Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

CtrlS Patna Edge DC 2 — PatnaCtrlS Datacenters · Plot 32 and 33, Pataliputra Industrial Area, Patna 800013 · 11.6 MW IT load, 1,670 racks

Record PRJ-087Bihar — PatnaTier D — operator listed9 public sources checkedAdditive: yes
Operational, inaugurated Oct 2026FacilityThree capacity figures1,670 racks
11.6MW
IT load on the card
1,670
Racks
7.2kW
Per rack
₹400cr
Reported investment
12MW
Figure at the opening
+67%
Racks since 2024

Patna Edge DC 2 opened on 13 October 2026. The operator’s card says 11.6 MW of IT load across 1,670 racks — 7.2 kW a rack — the inauguration release said 12 MW, and the 2024 announcement said 10 MW across about 1,000 racks. Read the three in sequence and one fact survives: the racks grew 67% while the power grew 16%. That is the same pattern this registry found in Nxtra’s Pune campus, in a different company, a different state and a different year — and it is how Indian colocation adds sellable units without adding electricity.

1At a glance

Operator
CtrlS Datacenters Limited, the Hyderabad-based Rated-4 operator, founded 2007
Facility
Patna Edge DC 2, Plot 32 and 33, Pataliputra Industrial Area, Patna 800013, near P&M Mall
Listed capacity
11.6 MW of IT load across 1,670 racks on the operator’s card; 12 MW stated at the inauguration
Density
7.2 kW a rack on the card. About 1.6× the density of the 109-rack building next door
Status
Operational. Inaugurated 13 October 2026 in the presence of the Bihar chief minister
Investment
₹400 crore reported for the project, announced with the land acquisition in August 2024
Position in state
The largest data centre in Bihar by a wide margin — 96% of the state’s counted capacity
Not disclosed
PUE, current occupancy, customer names and the share of the 1,670 racks that is fitted out
Additivity
Additive. It is a separate facility from Patna Edge DC 1, 300 metres away

2The building that opened in October

Bihar’s first AI-ready data centre opened on 13 October 2026, and it opened next door to the only other commercial data centre in the state.

Edge DC 2 — opened October 202611.6 MW, 1,670 racks11.6 MWEdge DC 1 — the 2024-era site0.5 MW, 109 racks0.5 MWTwelve point one megawatts 300 metres apart. One building is the state’s entire data centre industry; the other is the reason it has one.
Figure 1The state’s entire commercial data centre industry, in two bars 300 metres apart.
Patna, end to end
MeasureEdge DC 1Edge DC 2Combined
IT load0.5 MW11.6 MW12.1 MW
Racks1091,6701,779
Density4.6 kW7.2 kW6.8 kW
Openedearlier13 Oct 2026—
Distance apart—about 300 m—
Share of Bihar’s counted capacity4%96%100%

Twelve megawatts is not a national event. In Bihar it is the whole industry. The state’s chief minister used the opening to set a target of 1,000 MW of data centre capacity in five years — a target that is 83 times the capacity that was being inaugurated when he said it.

That gap is the honest measure of where eastern India sits. It is also the reason a facility-level registry is worth more here than a market report: nobody needs a forecast to know Bihar has 12.1 MW. They need to know it is 12.1 and not 150.

3Three capacities, one building

The same building has been described three ways in two years, and the differences are not rounding.

The paper trail
WhenStatementRacksImplied density
August 2024₹400 crore, 10 MW of IT load, about 1,000 racks1,00010.0 kW
Operator’s page, 202611.6 MW of IT load, 1,670 racks1,6706.9 kW
13 October 2026Inaugurated with 12 MW of IT load, expandablenot stated—

Take the two ends. Between the 2024 plan and the 2026 card, the megawatts rose 16% and the racks rose 67%. Either the operator changed the product it intends to sell, or the 2024 rack figure was an estimate for a differently configured building. Both are ordinary, and the effect is the same: the same electricity now earns rent on 670 more cabinets.

At 10 kW a rack the building would have been at the dense end of the Indian market. At 7.2 kW it is a general-purpose hall that can take a modest accelerated workload but is built for enterprises. Which one it actually is decides whether this is an AI facility or a government-and-bank facility.

The pattern, third time in this registry

Nxtra’s Pune campus: 21 MW across 2,200 racks in 2021, 21 MW across 5,000 racks in 2026.

