Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

CtrlS Mumbai DC 1 & DC 2 — Navi MumbaiCtrlS Datacenters · Mahape and Airoli, Navi Mumbai · 40 MW combined power capacity, 5,555 racks

Record PRJ-095Maharashtra — Navi MumbaiTier D — listed only9 public sources checkedAdditive: no — inside the campus aggregate
Stage unverifiedTwo buildings, one cardFacility group7.2 kW a rack
40MW
Combined power capacity
5,555
Racks
394,177
Square feet, both buildings
7.2kW
Per rack
101W
Per square foot
2019
Second building launched

CtrlS publishes its first two Navi Mumbai buildings as a single card: 40 MW of power capacity across 5,555 racks and 394,177 square feet. That is 7.2 kW a rack and 101 watts a square foot — the least dense card on the campus and, as it happens, the only one where nobody outside the company can say which building holds what. A directory splits the pair as 20 MW and 16 MW. A 2020 press release described DC 2 alone at 24 MW across 1,800 racks. All three cannot be right, and the operator has published only one of them.

1At a glance

Operator
CtrlS Datacenters Limited
Facilities
DC 1 and DC 2, the first two buildings on the Navi Mumbai campus at Mahape and Airoli. Published as one combined listing
Listed capacity
40 MW of power capacity, not labelled as IT load
Physical
5,555 racks across 394,177 square feet, a Tier-4 standard build with a nine-zone security layout
Density
7.2 kW a rack and 101 watts a square foot
Vintage
DC 2 was launched in 2019. The pair predates every other building on the campus
Status
Stage unverified per building. Both are described as operating in directory records
Not disclosed
The split of capacity, racks or floor area between the two buildings, IT load, PUE and occupancy
Additivity
Not additive — it sits inside the 700 MW campus aggregate recorded as PRJ-094

2Why two buildings share one card

Operators combine buildings on a card for sensible reasons: one substation, one security perimeter, one sales team, one set of redundancy claims. The cost is that the reader cannot size either half.

What the combined card hides
Question a reader would askAnswer available
How much power does DC 1 have?not published separately
How many racks does DC 2 have?not published separately
Which building is denser?unknown — the 7.2 kW is an average of both
Which one has spare capacity today?unknown
When was each commissioned?DC 2 in 2019; DC 1 not stated on the card

Other sources fill the gap inconsistently. A market commentary splits the pair as DC 1 at 20 MW over 200,000 square feet and DC 2 at 16 MW. A directory carries the pair at 36 MW combined. A 2020 company release described the second building at 24 MW installed across 1,800 racks and 132,000 square feet.

Note what that does to the arithmetic. If DC 2 were 24 MW in 2020 and the pair is 40 MW now, DC 1 is 16 MW. If DC 2 is 16 MW, DC 1 is 24 MW. The two readings are exact opposites, and both sum to a number that is close to a published figure. That is how a plausible error becomes permanent.

What Gridvik records

40 MW, 5,555 racks and 394,177 square feet for the pair, because that is the only statement the owner of the buildings makes.

We do not split it, and we flag every page that depends on the split as unverified.

37.2 kW a rack

Seventy-two hundred watts a cabinet is the specification of an Indian data centre designed between 2015 and 2019. It is a perfectly serviceable enterprise density and it is half of what the same operator is now building next door.

DC 436.8 MW, 2,936 racks12.5 kWDC 532 MW, 2,750 racks11.6 kWDC 310 MW, 1,045 racks9.6 kWDC 1 and DC 2 — this record40 MW, 5,555 racks7.2 kWFour cards from one operator in one estate. The two oldest buildings are the least dense, which is the way round you would expect.
Figure 1Four Navi Mumbai cards. The red bar is this record, and the gap to the navy bar is five years of specification change in one estate.
The campus, four cards
CardPowerRackskW a rackW per sq ft
DC 436.8 MW2,93612.5139
DC 532 MW2,75011.6140
DC 310 MW1,0459.668
DC 1 and DC 240 MW5,5557.2101

The bottom row carries the most power of any card and the least density. That combination is exactly what a 2015 to 2019 build looks like: large floorplates, a great many cabinets, and an electrical design from before anyone asked for 12 kW a rack.

