Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

Nxtra HYD 1 — Kokapet, HyderabadNxtra by Airtel · Kokapet, Hyderabad, Telangana · 10 MW listed IT power, 2,500 racks

Record PRJ-083Telangana — Kokapet, HyderabadTier D — listed only8 public sources checkedAdditive: yes
Stage unverifiedSite code covers five figuresFacilityPUE below 1.5
10MW
Listed IT power
2,500
Racks
4kW
Per rack
1.5
Declared PUE ceiling
15MW
Facility load at PUE 1.5
200MW
The same code elsewhere

HYD 1 at Kokapet is listed by Nxtra by Airtel at 10 MW of IT power across 2,500 racks — 4 kW a rack, PUE below 1.5, the tightest efficiency figure on any card this operator publishes. The building is not the interesting part. The code is. HYD 1 also means 40 MW under construction in a directory, 60 MW in phase one in a 2023 report, and a 200 MW campus on 40 acres at Chandanvelly in the chief executive’s own words — and Chandanvelly is not Kokapet. It is a different site, on the other side of the city, and no public document explains which building is which.

1At a glance

Operator
Nxtra Data Limited, the data centre subsidiary of Bharti Airtel
Facility
HYD 1, Kokapet, west Hyderabad. Directory listings carry it at a 501503 postal code, which is the Chandanvelly side of the city
Listed capacity
10 MW of IT power across 2,500 racks
Density
4 kW a rack
Efficiency
PUE below 1.5, the lowest ceiling the operator publishes — its other cards say 1.55
Position in registry
The largest Nxtra card outside Mumbai, Chennai, Pune, Bengaluru and NCR; about 4% of the operator’s counted estate
Status
Stage unverified on the operator’s card. A directory lists the Kokapet site as under construction
Not disclosed
Commissioning date, current load, floor area, tenant list and the relationship to the Chandanvelly campus
Additivity
Additive. It is not the 200 MW campus, which is a separate project and is not counted in this record

2Five capacities for one code

Hyderabad is the clearest case in this registry of a site code doing too much work.

The operator’s HYD 1 card10 MW, 2,500 racks, Kokapet10 MWA directory, quoting the 2021 plan40 MW, 5,000 racks, under construction40 MWA 2023 report on the same project60 MW in phase one, ₹2,000 crore60 MWThe chief executive, November 2024200 MW on 40 acres at Chandanvelly200 MWOne site code, four capacities and a factor of twenty between the smallest and the largest. The red bar is the only one on the operator’s own page.
Figure 1Four published capacities for the same operator in the same city. The operator’s own page shows the smallest and the only one that is a building rather than a plan.
Who says what
SourceCapacityLocation given
The operator’s Hyderabad page10 MW / 2,500 racks, PUE below 1.5Kokapet
A directory40 MW, listed as under construction100 Feet Industrial Road, 501503
A 2021 expansion disclosure40 MW / 5,000 racks / 450,000 sq ftHyderabad, development
A January 2023 report60 MW in phase one, ₹2,000 croreHyderabad
The chief executive, November 2024200 MW, ready in two years, full in five40 acres at Chandanvelly, allotted by the state
A facility directoryHYD1, named at Nakkalapalle501503

Line them up and the arithmetic of the confusion is visible. 10, 40, 60 and 200 are not four estimates of one thing — they are almost certainly one small building, one 2021 plan, one phase figure and one campus ambition, all sharing a postal code and a name.

The practical consequence is that a reader searching for Nxtra in Hyderabad gets a ten-megawatt answer, a two-hundred-megawatt answer and no way to tell which is built. That is not a small problem in a state that has signed memoranda for eleven gigawatts of data centre capacity.

The rule this page argues for

A facility card is a statement about a building. A site code is a label somebody typed into a spreadsheet.

Where the two disagree by a factor of twenty, the card wins and the code gets an explanation. Here the code has none.

3Kokapet and Chandanvelly

The two Hyderabad locations in this record are not variations on a theme. They sit on opposite sides of a city of eleven million people.

Two places, one operator
ItemKokapetChandanvelly
Wherewest Hyderabad, the financial district fringesouth-east, near Fab City and the airport corridor
What is thereNxtra’s 10 MW listed building40.74 acres allotted by the state industrial corporation
Announced capacity10 MW200 MW, on the chief executive’s account in November 2024
NeighboursCapitaLand’s 40 MW hall, CtrlS, STT and Sify buildings within a few kilometresCtrlS’s own large land holdings, Microsoft’s 52 acres, Amazon’s Fab City campus
What the state gavenot statedland through the industrial infrastructure corporation

Both can be true. An operator with a legacy building in the financial district and a two-hundred-megawatt ambition near Fab City is entirely ordinary. What is not ordinary is that the same site code appears against both, which is how a 10 MW building ends up carrying a 200 MW valuation in a third-party database.

