Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

Nxtra PUN 4 — Hinjewadi 3, PuneNxtra by Airtel · Rajiv Gandhi Infotech Park, Hinjewadi, Pune 411057 · 24 MW listed IT power, 2,500 racks

Record PRJ-082Maharashtra — Hinjewadi, PuneTier D — listed only8 public sources checkedAdditive: yes, within the Pune cluster
Stage unverifiedDensest Pune buildingFacilityPUE published
24MW
Listed IT power
2,500
Racks
9.6kW
Per rack
1.55
Declared PUE ceiling
48%
Of Pune cluster power
37MW
Facility load at PUE 1.55

PUN 4 at Hinjewadi is listed by Nxtra by Airtel at 24 MW of IT power across 2,500 racks — 9.6 kW a rack, PUE below 1.55. One building holding nearly half of the operator’s 49.5 MW in Pune. It is also the anomaly in the cluster: the three buildings around it average under 4.3 kW a cabinet and this one is built for nearly ten. That gap is the clearest evidence in this registry of a colocation operator changing specification on the same site.

1At a glance

Operator
Nxtra Data Limited, the data centre subsidiary of Bharti Airtel
Facility
PUN 4, Rajiv Gandhi Infotech Park, Hinjewadi, Pune 411057
Listed capacity
24 MW of IT power across 2,500 racks
Density
9.6 kW a rack. More than twice the density of the three other Pune cards
Efficiency
Declared PUE below 1.55, so about 37 MW of facility load at the published ceiling
Position in cluster
The largest of four Pune cards at 48% of the cluster’s power on 29% of its racks
Status
Stage unverified on the operator’s card. No commissioning date is stated
Not disclosed
Commissioning date, current load, floor area, tenant list and water source
Additivity
Additive within Nxtra’s 49.5 MW Pune cluster

2Two tiers in one park

A cluster is only as useful as the differences inside it. Pune has four buildings and two specifications.

PUN 4 — Hinjewadi 324 MW, 2,500 racks9.6 kWPUN 2 — Hinjewadi 117 MW, 4,000 racks4.25 kWPUN 3 — Hinjewadi 24 MW, 1,000 racks4.0 kWPUN 1 — Kharadi4.5 MW, 1,250 racks3.6 kWOne building in Pune is built for 9.6 kW a cabinet. The other three average under 4.3.
Figure 1Density, not power, separates these four buildings. The red bar is the densest card and the cluster’s largest.
The same park, two products
BuildingRackskW a rackWhat it can host
PUN 42,5009.6contained air for general compute, and rear-door or direct-to-chip cooling at the top end
PUN 24,0004.25general enterprise workloads, no accelerated compute
PUN 31,0004.0general enterprise workloads
PUN 11,2503.6general enterprise workloads, legacy layouts

9.6 kW a cabinet does not make a building AI-ready by itself — the operator’s Mahape halls run at 11.5, its newest Chennai hall at 5.0, and its published ceiling for liquid-cooled racks is 130 kW. But 9.6 is more than twice 4.25, and that difference decides which Pune building a customer with a rack full of accelerators calls first.

The arithmetic that matters for the estate: 24 MW on 2,500 racks is 48% of Pune’s power on 29% of its cabinets. Power, not floor space, is the scarce input in Indian colocation, and this building consumes it at the rate a modern tenant needs.

The one number a tenant asks for

Not total megawatts. Kilowatts per rack, in the hall they will actually be in.

On this one site the answer ranges from 3.6 to 9.6 — a 2.7× spread inside a single industrial park.

3Where the cluster ends

Four cards total 49.5 MW across 8,750 racks. That is the Pune cluster as it exists, and it is what this registry counts. What a reader will also find, in the same searches, is a campus that would change the number entirely.

Published, planned and counted
ItemMWRacksStatus
PUN 4 — this building242,500listed
PUN 2, PUN 3, PUN 125.56,250listed
Pune cluster counted here49.58,750operator cards
“Pune III” as disclosed in 202111012,500development, no construction evidence
“Pune III” as a directory lists it now40not statedplanned for late 2026

If the 110 MW campus is real, Pune reaches about 160 MW and becomes Nxtra’s largest cluster by a wide margin. If the 40 MW version is the live plan, the city roughly doubles. If neither is built, Pune stays at fifty megawatts. Three outcomes, one name, and no public document choosing between them.

