Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

CtrlS Bengaluru data centre — KarnatakaCtrlS Datacenters · Bengaluru · 13 MW listed, basis only partly stated

Record PRJ-107Karnataka — BengaluruTier C — single operator source5 public sources checkedAdditive: yes — 13 MW counted
Counted in the totalBasis only half statedFacility14.3% of Karnataka
13MW
Listed capacity
90.7MW
Counted Karnataka
14.3%
Share of the state
0
Rack count published
0
Dates published
3
CtrlS sites with an IT basis

CtrlS lists 13 MW for its Bengaluru facility. There is no rack count, no floor area and no commissioning date. The basis is the interesting part: this registry records it as IT load, but the operator page does not state that explicitly — so Bengaluru may be the third CtrlS site with a clean capacity basis, or the fifth without one. At 13 MW it is 14.3% of counted Karnataka capacity and the largest single CtrlS building outside Mumbai. It is also, on the evidence available, a number that cannot be compared with Mumbai’s 118.8 MW until somebody states the unit.

1At a glance

Operator
CtrlS Datacenters Limited
Facility
CtrlS Bengaluru data centre, Karnataka
Capacity
13 MW per the operator city page
Basis
Ambiguous. The registry records IT load; the operator page does not state IT or gross explicitly
Racks and floor area
Not published
Dates
No commissioning date
Status
Stage unverified. Operator-listed, not independently dated
Market position
14.3% of the 90.7 MW counted across Karnataka
Additivity
Additive. 13 MW counted in this registry

2Where 13 MW sits in Karnataka

Karnataka is a market of mid-sized buildings, which makes a single 13 MW record unusually significant.

Nxtra Bengaluru, four buildings5.4 + 14 + 6 + 20 MW45.4 MWNTT Bengaluru 3operational, counted12 MWCtrlS Bengaluru — this record13 MW, basis half-stated13 MWSify Bengaluru, two sites4.82 + 7 MW11.8 MWNTT Bengaluru 2operational, counted4.5 MWIron Mountain BLR 1operational, counted4 MWKarnataka counts 90.7 MW. The two largest single-building records are 13 and 12 MW, which is what an Indian city market looks like outside Mumbai and Chennai.
Figure 1Counted Karnataka capacity by record. Red is this facility. Nxtra’s four Bengaluru buildings together are the only thing in the state larger than it.
The Karnataka market, counted
OperatorCountedBasis stated
Nxtra, four Bengaluru buildings45.4 MWnot stated
CtrlS Bengaluru13 MWhalf stated
NTT Bengaluru 312 MWnot stated
Sify, two Bengaluru sites11.8 MWnot stated
NTT Bengaluru 24.5 MWnot stated
Iron Mountain BLR 14 MWnot stated

Six records account for almost all of the state. Every one of them leaves the capacity basis unstated except this one, which half-states it. That is the shape of the Indian market outside Mumbai and Chennai: 4 to 15 MW buildings, no racks published, no PUE published, and a state total assembled from numbers nobody defined.

Thirteen megawatts is also the point at which a facility stops being edge infrastructure and becomes a real colocation building. Karnataka has several of them and no single campus above 20 MW that is counted.

3The basis that is only half stated

This page exists mainly to keep one problem visible: a record can be half-documented in a way that looks complete in a table.

CtrlS capacity basis, site by site
SiteFigureWhat the page saysComparable?
Chennai DC park72 MWIT loadyes
Chennai DC 227 MWIT loadyes
Noida8 MWIT loadyes
Bengaluru13 MWnothing — the figure appears with no unit qualifierunknown
Mumbai DC 1 to DC 5118.8 MWpower capacity, unlabelledno
Hyderabad DC 1 to DC 326.4 MWpower capacity, unlabelledno
Chandanvelly park700 MWnot statedno
Future City campus750 MWnot statedno

If Bengaluru is IT load, then CtrlS runs three buildings in the north and south of India on a stated IT basis and five sites on an unstated one. If it is gross facility load, the 13 MW is worth perhaps 9 MW of IT at a PUE of 1.4 — and the gap between those two readings is a third of the building.

The honest position, and the one this record takes: the number is retained at 13 MW as the operator states it, the basis field is marked ambiguous rather than clean, and any comparison with Chennai or Mumbai carries that caveat.

Why a half-stated basis is worse than none

A facility with no figure gets skipped and nobody builds a wrong number on it. A facility with a figure and no unit gets used, and the unit gets assumed by whoever is building the model.

Nine megawatts and thirteen megawatts are the same building. Only one of them is the number a buyer will act on.

4What 13 MW would hold

No rack count is published for Bengaluru, so the density has to be bracketed rather than stated.

Bracketing an unpublished rack count
Assumed densityRacks from 13 MWReads as
4.6 kW — the Nxtra Bengaluru average2,826 racksa low-density estate, storage and enterprise
6.5 kW — the Indian market median2,000 racksgeneral colocation
8 kW — a dense enterprise build1,625 rackscontained aisles, some accelerated compute

These are brackets, not figures. The 4.6 kW comparison is real — it comes from Nxtra’s published Bengaluru rack and capacity numbers, which is the only operator in the state that publishes both. Every other rack count in Karnataka, including this building’s, is unpublished.

That gap is worth stating plainly, because it is the core weakness of the entire Bengaluru market: capacity is published, cabinets are not, so nobody can compute density, and density is what determines whether a building can host accelerated compute or is a storage hall.

5Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
What to buy here
The rack count and PUE for Bengaluru — the two figures that would make this record comparable with any other city
Who holds the answer
CtrlS south India sales; the Bengaluru facility team
The one question
Is the 13 MW IT load or gross facility capacity, and how many cabinets is it
Why they will answer it
Bengaluru tenants are asking for GPU-capable halls, and GPU-capable is a density claim that needs a cabinet count
Gridvik estimate
The building is live and the 13 MW is IT load. Labelled an estimate — the operator page is ambiguous
What changes it
A rack count, a PUE, or an explicit statement of basis
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

6Limits and open questions

  • Basis half stated. The single biggest weakness. 13 MW could be IT load or gross facility capacity, and the two differ by roughly a third.
  • No rack count, no floor area, no PUE. Density cannot be computed.
  • No commissioning date. Stage unverified.
  • Single source. No directory or trade press corroborates the 13 MW.
  • Not linked to any power announcement. Nothing in the record ties this capacity to a specific supply contract.
  • What would close it. A rack count and a stated basis. Two lines.

7Sources

Sources: CtrlS Bengaluru data centre page, CtrlS corporate site, Nxtra and NTT Bengaluru material for the market comparison, Karnataka state investment material, and Indian market commentary on the Bengaluru data centre market.