Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

CtrlS Bhubaneswar Edge DC 1 — OdishaCtrlS Datacenters · Infocity, Chandrasekharpur, Bhubaneswar · 5 MW, ₹150 crore announced 2023

Record PRJ-102Odisha — BhubaneswarTier C — single source with a status conflict6 public sources checkedAdditive: yes — 5 MW counted
Operational per operator blogHomepage still says upcomingFacility₹30 crore a MW
5MW
Facility capacity
₹150cr
Announced investment
₹30cr
Per megawatt
74%
Of counted Odisha capacity
32
Months from announcement to operational
2
Conflicting operator statuses

CtrlS Bhubaneswar Edge DC 1 is a 5 MW edge facility in Infocity, Chandrasekharpur, announced in May 2023 at ₹150 crore. CtrlS reported it operational on 30 January 2026. Eight months later the company homepage still listed Bhubaneswar under Upcoming. That conflict is the record: a small, cheap, real facility whose own operator has two statuses for it. It is also 74% of all counted data centre capacity in Odisha, which tells you how thin the state’s public numbers are.

1At a glance

Operator
CtrlS Datacenters Limited
Facility
Bhubaneswar Edge DC 1, Infocity, Chandrasekharpur, Bhubaneswar
Capacity
5 MW, basis not stated as IT or gross
Investment
₹150 crore, announced May 2023. Actual spend not disclosed
Cost per megawatt
₹30 crore a megawatt
Status
Reported operational by CtrlS on 30 January 2026; homepage still says upcoming in September 2026
Position in Odisha
The largest counted facility in the state, at 74% of the 6.8 MW total
Position in the group
CtrlS’s second smallest named Indian facility, after Patna Edge DC 1 at 0.5 MW
Additivity
Additive. 5 MW counted in this registry

2₹30 crore a megawatt

Edge and tier-two builds are supposed to cost more per megawatt than large campuses, because the fixed costs — land, substation, security, staff — do not shrink with the building. Bhubaneswar breaks that rule.

Bodh Gaya, 150 MW announced₹10,000 crore for a project that counts 0 MW₹66.7 crHyderabad DC 3, 13 MW₹500 crore₹38.5 crPatna DC 2, 12 MW₹400 crore₹33.3 crBhubaneswar Edge DC 1 — this record₹150 crore, 5 MW₹30.0 crKolkata DC 1, 16 MW phase one₹370 crore₹23.1 crSmall edge builds should cost more per megawatt than large campuses. Bhubaneswar costs less than Patna, which is smaller demand in a weaker market on paper — the ₹150 crore is a phase figure, not a build cost.
Figure 1Announced investment per megawatt across CtrlS builds. Red is this record. The comparison is announced capital, not audited spend, and the Bodh Gaya bar is a project that count zero megawatts in this registry.
The capex ladder, and what it does not tell you
Build₹ crore a MWWhat it means
Bodh Gaya, 150 MW announced66.7a land-and-power pledge in a state with one counted facility
Hyderabad DC 3, 13 MW38.5a full high-spec build, ₹500 crore, delivered below its announced size
Patna DC 2, 12 MW33.3₹400 crore, the strongest non-metro build in the east
Bhubaneswar, 5 MW30.0cheaper per megawatt than a building twice its size, which should not happen
Kolkata DC 1 phase one, 16 MW23.1₹370 crore for a phase inside a much larger campus, so shared infrastructure is already paid for

Two explanations fit, and the operator has not said which. Either the ₹150 crore covers only the building and the power infrastructure was shared with the state, or part of the announced spend never happened in this phase. Both are common in eastern India, where state incentive packages and ready-built industrial park infrastructure shift cost off the operator’s books.

The number to hold onto

₹30 crore a megawatt is the cheapest small build in this register. If that figure is real and repeatable, edge capacity in eastern India can be financed at a density the metros cannot match — which is why five states are now chasing the same tenants.

If it is a phase figure with shared infrastructure behind it, it does not repeat, and any business plan built on ₹30 crore a megawatt is short by whatever the substation cost.

3The status that will not settle

This is not a dispute about a number. It is a dispute about whether the building is running, published by the company that owns it.

Two operator statements, eight months apart
DateSourceStatement
2023-05Company announcement and business press5 MW facility planned in Bhubaneswar at ₹150 crore
2026-01-30CtrlS corporate blogBhubaneswar facility operationalised
2026-09CtrlS homepageBhubaneswar Edge DC listed under Upcoming

A January blog post announcing that a facility has been operationalised is a stronger statement than a homepage navigation label, which is usually a stale content block. This registry follows the blog and marks the conflict. But the point for a buyer is not which one is right — it is that the only status page a prospective tenant is likely to visit is the wrong one.

Five megawatts is small enough that nobody commissions a field visit. Which is exactly how a two-year-old operating facility stays invisible on its owner’s own website.

4What 5 MW means for Odisha

Odisha has 6.8 MW of counted data centre capacity in this registry across two facilities. This building is five of those megawatts.

The Odisha market, in full
RecordCapacityStatusCounted
CtrlS Bhubaneswar Edge DC 15 MWoperational, status conflictedyes
Nxtra Bhubaneswar BBR 11.8 MWstage unverifiedyes
Four announced projects1,120 MWannounced, unbuiltno

One thousand one hundred and twenty megawatts announced against 6.8 MW counted is a ratio of 165 to one. That is the widest gap of any state in this registry, and it is worth understanding before anyone treats eastern India as the next growth market: the announcements are real documents, the buildings are not.

A 5 MW edge facility in an industrial park is what an actual eastern India data centre market looks like today. Everything above it is a press release with a chief minister in it.

5Timeline

  • CtrlS announces a 5 MW edge data centre in Bhubaneswar at ₹150 crore
  • Build proceeds with no public milestone reporting. No capacity, rack count or phase detail is published
  • CtrlS blog states the Bhubaneswar facility has been operationalised
  • The company homepage still lists Bhubaneswar Edge DC under Upcoming
  • Carried as operational at 5 MW, with the status conflict published rather than resolved

6Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
What to buy here
The first genuinely available capacity in eastern India, at a size a single tenant can absorb
Who holds the answer
CtrlS regional sales for Odisha and the east; the Bhubaneswar campus team
The one question
How much of the 5 MW is free today, and what is the PUE and the rack count
Why they will answer it
A facility that its own homepage calls upcoming needs a tenant to prove otherwise
Gridvik estimate
The building is live and lightly let. Five megawatts in an industrial park takes years to fill in a market this thin. Labelled an estimate
What changes it
A rack count, a PUE, a named tenant, or the homepage catching up with the blog
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

7Limits and open questions

  • Capacity basis unstated. The 5 MW is not labelled IT or gross, and no rack count has ever been published.
  • Status conflict unresolved. Operational per a January 2026 company blog, upcoming per the September 2026 homepage.
  • Investment is a 2023 plan. ₹150 crore is announced capital. Actual spend, phasing and any state incentive are undisclosed.
  • No PUE, no occupancy, no tenants. None of the three is public.
  • Nothing corroborates the 5 MW but the announcement — no directory, no trade press build report.
  • What would close it. A rack count and a PUE. Two lines would make this the best-documented edge facility in the east.

8Sources

Sources: CtrlS corporate blog on Bhubaneswar operationalisation, CtrlS homepage, The Hindu BusinessLine on the 2023 investment plan, CtrlS Patna and Odisha material, state industrial infrastructure listings, and Indian data centre market commentary on eastern India.