Gridvik keeps 49.5 MW in the count and treats both larger figures as announcements. This is the discipline the whole registry runs on: a number enters the total when a named operator puts it on a facility page or in a filing, and not before.

4Pune against the market

Pune, four ways of measuring it
MeasureValueNote
This operator’s Pune cards49.5 MWfour buildings, one company
A widely cited market estimate for Pune32 MW, about 5% national sharesmaller than one operator’s cards — the estimate is stale, or counts live load only
Other operators in the citya new entrant toward 60 MW, a hyperscaler on 16.4 acres, two incumbentsland and announcements, not live capacity
Pune’s share of Nxtra’s national headlineabout 17% of 300 MWsecond largest cluster after Mumbai

The second row is the one to hold onto. A commonly cited figure puts the whole of Pune at 32 MW. One operator’s four buildings in that city already total 49.5 MW. Either the market estimate counts only live load while the cards count designed capacity — likely, and a distinction worth money — or the estimate is years old.

Both readings point at the same product: a registry that separates designed from live at the facility level. Every published India market number blurs the two, and the blur is where the pricing errors live.

5Timeline

  • A memorandum with Maharashtra’s industrial development corporation covers new campuses in Mumbai and Pune
  • A $673 million programme describes Pune as an existing facility and a separate 110 MW campus in development
  • The operator lists PUN 4 at 24 MW across 2,500 racks with a declared PUE below 1.55
  • Airtel raises $1 billion for Nxtra at about $3.1 billion, targeting 1 GW from roughly 300 MW
  • No commissioning date or current load for PUN 4, and no public evidence either way on the 110 MW campus

6Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 26 Oct 2026
What this site buys
The densest specification in Nxtra’s Pune estate at 9.6 kW a cabinet: high-efficiency cooling, rear-door heat exchangers, contained aisle design with the option of direct-to-chip
What it will not buy
Nothing exotic. 9.6 kW is contained air with help, not immersion — the operator’s stated ceiling is 130 kW, so the dense end of its roadmap sits elsewhere
Why this is the Pune entry point
The only Pune card above 5 kW, carrying nearly half the cluster’s power, and where any accelerated workload in the city would land
Account structure
Nxtra’s national engineering and procurement function, with the Pune site team executing
Likely window
Best of the four Pune buildings. Capital is being directed to Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata, so expect refresh and incremental density rather than a new shell
Quality of evidence
Good on capacity, racks and PUE. Nothing on commissioning year, load or tenants
Our confidence
High on 24 MW, 2,500 racks, 9.6 kW and PUE. Low on stage
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

7Limits and open questions

What this record is
The largest and densest Nxtra building in Pune, at 24 MW across 2,500 racks and about 37 MW of facility load at the published PUE
What it is not
Evidence that density is rising across the Pune estate — the other three cards are all under 4.3 kW
What Gridvik will not do
We will not add the 110 MW or 40 MW Pune III campus to this building, or treat a directory plan as capacity
First question
When was this building commissioned? If it is the newest in Pune, the density jump is a statement about the operator’s current specification. If it is older, it is a statement about one customer
Second question
Is 9.6 kW an average or a design maximum? At 2,500 racks and 24 MW the division is clean, and a clean division is usually designed rather than measured
Why this record matters
It completes the Pune cluster, holds the clearest within-site density contrast in the registry, and anchors the argument that density — not megawatts — decides who can serve AI demand
What changes the tier
A commissioning date, an occupancy figure, or any evidence on the 110 MW campus

8Sources

Sources: Nxtra Pune data centre page, Nxtra by Airtel site, Data Center Dynamics Infra on the Nxtra expansion programme, DataCenterMap Pune listings, Baxtel Pune listings, ocolo Pune listings, publicly available India data centre market summaries, Airtel releases.