Patna Edge DC 1 is operated by CtrlS Datacenters at 0.5 MW of IT load across 109 racks — 4.6 kW a rack — at Plot 18 in the Pataliputra Industrial Area. It is the smallest record in this registry and one of the few that is unambiguously operational, which makes it more useful than half the gigawatt announcements in the file. Three hundred metres away the same company has just opened a building it describes as 1,670 racks and, depending on which statement you read, 10, 11.6 or 12 MW.
1At a glance
2109 racks in a state with no data centres
Bihar had no commercial data centre sector until recently. Its first AI-ready facility opened in October 2026. This building predates all of that, and it is the reason it matters: it is the only record in the state that was operating before the announcements began.
| Record | MW | Racks | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| CtrlS Patna Edge DC 1 | 0.5 | 109 | operational |
| CtrlS Patna Edge DC 2 | 11.6 | 1,670 | operational |
| CtrlS Bodh Gaya AI factory | 150 | not stated | letter of intent |
| CtrlS state investment announcement | no capacity | — | announced |
Twelve point one megawatts counted across the state, all of it one company. The 150 MW Bodh Gaya project is a letter of intent and is not in the count. That is what a virgin market looks like in a registry: two buildings, one operator, and a state target of 1,000 MW issued by the chief minister at the opening of the second one.
The comparison worth carrying is that a single 109-rack building, at 0.5 MW, is 4% of all counted data centre capacity in Bihar. In Maharashtra the equivalent record would be a rounding error. Here it is a load-bearing fact.
A 0.5 MW building with a power connection, a customer list and a billing meter is evidence. A 150 MW letter of intent is a document.
In a state starting from nothing, the first is the only thing that tells you what the market actually pays.
3The 300-metre pair
The two CtrlS buildings in Patna are the sharpest old-against-new comparison in this registry, because they are on the same street and the company describes both of them.
| Measure | Edge DC 1 | Edge DC 2 |
|---|---|---|
| IT load | 0.5 MW | 10 MW announced, 11.6 MW on the operator’s page, 12 MW at the opening |
| Racks | 109 | about 1,000 announced, 1,670 on the operator’s page |
| Density | 4.6 kW | about 7.2 kW on the operator’s figures |
| Address | Plot 18 | Plot 32 and 33, near P&M Mall |
| Distance apart | — | about 300 metres |
| Investment | not disclosed | ₹400 crore |
| Opened | earlier | 13 October 2026 |
Three capacity statements for one new building is the finding. The August 2024 announcement said 10 MW and about 1,000 racks. The operator’s portfolio page says 11.6 MW and 1,670 racks. The inauguration release says 12 MW of IT load. Each is plausible and none reconciles: 1,670 racks at 12 MW is 7.2 kW a rack, while 1,000 racks at 10 MW is 10 kW a rack.
Gridvik records DC 1 on this page and will record DC 2 separately with all three figures shown, because the gap between 1,000 and 1,670 racks is the difference between a mid-size edge site and a large one, and because the density implied differs by 40%.
4What ₹400 crore buys
| Item | Value | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Announced investment | ₹400 crore | from the August 2024 land announcement and repeated at the opening |
| Capacity basis | 10 MW announced, 11.6 MW card, 12 MW at opening | use 12 MW as the most generous |
| Implied cost | about ₹33 crore a megawatt | Gridvik arithmetic |
| Comparable build cost in this registry | ₹52 to ₹70 crore a megawatt | for colocation shells without land |
| Why it is lower | land came through the state industrial authority, and IT equipment is not usually in the number | — |
Thirty-three crore a megawatt is not a bargain; it is a different accounting boundary. Land acquired through a state development authority, a shell built to whatever specification the operator chose, and a fit-out that may or may not include customer equipment will all move that number by a factor of two. Anyone comparing ₹33 crore with a ₹60 crore benchmark without asking what is inside the number is comparing two different things.
The number that does hold up is the company’s own trajectory. CtrlS says it will have built over 4.4 GW of capacity by 2030. A rating agency’s projection has its operational capacity rising from about 150 MW in the current financial year to 950–1,000 MW by 2029. The analyst number is about a fifth of the company number, and both are public, and neither is wrong — one is a target and the other is a forecast.
5Timeline
- CtrlS develops an edge facility at Plot 18 in the Pataliputra Industrial Area, one of its earliest tier-2 sites
- The company acquires land 300 metres away through the state industrial area development authority and announces ₹400 crore, 10 MW and about 1,000 racks
- The operator’s portfolio page lists Patna Edge DC 1 at 0.5 MW and 109 racks, and Patna Edge DC 2 at 11.6 MW and 1,670 racks
- The second Patna building is inaugurated with a stated 12 MW of IT load; a ₹10,000 crore, 150 MW Bodh Gaya AI factory is announced as a letter of intent
- No commissioning year, PUE or occupancy figure for Patna Edge DC 1 in the public record
6Procurement
7Limits and open questions
8Sources
Sources: CtrlS Datacenters Patna data centre page, CtrlS corporate site and colocation pages, DataCenterMap Patna listings, PeeringDB facilities register, Data Center Dynamics on the Patna land acquisition, The Hindu BusinessLine on the ₹400 crore Patna investment, Times of India and Reuters reports on the October 2026 inauguration and Bodh Gaya letter of intent.
