Get Free Teaser
Facility record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

Sify Bangalore 02 — Aerospace ParkSify Technologies · KIADB Aerospace Park, Bengaluru, Karnataka · 7 MW live · 22+ MW two towers · 40+ MW campus · 4,500+ racks · Inaugurated January 2026

Record PRJ-226Karnataka — Aerospace Park, BengaluruTier B — operating, three capacity scopes6 public sources checkedAdditive: yes — 7 MW counted
Live, AI-ready, liquid cooling specifiedTwo towers, 4,500+ racks planned7 MW live inside a 40 MW campusNo investment figure disclosed at inauguration
7MW
Live
22MW+
Two towers
40MW+
Campus
4,500+
Racks
17.5%
Campus built
13%
Of Karnataka, with 225

Bangalore 02 sits in KIADB Aerospace Park, in north Bengaluru, and is Sify’s answer to the AI campus demand that Noida 02 and Chennai 02 already serve. The inauguration page describes two towers, 22+ MW of IT capacity and 4,500+ racks, AI-ready with liquid cooling, on a campus designed for 40+ MW. The current portfolio card lists 7 MW. Karnataka’s industries minister confirmed the inauguration in January 2026 and, per the trade report, Sify disclosed neither the capacity nor the investment — while the company’s own website was already publishing both. At 7 MW the building is 17.5% of its own campus, and Sify’s two Bengaluru sites together are 13% of Karnataka’s 90.72 MW.

1At a glance

Campus
Sify Bangalore 02, KIADB Aerospace Park, Bengaluru, Karnataka
Operator
Sify Technologies, via Sify Infinit Spaces
Status
Live; inaugurated January 2026
Live IT power
7 MW on the current portfolio card
Two-tower plan
22+ MW and 4,500+ racks per the inauguration page
Campus design
40+ MW of IT power
Build
Two towers, vertical and horizontal expansion
Cooling
Liquid cooling, AI-ready
Positioning
“Empowering the Next Wave of AI”, per the portfolio card
Disclosed investment
Not published at inauguration or since
Share of its own campus
17.5% at 7 MW of 40 MW
Sify in Karnataka
11.82 MW across Bangalore 01 and 02
Share of Karnataka’s 90.72 MW
13.0%
Counted in this registry
7 MW — additive

2Seven, twenty-two or forty

Campus, Aerospace Parkdesigned capacity, 202640+ MWTwo towers, inauguration page4,500+ racks22+ MWCurrent portfolio cardOctober 20267 MWThe card figure describes what is energised. The other two describe what the site can hold. The building is 17.5% of its own campus.
Figure 1 — three capacities for one address, each answering a different question: what is switched on, what two towers will hold, and what the site can be built out to.
Each figure and what it describes
FigureSourceMWScope
Campus designSify Infinit Spaces40+Aerospace Park campus, planned build-out
Two towersInauguration page22+4,500+ racks, liquid cooled, AI-ready
Portfolio cardOctober 20267The figure the operator publishes as current
This registry—7Live capacity counted; the other two are plans

The three figures are consistent and they are not comparable. 7 MW is a delivered building. 22 MW is what two towers will hold. 40 MW is what the land can carry. A registry that counted 40 would be counting a permit.

Which is why the 22 MW figure deserves a closer look, because it is the one that sits between a fact and a plan. Two towers at 22 MW across 4,500 racks is 4.9 kW a cabinet. That is an enterprise density — the same class as Bangalore 01 in its 2022 state — attached to a campus that Sify describes as AI-ready with liquid cooling and, elsewhere in the same estate, advertises 130 kW a rack.

The density figure that does not fit the description

A campus billed as AI-ready at 4.9 kW a rack is AI-ready in the sense that a hall can be re-fitted later, not in the sense that it can host a training cluster on day one.

That is not a criticism — it is the sensible way to build. Enterprise halls pay the bills while AI demand firms up, and re-powering 4.9 kW racks upward is exactly what Bangalore 01 has already done.

But it means the 22 MW figure is an enterprise number, and a tenant planning a GPU deployment should not read it as 22 MW of liquid-cooled AI capacity. At 130 kW a cabinet, 22 MW is 169 racks, not 4,500.

3The inauguration that disclosed nothing

On 21–22 January 2026 a trade report carried the news that Sify would open a new data centre in Karnataka, with the state’s industries minister quoted as confirming the facility was expected to be inaugurated shortly. The same report states plainly that Sify had not disclosed capacity or investment figures.

That is worth recording because it is unusual, and because the number the minister did not have was public on the company’s own website: 22+ MW across two towers, 4,500+ racks, 40+ MW campus.

