Kolkata 1A — KOL1-A — is the first building on NTT’s New Town campus, published today at 6.4 MW of planned client IT load. At the 2023 groundbreaking the same building was described as 6 MW of IT and 9 MW of facility load across 100,000 square feet. Those two descriptions give a facility-to-IT ratio of 1.50 on the earlier pair and nothing at all on the later one, because the current page publishes no facility figure for the building. The stage is the bigger problem. Coverage in February 2025 reported the campus launched. The operator’s page, read in October 2026, still says the building is planned. The registry therefore records 6.4 MW of capacity, publishes both figures, and counts zero. A building cannot be added to a market total on the strength of a LinkedIn post and a stale facility page.
1At a glance
26.0 or 6.4
Four hundred kilowatts is not a rounding error in a 6 MW building. It is 7%, and it is the difference between two primary sources from the same operator.
| Attribute | 2023 groundbreaking | Current operator page |
|---|---|---|
| Critical IT load | 6 MW | 6.4 MW |
| Facility load | 9 MW | not stated for the building |
| Ratio | 1.50 | cannot be computed |
| Floor area | 100,000 sq ft | not stated for the building |
| Building count on campus | three | two planned |
| Campus IT load | at least 25 MW | over 25 MW |
| Stage | due live within 12 to 15 months | planned |
The 2023 pair is the more useful of the two, even though it is older, because it is the only description with both halves of the ratio. Six megawatts of IT in nine megawatts of facility is 1.50 — the fourth independent confirmation of NTT’s house ratio in this registry, and it comes from a groundbreaking press conference rather than a brochure.
The current 6.4 MW figure has no facility load beside it. So the newer number is larger and less usable, which is a pattern that repeats across this file: the more recent the statement, the less it says.
A 2023 quote from the India chief executive carried both the IT load and the operational power requirement.
The 2026 facility page carries a bigger IT number and no context. For anyone trying to price the building, the older sentence is worth more.
3Launched or planned
This is the record’s central problem and the registry’s answer is deliberately unsatisfying.
| Source | Statement | Stage implied |
|---|---|---|
| NTT facility page, read Oct 2026 | planned client IT load for KOL1-A is 6.4 MW | planned |
| Data Center Dynamics, Feb 2025 | NTT has launched a new data centre in Kolkata | launched |
| W.media, Feb 2025 | inauguration of the new Kolkata data centre, 40 MW facility | launched |
| DatacenterMap | NTT has inaugurated its new Kolkata 1 Data Center | launched |
| Wikipedia list of West Bengal data centres | NTT, 40 MW, operational | operational |
| Times of India, Sep 2023 | operational by March 2024 | a schedule that passed |
Four sources say launched. One — the operator’s own page — says planned. The registry follows neither and records zero.
The reasoning is worth stating, because it is the rule this whole file runs on: if the operator has not published a commissioned capacity, no third party can establish one. A LinkedIn post announcing a facility, an inauguration attended by a state minister and a directory listing all describe an event. None of them describes megawatts that are energised and available.
The distinction is not pedantry. A Chinese or American investor reading “40 MW operational” in a public list will price Kolkata as a 40 MW market, when the number that matters is 6.4 MW in one building with a disputed stage.
Capacity recorded: 6.4 MW. Stage: disputed. Counted: zero.
This is the conservative answer and it will occasionally understate a market. It will not systematically overstate one, and the Indian market’s problem is systematic overstatement.
4What 6.4 MW means on this campus
A first building of 6.4 MW against a campus of 25 MW is an unusual shape, and it tells you how the campus will be built out.
| Measure | Value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Campus critical IT | at least 25 MW | operator |
| First building | 6.4 MW | operator |
| Share in phase one | about 26% | derived |
| Remainder | about 18.6 MW | derived by subtraction |
| Campus facility load | 40 MW | operator, the operational requirement |
| Ratio at campus level | 1.60 | 40 divided by 25 |
| First building ratio, 2023 figures | 1.50 | 9 MW facility for 6 MW IT |
Two observations. First, the campus ratio of 1.60 is above the 1.5 house standard, in the same way Bengaluru 2’s 1.67 is above it — small sites carry proportionately more plant. At 25 MW Kolkata is not a hyperscale campus and does not behave like one.
Second, a 6.4 MW first building followed by roughly 18.6 MW in the remaining buildings breaks NTT’s pattern of identical repeated modules. Every other campus in this file uses repeated buildings: three at 22.4 MW at Devanahalli, two at 17.4 MW at Chennai, four at Mahape. A 6.4 then an 18.6 is the only asymmetric campus in the registry.
Which is the strongest argument that there really are three buildings in Kolkata and the operator’s current two-building page is out of date. It is an inference and it is labelled as one.
5Procurement
6Limits and open questions
- Stage is disputed and the registry assigns no operating capacity. Four secondary sources say launched; the operator’s page says planned.
- Two published IT figures, 6.0 and 6.4 MW. Neither is adjudicated.
- The 1.50 ratio is computed from 2023 figures that may since have changed. It is used as an estimate, not a statement.
- The 18.6 MW remainder is derived by subtraction from a floor figure (“at least 25 MW”) and is not published.
- No rack count, PUE, occupancy or tenant list.
- The 100,000 sq ft building area comes from 2023 coverage, not from the current operator page.
- What would close it. One sentence from the operator confirming commissioned capacity. That is the entire gap on this record.
7Sources
Sources: NTT Global Data Centers Kolkata 1 facility page, Data Center Dynamics coverage of the February 2023 groundbreaking and February 2025 launch, W.media inauguration coverage, Times of India on the 2023 schedule, Varindia and Economic Times CIO on the groundbreaking statements, DatacenterMap listing, and Wikipedia’s list of West Bengal data centres.