CtrlS’s Patna building: 10 MW across 1,000 racks in 2024, 11.6 MW across 1,670 racks in 2026.

Two operators, two states, no shared ownership. Power flat, cabinets up, density down. This is what the market is actually buying.

4What ₹400 crore does and does not include

The arithmetic, with the caveats attached
ItemValueWhy it matters
Reported investment₹400 crorefrom the August 2024 land announcement, repeated at the opening
Capacity11.6 to 12 MWuse the card
Implied costabout ₹33 to 35 crore a megawattGridvik arithmetic
CtrlS’s own Kolkata figure₹35 crore a megawattthe colocation president, on the record in June 2024
Comparable new-build band in this registry₹52 to ₹70 crore a megawattshells, excluding land in most cases
Landacquired through the state industrial authorityso land cost is not in the market comparison

Two independent CtrlS numbers landing at ₹33–35 crore a megawatt is more than coincidence; it is a company pricing its own construction. It sits well below the ₹52–70 crore band this registry has built from other operators’ disclosures, and there are three ordinary reasons: land from a state authority, a specification built for enterprises rather than for accelerators, and an investment figure that may exclude fit-out.

That gap is not an accusation. It is the most useful pricing intelligence in the file for anyone selling into eastern India: this operator builds at roughly half the per-megawatt cost of the operators building AI campuses, because it is not building the same thing.

5Timeline

  • CtrlS acquires a plot through the Bihar industrial area development authority, 300 metres from its existing site, and announces ₹400 crore, 10 MW and about 1,000 racks
  • The operator’s portfolio page lists Patna Edge DC 2 at 11.6 MW and 1,670 racks
  • The building is inaugurated at a stated 12 MW of IT load; a ₹10,000 crore, 150 MW Bodh Gaya AI factory is announced as a letter of intent at the same event
  • The chief minister sets a target of 1,000 MW of data centre capacity in Bihar over five years
  • No PUE, occupancy or customer disclosure for the new building

6Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 26 Oct 2026
What this site buys
A complete fit-out for 1,670 racks at 7.2 kW: switchgear, UPS, chilled water or DX cooling, containment, fire suppression, nine-zone security and DCIM
Why it is the biggest single opportunity in eastern India
It is the only large building in Bihar, it just opened, and the operator has said the 12 MW can be expanded as demand arrives
What it will not buy
Direct-to-chip liquid cooling at scale. Seven kilowatts a cabinet is contained air
Account structure
CtrlS is unlisted, buys centrally from Hyderabad, and has a ₹7,000 crore pension-fund commitment behind its expansion
The comparison to use in the room
The sibling Kolkata building was specified at 14 kW a rack with a published PUE of 1.40. Patna is 7.2 kW with no PUE published. Same company, two specifications — so ask which one this is
Quality of evidence
Good. The operator publishes racks and IT load for both Patna buildings
Our confidence
High on 11.6 MW and 1,670 racks. Medium on the commissioning date, which comes from press reports rather than the operator’s page
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

7Limits and open questions

What this record is
Bihar’s largest data centre, operational since 13 October 2026, at 11.6 MW across 1,670 racks
What it is not
A 150 MW state programme, or the 1,000 MW Bihar target, or a building with a published efficiency figure
What Gridvik will not do
We will not average 10, 11.6 and 12 MW, and we will not add the Bodh Gaya letter of intent to this building
First question
How much of the 1,670 racks is fitted out? A building with power for 12 MW and white space for 1,670 racks can open at a fraction of either, and nothing published says which
Second question
Is the design actually 10 kW a rack, provisioned down to 7.2, or the reverse? The answer decides whether this building can ever take an AI tenancy
Third question
What does it cost a customer? Eastern India has no published colocation rate card, and a single-anchor market is where rates are set rather than discovered
Why this record matters
It is the largest operational facility in a state with almost none, it repeats a density pattern found in three other companies, and it prices CtrlS construction at half the AI-campus benchmark
What changes the tier
A PUE, an occupancy figure, a customer name, or a single reconciled capacity

8Sources

Sources: CtrlS Datacenters Patna data centre page, CtrlS corporate site and blogs, Data Center Dynamics on the Patna land acquisition, The Hindu BusinessLine on the ₹10,000 crore Bihar announcement, Times of India and Reuters on the October 2026 inauguration, PeeringDB facility register, DataCenterMap Patna listings.