Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

CtrlS Mumbai — the unnamed 95-MW cardCtrlS Datacenters · Navi Mumbai campus · 95 MW card, 8,000 racks, 1,250,000 sq ft, building identity not stated

Record PRJ-099Maharashtra — Navi MumbaiTier E — unresolved identity7 public sources checkedAdditive: unknown — counts 0 MW
Identity unresolvedCounts zero megawattsUnassigned card11.9 kW a rack on paper
95MW
Card power capacity
8,000
Racks on the card
1.25mn
Square feet on the card
11.9kW
Per rack, if the card is one scope
76W
Per square foot — lowest on record
0MW
What it adds to this registry

CtrlS shows a 95 MW power-capacity card on its Navi Mumbai page with 8,000 racks and 1,250,000 square feet, sitting beside the upcoming DC 6 and DC 7 section. The card does not name a building and does not say whether it exists. It cannot be the campus total, because the five named buildings on the same campus already carry 118.8 MW — 24% more than the card. So either it is the forward pair, or it is a roll-up of the whole estate, or it is a template slot that was never filled in. This registry counts it as zero megawatts and says why.

1At a glance

Operator
CtrlS Datacenters Limited
What the card says
95 MW of power capacity, 8,000 racks, 1,250,000 square feet
What it does not say
Which building. Whether it exists. Whether it is IT load
Where it sits
On the Mumbai campus page, next to the DC 6 and DC 7 upcoming section, with no label tying it to either
Density if read literally
11.9 kW a rack, 76 watts a square foot and 156 square feet a rack
Comparison
The five named buildings average 9.7 kW, 115 watts a square foot and 84 square feet a rack
Status
Stage unverified. Not mapped to DC 6, not mapped to DC 7, not stated as operating
Additivity
Unknown. Counted as 0 MW in this registry until a source resolves the identity
Why it is published at all
Because deleting it would hide the most useful thing on the page: two different total-scope figures for one campus

2Why 95 cannot be the campus total

A company-written commentary on the same estate describes the full 13-building campus as 95 MW, 8,000 racks and 1.25 million square feet. That is the same triple as this card. If the card is a campus roll-up, it is in the wrong place on the page and it is arithmetically impossible anyway.

The five named buildings against the unnamed card
ScopePowerRacksFloor area
Five named buildings, DC 1 to DC 5118.8 MW12,2861,033,659 sq ft
The unnamed card95 MW8,0001,250,000 sq ft
Card as a share of the named total80%65%121%
The operator’s own ultimate campus claim700 MW30,0003,000,000 sq ft

Read that middle line again. The unnamed card carries 121% of the floor area of five finished buildings while carrying 80% of their power. One unbuilt pair of buildings would need more floor than the entire live estate. That is not a building schedule. That is a set of figures assembled from different places.

The one line that matters here

A capacity number without a building name is not a record of a facility. It is a record of a page.

This registry keeps it, because the contradiction is the intelligence: CtrlS states 95 MW for the upcoming pair and 95 MW for the whole campus, on pages that are months apart, and both cannot be true.

3The emptiest floor plan on the estate

Take the card at face value and it produces the loosest floor plan CtrlS has ever published.

DC 532 MW, 2,750 racks, 228,482 sq ft140 WDC 436.8 MW, 2,936 racks, 265,000 sq ft139 WDC 1 and DC 240 MW, 5,555 racks, 394,177 sq ft101 WThe unnamed 95-MW card — this record95 MW, 8,000 racks, 1,250,000 sq ft76 WDC 310 MW, 1,045 racks, 146,000 sq ft68 WThe biggest power number on the Mumbai page is also the emptiest floor plan on it. That gap is the whole story of this record.
Figure 1Watts per square foot by card. Red is this record. The newest buildings are at the top of the range; the unnamed card is at the bottom, below even the 2008-era Hyderabad building.
Four ways to read 95 megawatts
MeasureNamed campusUnnamed cardReads as
kW a rack9.711.9denser than everything live
Square feet a rack84156half the density of everything live
Watts a square foot11576a warehouse with servers in it
Megawatts a building24 average47.5 if split evenlyno source says evenly

The card is simultaneously the densest thing on the page by cabinet and the least dense by floor area. Those two readings only coexist if the racks and the floor area come from different scopes — which is exactly what the campus-total comparison above suggests.

