceiling |
| Up to ₹70,000 crore | HyperVault and partners | a ceiling contingent on demand |
| Inauguration on 2 June 2028 | Telangana chief minister, requested of TCS | a state request, not a company commitment |
| 7,000 direct and indirect jobs | state announcement | a projection at full build |
| Green energy and water-neutral design | HyperVault | a design claim with no generation, PPA or water source attached |
| Beat five competing states | Telangana officials | a competitive claim that cannot be verified |
The date deserves particular care because of how it arose. 2 June 2028 was not announced by the company. It was requested by the chief minister at the meeting, and it coincides with Telangana Formation Day. A political date and an engineering date are different objects, and the record should show which one this is.
The project also has a Davos origin — discussions between the chief minister and Tata Sons chairman N Chandrasekaran in January 2026 — which tells you the state courting was at the highest level and that the land, rather than the capital, was the prize. Bharat Future City is a state-developed node, so the land is being provided as part of a wider urban plan rather than bought on the open market.
6Who the tenant is
This is the most consequential open question in the record, and part of the answer is already public.
| Item | Position |
|---|---|
| Named customer relationship | OpenAI committed to 100 MW of HyperVault capacity under the Stargate initiative, announced February 2026. That is a customer commitment, not a building |
| Named anchor for Hyderabad | None. The campus has not been pre-let and no tenant has been announced for any phase |
| Target customer type | frontier AI companies, hyperscalers and global enterprises, for training, inference and agentic workloads |
| Channel | TCS’s existing enterprise relationships and the ChatGPT Enterprise rollout across Tata companies |
| Phase 1 size and date | Not disclosed |
| Monetisation guidance | initial monetisation indicated for FY28, meaningful contribution from FY29 |
| Concentration risk | if OpenAI is the anchor, one customer that has signed letters of intent rather than leases elsewhere sets the pace of the whole campus |
A 1 GW campus does not get built on letters of intent. It gets built in tranches of 100 to 200 MW, each justified by a signed lease, and the public record does not contain one for this site.
The counterweight is that TCS is an unusually well-hedged developer. It has an existing services business that can fill capacity through its own contracts, a named AI customer in OpenAI, a design partnership with AMD and a balance sheet that can carry an empty phase through a soft quarter. Very few Indian data centre developers have any of those things.
100 MW of OpenAI demand inside a 1 GW campus means the campus is 10% pre-committed on a public relationship and 90% speculative.
That is not a criticism. It is the honest starting position for every large Indian AI campus in this registry, and the only one that has been stated plainly.
7Timeline
- The TCS board approves a ₹7.5 crore capital infusion to create HyperVault AI Data Center Limited as a wholly owned subsidiary, formalised in December 2025
- TCS and TPG commit up to ₹18,000 crore to fund the HyperVault AI data centre business, with TPG contributing up to ₹8,820 crore
- Telangana chief minister A Revanth Reddy and Tata Sons chairman N Chandrasekaran discuss the project at the World Economic Forum in Davos
- A collaboration with AMD is announced covering an AI-ready rack-scale design on the AMD Helios platform, with a blueprint supporting up to 200 MW. OpenAI commits to 100 MW of HyperVault capacity under Stargate
- HyperVault announces 264 acres secured at Bharat Future City for a campus of up to 1 GW, with up to ₹70,000 crore of investment from HyperVault and partners, rack density above 170 kW, and about 7,000 jobs. The chief minister asks for inauguration on 2 June 2028
- National and trade coverage, including Moneycontrol, ET, Reuters, Times of India and Newminute, reports the announcement. Telangana says it beat five other states
- No phase size, phase date, EPC contractor, power sanction, water allocation, tenant or construction start is in the public domain
8Procurement
9Assumptions and method
| Figure | Basis | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
| 264 acres | HyperVault press release of 5 September 2026 | High |
| Up to 1 GW | Same release. A design ceiling, phased against demand | High as a ceiling |
| Up to ₹70,000 crore | Same release, attributed to HyperVault and its partners | High as a ceiling, not as committed capital |
| ₹70 crore per MW | Gridvik arithmetic: ₹70,000 crore ÷ 1,000 MW | Arithmetic |
| ₹18,000 crore committed equity | TCS and TPG announcement of November 2025, with TCS at ₹9,180 crore and TPG at ₹8,820 crore | High |
| 25.7% | Gridvik arithmetic: ₹18,000 crore ÷ ₹70,000 crore | Arithmetic |
| above 170 kW a rack | TCS executive, quoted in Newminute, 6 September 2026 | Statement, not a specification |
| about 5,880 racks | Gridvik arithmetic: 1,000,000 kW ÷ 170 kW | Arithmetic with a stated assumption |
| 3.8 MW an acre | Gridvik arithmetic: 1,000 MW ÷ 264 acres | Arithmetic |
| 2 June 2028 | Requested by the Telangana chief minister, not announced by the company | Political target |
| 100 MW OpenAI | Customer commitment of February 2026. Not a phase of this campus | Recorded as a customer commitment |
10Limits and open questions
11Sources
Sources: TCS press release of 5 September 2026, Telangana government announcement, Moneycontrol, Economic Times, Times of India, Reuters, The News Minute, Medianama, Analytics India Magazine, ICICI Direct, Progressive Robot, Elets eGov, Superpower Daily.
