Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

L&T Vyoma Mahape BOM 02 — Navi MumbaiLarsen & Toubro Vyoma · Mahape, Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra · 40 MW IT · 2.45 acres · G+4 · Ground broken 21 January 2026 · Additive, 40 MW counted

Record PRJ-201Maharashtra — Navi MumbaiTier B — operator-published, stage early6 public sources checkedAdditive: yes — 40 MW counted
16.3 MW per acre, densest IT buildIT load stated explicitly30 MW in L&T’s own annual reviewNo completion dateNo capex disclosed
40MW
IT load
2.45acres
Site
16.3
MW per acre
G+4
Floors
2,500kg/m²
Floor loading
0
Completion dates given

L&T Vyoma — the digital infrastructure arm of Larsen & Toubro, formerly Cloudfiniti — held a Bhoomi Pujan on 21 January 2026 for a 40 MW green, AI-ready data centre at Mahape in Navi Mumbai, the first phase of a planned 100 MW campus. The operator’s own specification page is unusually specific: 40 MW of IT load, G+4 floors, a 2.45-acre site, 2,500 kg per square metre floor loading. Forty megawatts on two and a half acres is 16.3 MW per acre — the densest IT-load build in this registry, and denser than AirTrunk’s Chandivali at 12.9 on a facility basis. Not disclosed: a completion date, a capital cost, or a tenant.

1At a glance

Facility
L&T Vyoma Mahape BOM 02, Mahape, Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra
Operator
Larsen & Toubro Vyoma, the digital infrastructure arm of L&T, formerly Cloudfiniti
Capacity
40 MW of IT load — stated as IT, not facility, on the operator page
Site
2.45 acres
Land efficiency
16.3 MW per acre
Floors
G+4 — five levels
Floor loading
2,500 kg per sq m; AirTrunk and CapitaLand halls run lower
Lifts
Two 5-tonne elevators, loading dock and staging area
Cooling
Direct-to-chip liquid cooling, described as hybrid in the campus plan
Workloads
Build-to-suit, enterprise, neo-cloud, AI
Ground broken
21 January 2026 (Bhoomi Pujan)
Completion date
None disclosed
Capex
None disclosed
Counted in this registry
40 MW — additive

2Sixteen point three megawatts per acre

L&T Vyoma Mahape BOM 0240 MW IT on 2.45 acres, G+416.3 MW ITIron Mountain MUM campus93.8 MW facility at completion17.1 MW facilityCapitaLand Chennai 0153 MW gross on 4 acres13.3 MW grossAirTrunk BOM3 Chandivali48 MW facility on 3.71 acres12.9 MWAirTrunk BOM2 Mahape120 MW facility on 13.3 acres9.0 MWNoida 2 campus52.8 MW IT on 6 acres8.8 MW ITBases differ by row and the grey bar is a disputed campus claim. Measured on IT load, the red bar is the densest build in the file.
Figure 1 — land efficiency across the registry, with the basis stated per row. Iron Mountain’s 17.1 MW per acre is a campus completion claim on a 5.5-acre site and may be 8.9 if MUM-3 sits on a separate parcel; the L&T figure is a single building on a stated site.
Mahape BOM 02 against the densest builds in the file
BuildMWBasis and geometry
L&T Mahape BOM 0216.3 per acre40 MW IT on 2.45 acres, G+4
Iron Mountain MUM campus17.1 per acre93.8 MW facility at completion, 5.5 acres, disputed
CapitaLand Chennai 0113.3 per acre53 MW gross on 4 acres, floor area ratio 3.4
AirTrunk BOM3 Chandivali12.9 per acre48 MW facility on 3.71 acres
AirTrunk BOM1 Airoli10.4 per acre62 MW facility on 5.94 acres
AirTrunk BOM2 Mahape9.0 per acre120 MW facility on 13.3 acres
Noida 2 campus8.8 per acre52.8 MW IT on 6 acres

Compare the two Mahape rows, because they sit in the same node. AirTrunk BOM2 spreads 120 MW over 13.3 acres. L&T puts 40 MW on 2.45. AirTrunk’s build is a campus; L&T’s is a single G+4 building on an infill plot.

The floor loading is the other tell: 2,500 kg per square metre is heavier than a conventional raised-floor hall needs, and it is what lets a building stack high-density liquid-cooled halls on five levels.

Why this ratio is the one to watch

Indian data centre land in Navi Mumbai is scarce, expensive and does not scale. Every operator is solving the same equation: fixed land, rising megawatts.

