Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

CtrlS Mumbai DC 4 — Navi MumbaiCtrlS Datacenters · Mahape and Airoli, Navi Mumbai · 36.8 MW listed power capacity, 2,936 racks

Record PRJ-097Maharashtra — Navi MumbaiTier D — listed only8 public sources checkedAdditive: no — inside the campus aggregate
Stage unverifiedDensest large building on the campusFacility12.5 kW a rack
36.8MW
Listed power capacity
2,936
Racks
265,000
Square feet
12.5kW
Per rack
139W
Per square foot
31%
Of built campus power

CtrlS Mumbai DC 4 is listed at 36.8 MW of power capacity across 2,936 racks and 265,000 square feet — 12.5 kW a rack and 139 watts a square foot. It is the second densest facility in this registry and the densest large building on the estate. The number worth staring at is the 36.8: every other big figure on this campus is round, and the one that is not is probably the one that was engineered rather than agreed.

1At a glance

Operator
CtrlS Datacenters Limited
Facility
DC 4, on the Navi Mumbai campus at Mahape and Airoli
Listed capacity
36.8 MW of power capacity, not labelled as IT load
Physical
2,936 racks across 265,000 square feet
Density
12.5 kW a rack and 139 watts a square foot
Position on campus
Second of five cards by power at about 31% of the built campus total
Status
Stage unverified. The operator does not state a commissioning date on the card
Not disclosed
Commissioning date, IT load, PUE, occupancy and tenant names
Additivity
Not additive — it sits inside the 700 MW campus aggregate recorded as PRJ-094

2Why 36.8 is better than 36

Forecasts are made of round numbers. Substations, transformers and cooling plants are not.

The campus by roundness
CardFigureRound?What it suggests
DC 1 and DC 240 MWyesa design target or a marketing figure
DC 532 MWyesa design target
DC 436.8 MWnoa sum of installed equipment, or a metered design
DC 310 MWyesa design target
This registry’s cleanest measured figure7.4 MW, Hyderabad DC 2nothe same signature

The point is not that round numbers are dishonest — a 40 MW design is a perfectly real 40 MW design. It is that a non-round figure usually comes from somewhere specific: a transformer rating, a generator count, an equipment schedule. Thirty-six point eight megawatts is what you get when you add up what is actually being installed.

For anyone doing diligence, that makes DC 4 the most useful card on the campus. It is the one number an engineer is likely to have produced rather than a marketing team.

How to read an operator card in one line

Round number: a plan. Non-round number: an installation. Two non-round numbers for the same asset: a document problem — see PRJ-091, where the same building is 4 MW and 6 MW.

This is a crude test and it works more often than it should.

3The top of the density table

Twelve and a half kilowatts a cabinet puts this building in the top four confirmed densities in this registry, and second on a like-for-like basis once the Kolkata outbuilding is set aside.

CtrlS Kolkata DC 116 MW, 1,137 racks14.1 kWCtrlS Mumbai DC 4 — this record36.8 MW, 2,936 racks12.5 kWNxtra Mumbai MUM 442 MW, 3,600 racks11.7 kWCtrlS Mumbai DC 532 MW, 2,750 racks11.6 kWCtrlS Mumbai DC 1 and DC 240 MW, 5,555 racks7.2 kWTwo of the top four are on the same campus. The densest capacity in India is not all in Mumbai — but a lot of it is on this one estate.
Figure 1Confirmed densities. The red bar is this record; the other four are the closest comparables in the file.
What 12.5 kW a rack buys
DensityWhat it supports
Up to 5 kWgeneral enterprise, storage, virtualisation
5 to 8 kWdenser enterprise, contained aisles, some HPC
8 to 15 kWhigh-performance compute, small accelerated clusters with air or rear-door cooling
15 to 40 kWaccelerated training nodes, requires direct-to-chip liquid
40 kW and aboveliquid-cooled AI racks, which is where the new campuses are being designed

Twelve and a half kilowatts sits at the top of the air-cooling range. It is enough to host a serious accelerated workload and not enough to host the current generation of training racks, which are being specified at 100 kW and beyond. That is the honest description of the gap between what India has built and what the announcements are selling — and DC 4 is on the right side of it for another two or three years.

4What a 12.5 kW rack is for

Practical implications for a buyer, for a vendor and for the operator.

Three readers, one number
ReaderWhat 12.5 kW means
A customer needing 2 MWabout 160 racks in this building, or 280 in the older halls on the same campus
A cooling vendorcontained air and rear-door heat exchangers; direct-to-chip only at the very top of the range
The operatora building that can be sold to cloud and enterprise but not, today, to an AI tenant without a fit-out

The interesting strategic question is what happens to this building when the market moves to 40 kW racks. Nothing in the published record says whether the halls were designed with the electrical and cooling headroom to follow, and the answer is worth a lot: a 36.8 MW hall that can be uprated is a different asset from one that cannot.

DC 4 and DC 5 together carry 68.8 MW — 58% of the built campus power on 46% of its racks. Whatever the campus is worth, most of it is in these two buildings.

5Timeline

  • The first two campus buildings enter service at 7.2 kW a rack
  • DC 3, DC 4 and DC 5 are added as the campus builds out to the substation limit
  • The campus substation is doubled to 300 MW with headroom to 700 MW
  • The operator lists DC 4 at 36.8 MW, 2,936 racks and 265,000 square feet
  • No commissioning date, PUE or occupancy for this building in the public record

6Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 26 Oct 2026
What this building needs next
Rear-door heat exchangers and liquid-ready distribution at the top of the density range. Twelve and a half kilowatts is where air stops being comfortable
Why it is the best procurement target on the campus
It is the largest modern building, it is the densest big card, and the operator’s new capital is going to DC 6 and DC 7 rather than to this hall — which means upgrades here happen through refresh budgets rather than construction budgets
What it will not buy
New shells. Two buildings at 95 MW combined are already in the queue
Account structure
Central procurement from Hyderabad; the Mumbai campus team executes
Quality of evidence
Strong on the card, weak on stage. Nine sources agree on the numbers and none gives a date
Our confidence
High on 36.8 MW, 2,936 racks and 265,000 square feet. Nil on commissioning year
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

7Limits and open questions

What this record is
The densest large building on the Navi Mumbai campus, at 12.5 kW a rack and 139 watts a square foot
What it is not
A dated commissioning, an IT-load figure, or an AI-ready hall in the sense the new campuses use the term
What Gridvik will not do
We will not read 36.8 MW as IT load, and we will not treat the non-roundness of the figure as proof of anything beyond a design origin
First question
Is 36.8 the IT load or the installed electrical capacity? At 2,936 racks, the difference is about 12 MW of overhead and it changes the density significantly
Second question
Can the halls go to 40 kW? The cooling distribution and the electrical topology decide it, and neither is published
Why this record matters
It carries nearly a third of the built campus power, it is the cleanest engineered card in the CtrlS estate, and it anchors the density comparison with Nxtra’s Mumbai buildings
What changes the tier
A PUE, a commissioning date, or a statement of what the 36.8 MW covers

8Sources

Sources: CtrlS Mumbai data centre page, CtrlS corporate site, CtrlS datacenters page, Data Center Dynamics on the campus build and on the solar farm, Baxtel Navi Mumbai listings, datacenterlocations, dcmarketinsights, and Indian market commentary on the Navi Mumbai data centre nodes.