DC 6 exists in public as a building name and nothing else. CtrlS lists it as upcoming on the Navi Mumbai campus and attaches no capacity, no rack count, no floor area and no date to it. The only number a reader can pair with it is an unnamed 95 MW card on the same page, which does not name the building either — recorded separately as PRJ-099. This registry carries DC 6 at zero megawatts. That is not a judgement about the building. It is a statement about what the operator has published.
1At a glance
2A building name with no number
Most thin records in this registry are thin because the operator said one number and stopped. This one is thinner than that: there is no number to argue about.
| Question | Public answer |
|---|---|
| How much power? | not disclosed |
| How many racks? | not disclosed |
| How much floor area? | not disclosed |
| When does it open? | not disclosed |
| Is it under construction? | not stated — the page calls it upcoming |
| Which half of the 95 MW is it? | not stated |
| Who designs or builds it? | not disclosed |
| What is confirmed? | The building exists as a plan, on a campus with five live buildings and a 700 MW ultimate claim |
One row of that table is confirmed. Everything else is empty, and the page is published anyway because the empty rows are the finding: a 95 MW card sits in the same section of the same page without being attached to this building. If the operator cannot pair its own figures with its own buildings, no buyer can.
Thin records get published here when the thinness is informative. DC 6 tells you that CtrlS is willing to name a building before it is willing to size it, and that the Mumbai pipeline is being described in aggregates rather than buildings.
It also tells you the campus is not sold building by building. Which is useful, because capacity buyers ask building by building.
3Where the 700 MW actually stands
Of the 700 MW CtrlS claims for the finished Mumbai campus, about one sixth is built and named. This is how the three pieces divide.
| Piece | Megawatts | Buildings | Backed by |
|---|---|---|---|
| Named and built | 118.8 | 5 | four operator cards with racks and floor area |
| Upcoming pair, this record and DC 7 | 95 | 2 | one unnamed card |
| Unallocated | 486.2 | 6 | a pledge |
Four hundred and eighty-six megawatts is 69% of the campus claim and it is attached to nothing — no building numbers, no phases, no dates. That is the honest reading of "700 MW": a target for an estate whose remaining two thirds has not been designed in public.
For anyone buying Mumbai capacity in the next three years, the useful figure is not 700. It is 118.8 MW built, plus 95 MW at the ceiling of what the two upcoming buildings could hold — and even that 95 is the number this record cannot confirm.
4Procurement
5Limits and open questions
- No capacity, no racks, no area, no dates. Every one of those is absent from the public record, not merely disputed.
- No stage evidence. "Upcoming" is a page label, not a construction report.
- Sibling undistinguished. Nothing separates DC 6 from DC 7 in any public material.
- Campus arithmetic is contested. The 700 MW, 13-building, 30,000-rack claim is a target; only 118.8 MW of it is backed by building cards.
- What would close it. A single building card. One line would take this record from tier E to tier C.
6Sources
Sources: CtrlS Mumbai data centre page, CtrlS corporate site, CtrlS homepage, Data Center Dynamics on the Mumbai campus build, dcmarketinsights, Baxtel Navi Mumbai listings.