16.3 MW of IT per acre is the current answer from a company that builds data centres for other people. It is also the answer that tells you what a 2,000 sq m MIDC plot in Mahape is now worth.

If this becomes the standard, the constraint on Indian capacity stops being land and becomes the substation — which is exactly what the rest of this registry shows.

3Thirty or forty megawatts

Two figures from the same company, four months apart
SourceDateFigureContext
L&T press release and trade coverageJan 202640 MWBhoomi Pujan, first phase of a 100 MW campus
Operator specification page202640 MW IT loadMahape BOM 02, G+4, 2.45 acres
L&T annual review, hyperscale roadmap202630 MWLNT NMP 1 Mahape, status feasibility completed
Inc42 featureAug 2026two facilities of about 40 MW eachCampus potentially scaling to 100 MW

The annual review’s 30 MW is the interesting one, because it is the sober document. A company’s annual review lists the project on a status table next to its live assets; a press release announces a ceremony. Where they disagree, the review is more likely to reflect current design.

The most likely explanation is a 40 MW nameplate against a 30 MW first fit-out — the building is designed for 40 and the initial power draw is 30. The registry carries 40 MW because that is the figure published twice, in the release and on the specification page, and it flags the 30 MW rather than resolving it.

The campus arithmetic is also unresolved. The release says 100 MW campus; the Inc42 account describes two facilities of around 40 MW each. Forty plus forty is 80 MW, which leaves 20 MW unaccounted for in the campus plan.

4No completion date, from the country’s largest contractor

Larsen & Toubro is the largest construction and engineering company in India. This is the one operator in the registry whose build timeline should be the most predictable, and it has published the least.

What L&T disclosed and what it did not
DisclosedNot disclosed
Site area, 2.45 acresCompletion date
IT load, 40 MWCapex for the building
Floors, G+4Substation voltage and capacity
Floor loading, 2,500 kg per sq mAnchor tenant or pre-let status
Cooling, direct-to-chip liquidPhase schedule for the 100 MW campus
Workload targetsSecond Mahape building timing

An EPC contractor building for itself has a structural cost advantage: no contractor margin, no third-party programme risk, and full visibility of construction pricing. That is presumably why L&T entered this market and why it is targeting build-to-suit and neo-cloud workloads rather than pure wholesale hyperscale.

The commercial read for a tenant or an investor: a 40 MW IT building at 16.3 MW per acre in Mahape, with no announced schedule, is a capacity option, not capacity. It should be priced as an option until a completion date exists.

The corporate context is also live. L&T is transferring its data centre and cloud services business into its wholly owned subsidiary Vyoma.AI for ₹1,400 crore by way of a slump sale, expected to complete by 31 October 2026 — five days after this record was verified.

5Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
What to buy here
The densest IT-load build in the registry, from a contractor that controls its own construction cost
Where the capacity is
Mahape, Navi Mumbai. 40 MW IT on 2.45 acres, G+4, ground broken January 2026
Who holds the answer
L&T Vyoma, moving into Vyoma.AI Limited; the project team is in Navi Mumbai
The one question
What is the completion date and the phase-one megawatt figure
Why they will answer it
A listed parent discloses capital commitments and project milestones in its segment reporting
Gridvik estimate
First capacity in 2028 on a normal Indian G+4 build from January 2026. Labelled an estimate
What changes it
A completion date, a capex figure, or a named anchor tenant
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

6Limits and open questions

  • No completion date and no capex. The release is explicit that no timeline was given.
  • 30 MW in L&T’s annual review against 40 MW in the release. Unresolved; the registry counts 40 MW and flags the conflict.
  • The 100 MW campus does not reconcile with “two facilities of about 40 MW each”. Twenty megawatts are unaccounted for.
  • No substation is published — no voltage, no MVA, no connection date. At 40 MW that is the binding constraint.
  • 2.45 acres is a single-source figure from a directory listing of the operator’s specification page.
  • 16.3 MW per acre uses the 2.45-acre site. If the plot includes common campus land, the true ratio is lower.
  • 40 MW is counted as IT load, which is the tightest scope published for this record.
  • What would close it. A completion date and a substation capacity. Nothing else in the record is missing.

7Sources

Sources: the Larsen & Toubro Vyoma press release of 21 January 2026; The Hindu and ETV Bharat coverage of the same date; the L&T annual review data centre roadmap; the L&T Vyoma Mumbai data centre specification page; a directory listing of the Mahape BOM 02 specifications; and Inc42 coverage of the Vyoma.AI restructuring.