Nxtra CHE 2 — Siruseri, ChennaiNxtra by Airtel · Siruseri 1, SIPCOT IT Park, Chennai · 4 MW listed IT power
Record PRJ-065Tamil Nadu — Siruseri, ChennaiTier D — listed only4 public sources checkedAdditive: no
Stage unverifiedNo commissioning dateFacilityInside the city aggregate
4MW
Listed IT power
8.7%
Of the Chennai portfolio
Siruseri
Location
—
Commissioning date
—
Rack count
No
Additive to 46 MW
CHE 2, also called Siruseri 1, is listed by Nxtra by Airtel at 4 MW of IT power in Siruseri, Chennai. It is the second smallest of the operator’s four Chennai facilities and about 8.7% of the 46 MW city portfolio. That is the whole of the public record. There is no commissioning date, no rack count, no customer, no floor area and no statement of whether the building is live. This page is short because the evidence is short, and inventing the rest would make it worthless.
1At a glance
Operator
Nxtra Data Limited, the data centre subsidiary of Bharti Airtel
Facility
CHE 2, named on the operator’s site as Siruseri 1
Location
Siruseri, in the SIPCOT IT Park south of Chennai, the same estate as the larger Nxtra buildings and a cluster of other operators
Listed capacity
4 MW of IT power, per the operator’s facility card
Share of the city
about 8.7% of the 46 MW the operator reports across Chennai
Status
Stage unverified. The card does not state whether the facility is live, being commissioned or planned
Not disclosed
Commissioning date, rack count, rack density, floor area, customer, PUE or power source
Additivity
Not additive. It sits inside the Chennai city aggregate and must not be added to it
24 MW against the rest of Chennai
Figure 1The four Chennai facility cards as published. CHE 2 is the small one in the middle of the portfolio — a building that matters to a local supplier and not to anyone sizing a market.
Four megawatts is a real building. At the density Nxtra builds, it is a few hundred racks serving tenants who want to be in the SIPCOT estate and near the east coast cable landings. It is the kind of facility that hosts enterprise production systems for a decade and never appears in a market forecast.
It is also the size of facility that makes up most of India’s data centre count. The registry’s headline capacity is dominated by a handful of gigawatt-scale announcements; the installed base is mostly buildings like this one. Anyone selling into India who only tracks mega-campuses will miss the majority of the sites.
Why a 4 MW page exists
Because a registry that only records the large announcements is a press-release archive, not a market record. A 4 MW site in Siruseri is an asset that exists, has a customer, and buys equipment.
It is recorded at the depth the evidence supports and no further.
3What we refuse to invent
Commissioning date
Not published. The card lists the facility without a date, and no coverage of a CHE 2 launch was located. Gridvik will not infer one from the CHE 3 or DC 3 timelines
Rack count and density
Not published. The 5 kW a rack figure used elsewhere in this registry comes from a different building and is not applied here
Live or planned
Not stated. The record stays at stage unverified rather than assuming the building is operational because it appears on a website
Customer
Not published. Nxtra does not name tenants for any Chennai facility
Revenue
Not separable. Nxtra reports as one segment and does not publish city or facility revenue
Floor area and land
Not published
Power source
Not published for this building. Nxtra’s platform-level renewable arrangements are not attributable to a single site
4Timeline
CHE 2 / Siruseri 1 appears on the operator’s Chennai page with a 4 MW IT power card. No commissioning or launch announcement has been located for this specific facility
The Chennai page reports 46 MW in total across four facilities, against a 49 MW sum of the individual cards
No stage change, no date and no additional detail in the public record
5Limits and open questions
What this record is
A facility listing with a published capacity. Nothing more
What it is not
Evidence of live capacity, evidence of a commission date, or evidence of a customer
The one question worth asking
Is CHE 2 operating? A two-line answer from the operator would move this record from Tier D to Tier A, and it is the only fact that would materially change the page
What changes the tier
A commissioning statement, a rack count, or a customer reference
6Sources
Sources: Nxtra Chennai data centre page, Nxtra by Airtel site, DataCenterMap Chennai facility listings, Airtel FY26 annual report.