Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

NTT Mumbai BSE Data Center — Fort, MaharashtraNTT Global Data Centers · Fort, Mumbai · 0.3 MW critical IT load · 1 MW facility load · operational

Record PRJ-155Maharashtra — Fort, MumbaiTier A — operator-stated3 public sources checkedAdditive: yes — 0.3 MW counted
Both figures publishedOperational3.33 facility-to-IT ratioSmallest record in the registryCounted in full
0.3MW
Critical IT load
1MW
Total facility load
3.33
Facility-to-IT ratio
700kW
Overhead and losses
60
Racks at 5 kW each, est.
0.2%
Of NTT Mumbai's 161 MW

NTT's BSE data centre in Fort carries 0.3 MW of critical IT load inside a 1 MW facility. Both numbers are published by the operator, and divided they give a facility-to-IT ratio of 3.33. That is the highest in this registry and 2.25 times the overhead of NTT's own Chandivali hyperscale halls. It is also the smallest record in all 242 — three hundred kilowatts, roughly sixty cabinets at five kilowatts each, about 0.2% of what NTT counts in Mumbai. This is what a legacy exchange-district site looks like when the numbers are finally put side by side: you are not buying efficiency at Fort, you are buying microseconds, and the electricity bill is the price of the location.

1At a glance

Operator
NTT Global Data Centers — NTT DATA, formerly Netmagic
Facility
BSE Data Center, Fort, Mumbai
Capacity
0.3 MW critical IT load — operator-stated
Facility load
1 MW — operator-stated, same page
Ratio
3.33 facility kW per IT kW — arithmetic on the two published figures
Racks
Not published. About 60 at 5 kW each, or 30 at 10 kW — inferred, not stated
Stage
Operational
Role
Exchange-district proximity site, not a capacity site
Counted
Additive. 0.3 MW counted in this registry

2Three hundred kilowatts is a category, not a rounding error

In a registry where one building is 62 MW, a 0.3 MW record looks like a data entry. It is not. It is a different kind of asset, and the difference is visible the moment you divide the two numbers the operator publishes.

BSE, Fort1000 kW facility for 300 kW IT333%Vikhroli6 MVA facility for 2.4 MW IT250%Mumbai 7, Chandivali38 MW facility for 25.6 MW IT148%Vikhroli IV4 MVA facility for 3 MW IT133%NTT publishes both halves of each pair. The ratios are arithmetic. Only Mumbai 7's is close to a figure anyone would call a PUE.
Figure 1Four NTT buildings where both the IT and the facility figures are public. Same operator, same city, a two-and-a-half-times spread in how much plant stands behind each megawatt.

NTT does something almost no Indian operator does: it publishes critical IT load and total facility load on the same page. For BSE that is 0.3 and 1.0. For Mumbai 7 it is 25.6 and 38. For Vikhroli it is 2.4 and 6 MVA. For Vikhroli IV it is 3 and 4 MVA.

Put the four pairs on one axis and the pattern is not about engineering quality. It is about scale. A megawatt of chillers, pumps, switchgear, UPS losses and battery rooms is a fixed cost. Spread it across 25.6 MW of IT and it is 1.48. Spread the same plant across 0.3 MW of IT and it is 3.33.

Why the small sites are not cheap

A small facility is not a small version of a big one. Below about 2 MW the fixed overhead stops scaling, so every rentable kilowatt carries a disproportionate share of the plant.

That is why edge and exchange-district sites are sold on latency, compliance and proximity — never on price per kilowatt.

3What 3.33 costs per megawatt

The ratio is not an abstraction. It converts into rupees per megawatt per year, at the registry’s standard assumption of Rs 8 per kWh and 80% average loading.

Annual power cost per megawatt of IT, by facility-to-IT ratio
RatioFacility load per MW ITAnnual energyAnnual costPremium vs Mumbai 7
1.48 — Mumbai 71.48 MW10,372 MWhRs 8.3 crore—
2.25 — Vikhroli, at 0.9 pf2.25 MW15,768 MWhRs 12.6 crore+Rs 4.3 crore
3.33 — BSE, Fort3.33 MW23,337 MWhRs 18.7 crore+Rs 10.4 crore

Read the last column slowly. For every megawatt of rentable IT it operates, a facility at 3.33 burns about Rs 10.4 crore a year more in electricity than a facility at 1.48. At BSE itself the absolute number is smaller — 0.3 MW does not move a national bill — but the unit economics are the worst in the file.

That is the arithmetic behind a fact the Indian market states without ever showing: small data centres cannot be sold on price. They are sold on where they are.

4Fort: what you are actually buying

Fort is the old financial district of Mumbai — the Bombay Stock Exchange, the Reserve Bank, the brokers, and the fibre routes that connect them. A data centre here is not a warehouse for servers. It is a latency instrument.

What the money buys at Fort
AttributeBSE, FortChandivali, Mumbai 9
Critical IT load0.3 MW62 MW facility, about 42 MW IT
Roughly60 cabinets6,000 cabinets
Distance to the exchangeminutes on footabout 20 km through Andheri
Facility-to-IT ratio3.33about 1.48
Cost per rentable kW2.25xbaseline
Bought forlatency and proximitycapacity and density

Both of these are NTT buildings. Both are in Mumbai. Both are counted at full value in this registry, and the registry total of 161 MW is 0.2% BSE and 38.5% Mumbai 9.

The honest way to hold the two together: the 62 MW building serves the workloads that scale, and the 0.3 MW building serves the ones that cannot move. If a tenant needs both, the small site will always be the expensive one, and it is the one that will never be expanded.

5Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
What to buy here
Exchange-district proximity capacity in Fort, at small cabinet counts
Who holds the answer
NTT Global Data Centers India commercial team
The one question
How many cabinets are available at BSE today, and is the 1 MW facility load fully committed
Why they will answer it
It is a small site with a captive financial-services audience and no expansion path
Gridvik estimate
About 60 cabinets at 5 kW, with the 1 MW facility load already largely committed. Labelled an estimate
What changes it
A published rack count, or a per-cabinet power specification for the BSE site
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

6Limits and open questions

  • 3.33 is arithmetic, not a published PUE. It assumes the 1 MW facility figure is total load including losses, and that both figures come from the same operating state.
  • Rack count is unpublished. The 60-cabinet figure on this page is inferred from a 5 kW assumption and is labelled as such.
  • Small-site ratios are not an efficiency verdict. Fixed plant does not scale below roughly 2 MW, so a high ratio at 0.3 MW is expected rather than diagnostic.
  • The Rs 8 per kWh tariff is the registry’s standard assumption, not a BSE contract rate. Mumbai HT commercial tariffs have run higher.
  • No PUE, no floor area, no cooling specification, no tenant list.
  • Relationship to BSE itself is not stated. The facility carries the exchange’s name; whether the exchange is a tenant, the anchor, or a naming convention is not established by public record.
  • What would close it. A rack count and a per-cabinet power figure. Two numbers would turn this from a curiosity into a comparable asset.

7Sources

Sources: NTT Global Data Centers Mumbai BSE facility page, NTT DATA global data center locations index, and this registry’s cross-record comparison of NTT Mumbai facility-to-IT pairs.