Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

Nxtra PUN 2 — Hinjewadi 1, PuneNxtra by Airtel · Rajiv Gandhi Infotech Park Phase 3, Hinjewadi, Pune 411057 · 17 MW listed IT power, 4,000 racks

Record PRJ-080Maharashtra — Hinjewadi, PuneTier D — listed only8 public sources checkedAdditive: yes, within the Pune cluster
Stage unverifiedReconciles to the 2021 campus figureFacilityPUE published
17MW
Listed IT power
4,000
Racks
4.25kW
Per rack
1.55
Declared PUE ceiling
21MW
The Hinjewadi pair
34%
Of Pune cluster power

PUN 2 at Hinjewadi is listed by Nxtra by Airtel at 17 MW of IT power across 4,000 racks — 4.25 kW a rack, PUE below 1.55. It is the largest cabinet count in Pune. It is also the building that settles a five-year-old question: in 2021 the operator described a Pune campus of 21 MW across 2,200 racks. Today the two Hinjewadi cards add to exactly 21 MW — and 5,000 racks. The power never changed. The cabinets more than doubled.

1At a glance

Operator
Nxtra Data Limited, the data centre subsidiary of Bharti Airtel
Facility
PUN 2, Rajiv Gandhi Infotech Park Phase 3, Hinjewadi, Pune 411057
Listed capacity
17 MW of IT power across 4,000 racks
Density
4.25 kW a rack
Efficiency
Declared PUE below 1.55
Position in cluster
Second of four Pune cards at 34% of the cluster’s power and the largest by cabinet count
Status
Stage unverified on the operator’s card. Directory listings describe the site as commissioned, with no leaseable power under construction
Not disclosed
Commissioning date, current load, floor area, tenant list and water source
Additivity
Additive within Nxtra’s 49.5 MW Pune cluster

2The same megawatts, twice the cabinets

In December 2021, in the disclosure around a $673 million Nxtra expansion programme, the company described its Pune II facility as 21 MW of IT power across 2,200 racks and 200,000 square feet. Five years later the operator’s own page lists two Hinjewadi buildings: 17 MW across 4,000 racks and 4 MW across 1,000 racks.

Pune Hinjewadi, 2021 and 2026
Measure2021 disclosure2026 cardsChange
IT power21 MW17 + 4 = 21 MWnone
Racks2,2004,000 + 1,000 = 5,000+127%
Average density9.5 kW4.2 kW−56%
Floor area200,000 sq ftnot stated—
Buildingsone campustwo named buildingssplit

Nothing here is a contradiction. A campus of a stated power can be divided into two buildings and fitted with more, smaller cabinets over time, and 21 MW stays 21 MW. What changed is the product. A 9.5 kW average cabinet in 2021 was a modern, fairly dense hall; a 4.2 kW average in 2026 is a hall being sold to enterprises that buy small.

That is the useful inference, and it cuts against the AI narrative. While the company announces AI campuses with racks up to 130 kW, its existing Pune capacity has moved in the opposite direction — toward more cabinets at lower average density. The megawatts are the same; the revenue per megawatt is not, because low-density cabinets earn less per kilowatt than dense ones.

Why the rack count matters more than the megawatts

17 MW is a number a lender can underwrite. 4,000 racks is a number an operator can monetise, because cabinets are what customers rent.

Same power, 127% more units of sale: that is a revenue decision, not an engineering one.

3Hinjewadi Phase 3

Hinjewadi is Pune’s software park — the Rajiv Gandhi Infotech Park, three phases of it, twenty kilometres west of the city centre and roughly 29 kilometres from the airport. The data centre buildings sit inside the campus rather than on a dedicated site, which shapes what they are: enterprise colocation, not hyperscale shells.

The buildings around it
NeighbourCapacityWhat it tells you
Nxtra PUN 34 MW, 1,000 racksthe second Hinjewadi card, paired with this one
Nxtra PUN 424 MW, 2,500 racksthe densest Pune card, in the same park
Iron Mountain PUN 12 MW, 3,500 m²a carrier-neutral hall with more than 100 customers, in the same corridor
NES Data5 MW built, 60 MW planneda new entrant buying land in the park for a campus of up to 60 MW
Microsoft16.4 acres purchasedland for a campus of about a million square feet and 12,500 racks, announced
STT Punecampus, two buildingsthe incumbent that shares the city with Nxtra

The neighbourhood is the argument for Pune. Three separate operators are building or planning inside one industrial park — Nxtra at 49.5 MW of cards, NES Data toward 60 MW, and Microsoft on sixteen acres. Pune is not a secondary market; it is a land-constrained one, and the constraint is the reason the density is climbing on the newest buildings.