For a buyer of capacity this is the cheap end of the market and the right place to look for large-volume, low-density workloads — batch processing, storage, disaster recovery, government systems. For a vendor it is a refresh queue of 5,555 cabinets that will never be as valuable as the ones in DC 4 and DC 5.

4The Mahape node

These buildings sit in the densest data centre cluster in India. Mahape and Airoli, with Rabale and Ghansoli, hold more megawatts within a few square kilometres than most Indian states hold within their borders.

What is within a few kilometres
NeighbourCapacityNote
CtrlS, this campus40 MW in these two buildings; 116 MW across fivethe anchor of the node
An NTT hyperscale campus at Mahapea 150 MW campus plan, phase one 90 MW across two buildings45 MW operating in the first building
An ST Telemedia three-building campusabout 120 MW when completethe incumbent rival for enterprise demand
A CapitaLand greenfield siteannounced, with a declared PUE of 1.4the newest entrant
A 40 MW building under construction nearbya new operator breaking ground in 2026the pipeline responding to demand

The node is the argument. Cable landing stations, the Mumbai fibre ecosystem, a workforce and a state government that has been generous with power all sit inside one industrial belt, which is why four operators with 40 to 150 MW plans are all building in it.

The constraint is land and grid, not demand, and that is why the operator behind this page went 40 kilometres north to a 13-building campus instead of adding buildings at Mahape.

5Timeline

  • The first Navi Mumbai building enters service as the company’s anchor facility
  • DC 2 is launched; a later company release describes it at 24 MW across 1,800 racks and 132,000 square feet
  • The pair is certified and marketed as a Tier-4 standard campus with more than 5,000 racks
  • The operator publishes the pair as one card at 40 MW, 5,555 racks and 394,177 square feet
  • No published split of capacity between the two buildings, and no IT-load basis for the 40 MW

6Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 26 Oct 2026
What this pair buys
Refresh, spares and incremental efficiency across 5,555 cabinets. This is a maintenance estate, not a growth estate
The upgrade question worth asking
Whether the halls were built with the electrical headroom to go from 7.2 to 12 kW a rack. If they were, this is a ₹1,000 crore-class refresh opportunity. If they were not, it is a demolition candidate
Why a vendor should visit
It is the oldest, largest and most heavily tenanted part of the campus, and the operator’s references come from here
Account structure
Central procurement from Hyderabad; the Mumbai campus executes
Likely window
Continuous refresh while capital goes to DC 6 and DC 7
Quality of evidence
Weak on the split, strong on the total. Three sources, three different partitions
Our confidence
High on the combined 40 MW, 5,555 racks and 394,177 square feet. Nil on the per-building split
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

7Limits and open questions

What this record is
The first two buildings on India’s largest private data centre campus, published as one 40 MW card at 7.2 kW a rack
What it is not
Two records. There is no published way to size either building separately
What Gridvik will not do
We will not adopt 20 and 16 MW from a third party, or 24 MW for DC 2 from a 2020 release, as if either were the operator’s current position
First question
What is the split? A power bill, a fire NOC or a site plan settles it, and none is public
Second question
Is 40 MW gross or IT? A gross figure with 5,555 racks implies about 7.2 kW a rack at the cabinet; an IT figure implies more density in the halls and more overhead outside them
Why this record matters
It is the largest single card on the campus, and it is the clearest illustration in this registry of a combined listing making due diligence impossible
What changes the tier
A per-building split, an IT-load statement, or a commissioning date for DC 1

8Sources

Sources: CtrlS Mumbai data centre page, CtrlS corporate site, CtrlS datacenters page, Data Center Dynamics on the campus build, Baxtel Navi Mumbai listings, datacenterlocations, dcmarketinsights, and Indian market commentary on the Navi Mumbai data centre nodes.