Gridvik records 10 MW here, because it is the only figure the operator puts on a facility page. The Chandanvelly campus is a separate matter and will be recorded separately if and when a card or a filing supports it.

4What 10 MW needs from Telangana

At PUE 1.5, ten megawatts of IT load is 15 MW of facility load — the number the connection, the transformers and the cooling plant are built for. Two resource figures follow from it.

The physical footprint of ten megawatts
InputArithmeticResult
IT loadoperator card10 MW
Facility load at PUE 1.510 × 1.5about 15 MW
Annual energy at 80% utilisation15 MW × 8,760 h × 0.8about 105 GWh a year
Water, using a 20 MLD per gigawatt benchmark20 MLD ÷ 1,000 MW × 10 MWabout 0.2 MLD, or 200,000 litres a day
Hyderabad’s projected water shortfall by 2027published estimatemore than 870 MLD

The water line is the one worth understanding, because it is where the state’s arithmetic breaks. A published benchmark puts a one-gigawatt hyperscaler’s water use at about 20 MLD. Hyderabad is projected to run short by more than 870 MLD by 2027. That is the equivalent of a 43 GW data centre estate’s water demand arriving in a city that is already short — while Telangana has signed memoranda for 11 GW of data centre capacity.

Ten megawatts is a rounding error against that. The point of the comparison is that this building, at 0.2 MLD, is the kind that is easy to permit — and the kind of thing the state has 11 GW of. Water, not power, is the binding constraint on the Telangana pipeline, and nobody has published an allocation.

5Timeline

  • A $673 million programme describes a Hyderabad development of 40 MW of IT power across 5,000 racks and 450,000 square feet
  • Reports describe a ₹2,000 crore Hyderabad facility with 60 MW of IT load in phase one, to be built over five to seven years
  • The chief executive says Hyderabad will be the company’s biggest data centre at 200 MW, on 40 acres at Chandanvelly, ready in two years and full in five
  • The operator lists HYD 1 at Kokapet at 10 MW across 2,500 racks with PUE below 1.5
  • No public document connects the Kokapet building to the Chandanvelly campus, or states which of the four capacities is built

6Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 26 Oct 2026
What this site buys
Four-kilowatt cabinets in a hyperscale-branded building with liquid cooling support, hot aisle containment and IGBC certification
Why it is worth a sales call despite 10 MW
Kokapet is the most valuable land in Hyderabad’s data centre cluster and this building is inside it. The operator’s growth, however, is on the Chandanvelly side
The specification signal
PUE below 1.5 is the tightest claim Nxtra makes anywhere. Efficiency retrofits and monitoring are the products that keep a published ceiling honest
Account structure
Nxtra’s national engineering function. Site-level decisions in Hyderabad run through it
Likely window
Refresh at Kokapet, new build at Chandanvelly. The two should be treated as separate opportunities
Quality of evidence
Good on the card, bad on geography. Four capacities and two locations under one code
Our confidence
High on 10 MW, 2,500 racks and PUE. Low on what HYD 1 means to the operator internally
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

7Limits and open questions

What this record is
The operator’s only published Hyderabad facility card, at 10 MW across 2,500 racks in Kokapet
What it is not
The 40 MW, 60 MW or 200 MW figures that share the same code, and not the Chandanvelly campus
What Gridvik will not do
We will not upgrade this record to the 200 MW campus because a site code is shared, and we will not guess a commissioning date
First question
Is the Kokapet building operating, or is it the under-construction site a directory lists? The card is silent and the two answers imply very different things
Second question
Do the Chandanvelly plans still start in 2027 and reach full capacity by 2029, as stated in November 2024? Nothing has been published since
Third question
Who holds the water allocation for a 200 MW campus in a city projected to be short by more than 870 MLD? This is the question that decides whether the Telangana pipeline is real
Why this record matters
It is the clearest example in the registry of a label outrunning a building, and it sits in the state with the largest announced pipeline in India
What changes the tier
A commissioning date, a floor-area statement, or several sources agreeing on where HYD 1 actually is

8Sources

Sources: Nxtra Hyderabad data centre page, Nxtra by Airtel site and footprint list, Data Center Dynamics Infra on the Nxtra expansion programme, Data Center Dynamics on the ₹2,000 crore Hyderabad plan, The Hindu BusinessLine interview with the Nxtra chief executive, DataCenterMap, DataCenterHawk, Baxtel Hyderabad listings, Frontline on water use in Indian data centres.