417 MW in context

Where this card sits in the estate
MeasureValue
Nxtra Pune cluster49.5 MW across 8,750 racks
This building17 MW, 34% of the cluster
Nxtra’s five large clusters250.4 MW of facility cards
Operator’s national headline230+ MW of total power, 66 cities, 120+ edge sites
Share of national headlineabout 6%, on one building
Nxtra valuation basis$1 billion raised at about $3.1 billion, March 2026
Implied value per megawatt of estateabout ₹91 crore a megawatt, on 300 MW and a ₹26,520 crore valuation

The last row is arithmetic Gridvik does itself, and it is the number that makes the rest of this registry legible. At a $3.1 billion valuation against roughly 300 MW of capacity, the market is paying about ₹91 crore for every megawatt Nxtra operates. This single building is therefore worth roughly ₹1,550 crore on that basis.

It is not a valuation of the building — it is a valuation of the rental stream, the customer contracts and the position in the network. But it tells a reader something no press release does: a 17 MW hall in a Pune software park carries a nine-figure rupee price tag, and any tenant, vendor or buyer negotiating around it is negotiating around that number.

5Timeline

  • A memorandum with Maharashtra’s industrial development corporation covers new campuses in Mumbai and Pune
  • A $673 million programme describes Pune II as 21 MW of IT power across 2,200 racks and 200,000 square feet, in Hinjewadi
  • The operator lists PUN 2 at 17 MW across 4,000 racks with a declared PUE below 1.55
  • Airtel raises $1 billion for Nxtra at about $3.1 billion, targeting 1 GW from roughly 300 MW
  • The Hinjewadi pair adds to the 21 MW described in 2021, with 5,000 racks rather than 2,200

6Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 26 Oct 2026
What this site buys
Four thousand cabinets’ worth of containment, cooling and power distribution at a 4.25 kW average — the highest cabinet count in the operator’s Pune estate
What it will not buy
Dense liquid cooling. The average cabinet would not run a modern GPU node
The opportunity hiding in the rack count
4,000 cabinets at 4.25 kW is a refresh queue. Every one of them will at some point be asked to carry more, and the answer is containment, rear-door heat exchangers and, eventually, direct-to-chip
Account structure
Nxtra’s national procurement function, with the Pune site team executing
Likely window
Continuous. The stated capital is going to Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata AI campuses
Quality of evidence
Strong. The card reconciles cleanly to a 2021 investor disclosure on power, and diverges only on racks
Our confidence
High on capacity, racks and PUE. Medium on the reading that the power has not grown since 2021, since the 2021 figure was a campus and these are two buildings
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

7Limits and open questions

What this record is
The largest Hinjewadi building by cabinet count, at 17 MW across 4,000 racks, which pairs with PUN 3 to reproduce a 2021 campus figure exactly
What it is not
Proof that no capacity has been added since 2021 — the 2021 number described a campus, and these are two buildings within it
What Gridvik will not do
We will not present the −56% density change as a fact about equipment. It may equally be a change in how the operator counts a rack
First question
Is the 4,000-rack figure installed or design? The same question applies across the Nxtra estate and the answer changes the density by a factor
Second question
What is the current load? Seventeen megawatts of card capacity and, say, twelve megawatts of live load are two very different assets
Third question
Did the campus add power after 2021 and simply not update the disclosure, or did it genuinely stay at 21 MW? A five-year pause on a growth campus would be unusual and worth knowing
Why this record matters
It is the strongest reconciliation in the Nxtra estate — two independent documents, five years apart, landing on the same megawatt figure
What changes the tier
A commissioning date, an installed-rack figure, or a current-load statement

8Sources

Sources: Nxtra Pune data centre page, Nxtra by Airtel site, DataCenterMap Pune listings, DataCenterHawk, Data Center Dynamics Infra on the Nxtra expansion programme, Baxtel Pune listings, Airtel investor releases, ocolo Pune listings.