Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

Colt DCS Mumbai 3 — Navi MumbaiColt Data Centre Services and RMZ · Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra · 64 MW · 64 MW secured contracted power · Fully pre-let · Construction from 15 October 2026

Record PRJ-208Maharashtra — Navi MumbaiTier B — under construction, itemised7 public sources checkedAdditive: yes — 64 MW counted
Fully pre-let before construction220 kV GIS on campus64 MW countedNo completion dateTenant not named
64MW
Capacity
100%
Pre-let
74%
Of the 86 MW campus
700+
Jobs cited
220kV
GIS substation
0
Completion dates

Mumbai 3 is a 64 MW AI-ready data centre at the Colt DCS and RMZ Navi Mumbai campus. It is described as delivering 64 MW of secured contracted power — the megawatts are already sold — and it is fully pre-let. Ground preparation began in December 2025; construction started on 15 October 2026, after the first hyperscale customer was signed. It takes the campus from 22 MW to 86 MW operational, against a stated potential of 148 MW, and it is cooled by a hybrid of air and direct liquid-to-chip in a closed loop with near-zero wastewater. No completion date and no building cost are published.

1At a glance

Facility
Mumbai 3, Navi Mumbai campus, Maharashtra
Operator
Colt Data Centre Services and RMZ, 50:50 joint venture
Capacity
64 MW of secured contracted power
Occupancy
Fully pre-let before construction
Tenant
A first hyperscale customer — not named
Ground preparation
December 2025
Construction start
15 October 2026
Completion
Not disclosed
Campus after completion
86 MW operational against 148 MW potential
Cooling
Hybrid: air plus direct liquid-to-chip, closed loop, near-zero wastewater
Energy
100% renewable
Power
220 kV GIS substation on campus
Employment
700+ construction and operations jobs cited
Capital
Part of the US$1.7 billion JV programme; building cost not disclosed
Counted in this registry
64 MW — additive

2Sixty-four megawatts of contracted power

The phrase secured contracted power is doing more work than it looks like it is.

What the disclosure says and what it implies
StatementHoldsImpliedStrength of evidence
64 MW of secured contracted powerYesPower arranged and soldCompany statement
Fully pre-letYesWhole building committed to one customerCompany statement
First hyperscale customer signedYesNamed to the companies, not to the marketCompany statement
Tenant identitynot disclosedAn unnamed hyperscalerMissing
Lease term and rentnot disclosedThe numbers that price the assetMissing
Completion datenot disclosedRevenue start cannot be modelledMissing
Building costnot disclosedUS$1.7bn is the programme, not this buildingMissing

Three of the seven rows are missing, and they are the three that would let anyone value the asset. What the disclosure does establish is that a 64 MW AI-ready building in Navi Mumbai was sold before it was built, and that is a genuine change in the structure of the Indian market.

Compare the two ends of this campus

In September 2023 the first phase launched with 18 of 22 MW available — 82% vacant, priced by the market.

In October 2026 a 64 MW building starts construction with zero megawatts available — priced by a lease.

That is a three-year transition from speculative to pre-let, on the same fifteen acres, by the same operator. It is the most consequential shift in Indian data centre economics in this cycle.

3What 64 MW does to the campus

The campus arithmetic
StageMWShare of potential
Mumbai 1 and Mumbai 2, live2215%
Mumbai 3 under construction6443%
Campus operational after Mumbai 38658%
Remaining potential6242%
Full development148100%
Mumbai 3 as a multiple of live capacity2.9×One building, three campuses

One building multiplies the campus 3.9 times — from 22 MW to 86 MW. That is the same pattern as AirTrunk in Mumbai and Iron Mountain at MUM-3: in the Indian market, a single AI-specification building is worth more than the entire history of the site it sits on.

It is also why the 148 MW potential should be read sceptically. Two thirds of it is a plot, a substation and a design assumption. Only the 64 MW has a contractor on site.

The Mahape to Airoli belt now publishes, in this registry alone, AirTrunk BOM1 at 62 MW, AirTrunk BOM2 at 120 MW, L&T at 100 MW planned and this campus at 148 MW — 430 MW of published capacity within a few kilometres, against a live figure in the tens of megawatts.

4Cooling, water and the AI specification

The technical content of this announcement is more specific than most, and two details are worth isolating.

The specification as published
ElementDetailWhy it matters commercially
Cooling architectureHybrid air plus direct liquid-to-chipThe only way to serve racks above about 30 kW
WaterClosed loop, near-zero wastewaterThe binding constraint on new Mumbai capacity
Renewable energy100%Increasingly a procurement gate for global tenants
Substation220 kV GIS on campusThe voltage class 64 MW requires
Power basisSecured contracted powerNot a land capability claim
Density per racknot disclosedCannot compute the hall count

Direct liquid-to-chip is the tell that this building is not a 2020 colocation hall. Air cooling becomes impractical above roughly 20 to 25 kW per rack; AI GPU racks run well beyond that. Every new build in this registry that names its cooling names liquid, and it is the single best indicator that a facility is AI-era rather than retrofit.

The closed-loop, near-zero wastewater design is the other. Water is the constraint nobody prices yet: Mumbai and Chennai data centres draw heavily on municipal supply, and the operators that publish water-neutral cooling designs will win the next round of hyperscale tenders on that alone.

Neither of those facts is in a capacity total. Both change what a megawatt in this building is worth.

5Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
What to buy here
Nothing — the building is fully let. Buy it as evidence of what pre-let AI capacity clears at
Where the capacity is
Navi Mumbai campus. 64 MW, fully committed
Who holds the answer
Colt DCS and RMZ; the tenant is an unnamed hyperscaler
The one question
Who is the tenant, on what term, and at what rate per megawatt
Why they will answer it
The JV will need to refinance or sell against this lease within three years
Gridvik estimate
First revenue in 2028 on a normal build cycle from October 2026. Labelled an estimate
What changes it
A named tenant, a lease term, a completion date, or an RMZ capital event against the asset
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

6Limits and open questions

  • No completion date. Neither party discloses when the building delivers.
  • No building cost. US$1.7 billion is the JV programme across Mumbai and Chennai.
  • The tenant is unnamed and no lease term is published. Concentration and duration risk cannot be assessed.
  • 64 MW is secured contracted power, and the IT versus gross basis is not stated.
  • Rack density is not disclosed, so the number of data halls and the IT fit-out cannot be computed.
  • 700+ jobs is a company claim and is not verified.
  • 64 MW is counted. It is the only megawatt figure in this campus family that enters a national total.
  • What would close it. A completion date and a named tenant. Both are knowable and neither is public.

7Sources

Sources: the Colt DCS and RMZ Mumbai 3 release of 15 October 2026; PR Newswire and Yahoo Finance distribution of the same release; ET Datacenters, Datacenter Magazine, Data Center Dynamics, The Tech Capital and CRN Asia coverage; and Unite.AI.