4The scope that does not add up

Three candidate readings of the same card, and what each would mean for anyone trying to size the Mumbai pipeline.

Three readings, three different market answers
ReadingThen the card isAnd Mumbai looks like
It is DC 6 and DC 7 togetherforward capacity for two buildings95 MW of near-term supply to watch, on 4,000 racks a building
It is the whole 13-building campusa roll-up that contradicts the 118.8 MW already builtimpossible — the live estate is 25% larger
It is a template slota figure copied from a plan document and never wired to a buildingno capacity signal at all

Only the first reading survives the arithmetic. That is why this record is published as a card problem rather than a facility: the most plausible reading is that 95 MW belongs to DC 6 and DC 7, and the 8,000 racks and 1.25 million square feet wandered in from somewhere else.

For a buyer of capacity this matters immediately. Ninety-five megawatts of Navi Mumbai supply is the difference between a tight market and a soft one in 2028. If the figure is real, the two buildings that carry it are the largest single supply addition in the Mumbai region. If it is a mixed-scope card, the pipeline may be half that.

What this record does to the registry

Counted as 0 MW. Not because the number is doubted — 95 MW appears more than once on CtrlS material — but because no source attaches it to a building with a status.

The same defect runs through the whole Mumbai estate: 118.8 MW of live and building capacity carries nothing in the registry total, because each building is flagged non-additive inside the 700 MW campus claim. See PRJ-094.

5Timeline

  • DC 2 opens. The campus becomes a multi-building estate rather than a single facility
  • Five named buildings carry 118.8 MW across 12,286 racks and 1,033,659 square feet
  • CtrlS Mumbai page lists DC 6 and DC 7 as upcoming with no capacity attached to either building
  • An unnamed 95-MW card with 8,000 racks and 1,250,000 square feet appears on the same page, unlinked to either building
  • The 95 MW is carried in this registry as an unresolved card, counted at zero, pending any source that names the building

6Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
What to buy here
The Mumbai supply question — whether the 95 MW is two buildings or a page artefact — before any 2027 capacity commitment
Who holds the answer
CtrlS capacity sales and the Navi Mumbai campus team
The one question
Is the 95-MW power-capacity card DC 6 and DC 7, and what is the rack count and floor area of each building
Why they will answer it
Nobody commits 2027 capacity to an operator who cannot say which building it sits in
Gridvik estimate
The pair is real and the card mixes scopes; the buildings are likely under 12 kW a rack like every other building on the estate
What changes it
A named DC 6 or DC 7 card with a capacity, or a commissioning date for either
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

7Limits and open questions

  • No building identity. Nothing in the public material ties this card to DC 6, to DC 7, or to any other building.
  • No stage. The card does not say whether any of it is operating. The adjacent section says the two buildings are upcoming.
  • Basis unstated. Power capacity, as with every other CtrlS card, is not labelled IT or gross.
  • The 8,000 racks are not corroborated. No second source gives a rack count for DC 6 or DC 7.
  • The campus total is contested. The operator page says 3 million square feet for 13 buildings; company commentary elsewhere says 1.25 million for the same campus. Both are in the file.
  • What would close it. One line from the operator naming the building behind the card.

8Sources

Sources: CtrlS Mumbai data centre page, CtrlS corporate site, CtrlS AI-ready infrastructure page, CtrlS homepage, Data Center Dynamics on the Mumbai campus build, dcmarketinsights, and company-authored market commentary on the campus.