Get Free Teaser
Portfolio record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

STT GDC Mumbai city portfolio — MaharashtraSTT GDC India · Mumbai and Navi Mumbai · 133 MW across six cards, excluding Navi Mumbai 4 and Palava

Record PRJ-108Maharashtra — Mumbai and Navi MumbaiTier D — operator aggregate6 public sources checkedAdditive: no — counts 0 MW
Six cards reconcileCounts 0 MW in the statePortfolio aggregate89% in Navi Mumbai
133MW
Portfolio headline
6
Buildings inside it
119MW
Navi Mumbai share
14MW
Mumbai city share
36MW
Navi Mumbai 4, excluded
400MW
Palava campus, separate

STT GDC India publishes a Mumbai city headline of 133 MW. It is not an estimate — it is exactly the sum of six building cards the company also publishes: 4, 1, 9, 28, 49 and 42 MW. That precision is rare in this registry and worth crediting. It also shows what the number is made of: 89% of it is in Navi Mumbai, 14 MW is in Mumbai city, and one of those Mumbai buildings is a single megawatt. The 36 MW under construction at Navi Mumbai 4 is excluded, the 400 MW Palava campus is separate and three times larger, and the whole 133 MW contributes nothing to the Maharashtra total.

1At a glance

Operator
STT GDC India
Scope
Mumbai city and Navi Mumbai facilities, as published on the current Mumbai page
Headline
133 MW, approximately, matching six published building cards exactly
The six cards
Mumbai 1 4 MW, Mumbai 2 1 MW, Mumbai 3 9 MW, Navi Mumbai 1 28 MW, Navi Mumbai 2 49 MW, Navi Mumbai 3 42 MW
Excluded from the headline
Navi Mumbai 4 at 36 MW, under construction; and the Palava campus, tracked separately
Basis
Not stated. No site publishes IT or gross, and no site publishes a rack count
Company scale
Over 400 MW of critical IT load in operation and development across 30 facilities in 10 cities, per the operator
Status
Operational and expanding. Stage varies by building and is not date-stamped per card
Additivity
Not additive. Counted at 0 MW, with every child flagged as inside this aggregate

2The 133 is exactly six cards

Most portfolio headlines in this registry cannot be reconciled to anything. This one can, which makes it the best-behaved aggregate in the file.

The reconciliation
BuildingMWCumulativeStage stated
Mumbai 144unverified
Mumbai 215unverified
Mumbai 3914unverified
Navi Mumbai 12842unverified
Navi Mumbai 24991unverified
Navi Mumbai 342133unverified
Headline133exact match—

Six cards, one sum, no rounding. After four pages of CtrlS aggregates that do not reconcile and two parks that cannot be confirmed at all, this is the standard the rest of the file should be held to.

The cost of that honesty is visible too. Six cards reconcile, but not one of them states a stage. Every building is marked stage unverified in this registry because the operator page does not say which are live, which are filling and which are shells. A portfolio you can add up is not the same as a portfolio you can trust the status of.

3Eighty-nine per cent is Navi Mumbai

Called the Mumbai city portfolio, it is in practice a Navi Mumbai portfolio with a small city tail.

Palava campus, designPRJ-061 — separate, larger, not in the headline400 MWNavi Mumbai 1, 2 and 328 + 49 + 42 MW119 MWNavi Mumbai 4under construction, excluded from the headline36 MWMumbai city 1, 2 and 34 + 1 + 9 MW14 MWThe Mumbai city portfolio headline is 133 MW. Eighty-nine per cent of it is in Navi Mumbai. The campus under construction at Palava is three times the size of the lot.
Figure 1The Mumbai footprint by location. Navy is the Navi Mumbai base inside the headline, grey is Navi Mumbai 4 which is excluded, red-grey is the Mumbai city tail, and the pale bar is the Palava campus that is tracked separately.
What the location split means
MeasureMumbai cityNavi MumbaiReads as
Buildings33 in the headline, 1 more buildinga city tail and a suburban base
Capacity14 MW119 MW89% suburban
Average building4.7 MW39.7 MWthe city sites are legacy scale
Smallest1 MW28 MWone building is a single suite
Largest9 MW49 MWNavi Mumbai 2 is 3.5 times the whole city trio

This split matters for anyone pricing Mumbai capacity, because Mumbai city and Navi Mumbai are different products. City sites are close to customer premises and legacy enterprise, low-density and small. Navi Mumbai is where hyperscale halls, fibre landings and the new builds sit.

Quoting a single "Mumbai 133 MW" hides that difference. Half a dozen market notes in this file quote it, and none of them say that 14 of those megawatts are three small city buildings.

4What is excluded

A portfolio headline is only as useful as its perimeter, and this one has a clear edge to it.

Inside and outside the 133
RecordMWInside the headline?Why
Mumbai 1, 2 and 314yespublished city cards
Navi Mumbai 1, 2 and 3119yespublished city cards
Navi Mumbai 436nolisted as under development on the same page
Palava 150noseparate campus, tracked as PRJ-061
Palava 4 and 5121noseparate campus, tracked as PRJ-061

So the operator’s own disclosure set is 133 MW in the headline, 36 MW in development on the same page, and a separate Palava campus with 400 MW of design capacity. Total Maharashtra exposure: roughly 569 MW when the campus is included.

The distinction is not pedantry. A buyer sizing 2029 supply needs the 569, not the 133, and a state-level market number needs only the operating part, which is something less than 133 because the stage of each building is unstated.

5The next wave is bigger than the portfolio

Palava is the reason this portfolio page will look small in two years.

STT at Palava, against the operating portfolio
Current portfolioPalava campus
Capacity133 MW400 MW design
Buildings63 cards published: 50, 60.5, 60.5 MW
Statusoperating, stage unverifiedgroundbreaking March 2026, first 50 MW phase
Landestablished sites46 acres inside a planned data centre park
RecordPRJ-108PRJ-061

Palava is three times the current portfolio at design capacity, and the first phase alone is 50 MW — bigger than Navi Mumbai 2, the largest building in the current estate. Full detail is on PRJ-061.

The consequence for this record: the 133 MW is a legacy portfolio being overtaken. Anything built on the current number for a 2028 supply forecast will be wrong by the size of the new campus.

6Who owns it now

The ownership changed in September 2026, and it changes the read on the numbers above.

Ownership and control
ItemPosition
ParentSTT GDC, acquired by a KKR-led consortium with Singtel
DealAbout $5.2 billion for roughly 82%. KKR around 75%, Singtel around 25%
CompletedSeptember 2026
What it meansA financial owner with a five to seven year horizon, which usually accelerates buildout and then seeks an exit
Implication for capacitybuildout gets faster, not slower — Palava and Navi Mumbai 4 are the proof of intent
What it does not changeThe disclosure. Nothing in the ownership change adds a rack count, a PUE or a per-building status

Private equity ownership of Indian data centre platforms is now the norm rather than the exception, and it has a predictable effect on the public record: capital announcements get louder and technical disclosure stays thin. STT is a good example. A $5.2 billion transaction and still no rack count on any Indian building.

7Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
What to buy here
The per-building status and rack counts behind a 133 MW headline that reconciles perfectly but is not dated
Who holds the answer
STT GDC India commercial team; the KKR and Singtel transaction documents for the asset-level schedule
The one question
Which of the six buildings are fully let, and what is the rack count and PUE of each
Why they will answer it
A new owner has just published a valuation. Asset-level performance is in the data room and the team knows it
Gridvik estimate
Navi Mumbai 2 and 3 are the workhorses and near full; the three Mumbai city buildings are small and old. Labelled an estimate
What changes it
Any per-building rack count, PUE or occupancy statement
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

8Limits and open questions

  • No stage per building. All six are marked unverified because the operator page does not date them.
  • No basis. Not one card says IT load or gross capacity.
  • No rack counts, no floor areas, no PUE. Density is not computable anywhere in this portfolio.
  • Perimeter questions remain. Navi Mumbai 4 and the Palava cards are clearly outside the headline, but the operator does not state the rule.
  • Company-level figure is separate. The over 400 MW in operation and development across 10 cities is not a Mumbai number and is not used here.
  • What would close it. A per-building status table. The company clearly has one internally.

9Sources

Sources: STT GDC India Mumbai city page, STT GDC India corporate site, STT GDC facility pages for Mumbai and Navi Mumbai, Data Center Dynamics on the Palava groundbreaking and on the KKR and Singtel acquisition, and Indian market commentary on the Mumbai data centre market.