What the inauguration did and did not say
ItemDisclosedWhere
The fact of the openingYesState government and trade press, January 2026
LocationYesKIADB Aerospace Park, north Bengaluru
Capacity at the announcementNoExplicitly not disclosed to the minister
InvestmentNoNot published at any date since
Capacity on the operator siteYes22+ MW, 4,500+ racks, 40+ MW campus
Anchor tenantNoNo named customer for the tower

For a market-intelligence file this is the useful asymmetry. A state can announce a facility, a minister can open it, and the only capacity number in existence can sit on a marketing page that nobody in the announcement process reads. Karnataka’s own pipeline reporting therefore carries this campus without a megawatt figure attached.

The absent investment figure matters commercially too. Bangalore 02 has no disclosed capex, so it cannot be placed on this registry’s cost ladder — the only Karnataka build that can is NTT Bengaluru 4 at ₹2,400 crore for 67.2 MW, or ₹35.7 crore per MW, the cheapest disclosed rate in the file. Karnataka land is cheap and Bengaluru power is not, and the absence of a Bangalore 02 number leaves the most important new campus in the state unpriced.

4AI-ready on an enterprise rack count

Two towers, two ways to fill 22 MW
ConfigurationRacks at 22 MWDensity
As published4,5004.9 kW per rack
Enterprise grade, higher density2,20010.0 kW per rack
Modern AI hall169130.0 kW per rack
Bangalore 01 today, as a benchmark6008.0 kW per rack

The same 22 MW supports three completely different businesses depending on the cabinet density. Sify has published the rack count, which fixes the plan at the enterprise end. The liquid-cooling specification leaves the door open to re-powering, and Bangalore 01 shows the company has already done exactly that at its other site.

There is a straightforward commercial read. Bangalore 02 is built to be re-powered. Two towers, 4,500 racks, a 40 MW site allowance and a liquid-cooling capability: the shell is sized for the AI decade, the halls are fitted for the enterprise decade, and the difference between them is a fit-out rather than a rebuild.

For a tenant that means a specific question. Not how many megawatts does the campus have — but which halls are already at high density, and can a new customer choose density or only take the standard build. The published material does not answer it.

5Bengaluru in a 90.72 MW state

Karnataka counts 90.72 MW across 19 records in this registry — a modest total for a state that hosts the country’s largest technology cluster, and a fraction of Maharashtra’s 786.4 MW or Tamil Nadu’s 296.6 MW.

Sify against the rest of Karnataka
Operator or siteMW countedNote
NTT Bengaluru 467.2Disclosed at ₹2,400 crore, the cheapest rate in the file
Sify Bangalore 027This record, live January 2026
Sify Bangalore 014.82Electronic City, built 2006
NTT Bengaluru 2 and 316.5Two smaller operating buildings
Sify, both sites11.8213.0% of the state
Karnataka total90.7219 records, additive only

Two facts sit oddly together. Bengaluru is India’s technology capital and Karnataka is the fifth-largest state in this registry by counted capacity. The reason is not demand but land and power: the state’s capacity sits in a handful of large campuses, and NTT Bengaluru 4 alone is 74% of everything counted in Karnataka.

That concentration is the opportunity Sify is buying with Aerospace Park. A second hyperscale node in a city with 90 MW of capacity and the country’s densest enterprise demand is a straightforward bet — and it is the reason a 7 MW live building on a 40 MW site deserves a record of its own.

6Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
What to buy here
AI-ready enterprise colocation in north Bengaluru, on a two-tower campus with liquid cooling and 40+ MW of site headroom
Where it is
KIADB Aerospace Park, Bengaluru. 7 MW live, 22+ MW planned across two towers, 4,500+ racks
Who holds the answer
Sify Technologies enterprise and hyperscale sales, Bengaluru
The one question
Which halls are at high density today, and can a tenant specify rack density or only take the standard build
Why they will answer it
A newly opened asset that needs anchor tenants, with an IPO process that rewards contracted capacity
Gridvik estimate
The 22 MW plan implies 4.9 kW a rack — an enterprise build, not an AI hall. Labelled arithmetic
What changes it
A named anchor tenant, a capex figure, or a density schedule for the two towers
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

7Limits and open questions

  • Three published capacities — 7, 22+ and 40+ MW. The registry counts 7 MW, the only delivered figure.
  • No capex is published for Bangalore 02, so it cannot be placed on the cost ladder.
  • The inauguration reported no capacity; the 22 MW figure comes from the operator\’s own event page.
  • No anchor tenant is named and no pre-let is disclosed.
  • The 4,500+ rack figure implies 4.9 kW a cabinet, which is inconsistent with an AI-hyperscale description and is treated here as a specification question, not an error.
  • No PUE, no site area and no energisation schedule are published for either tower.
  • What would close it. Capex, an anchor tenant, and a per-tower megawatt and density schedule.

8Sources

Sources: the Sify data centre portfolio page; the Sify Bangalore 02 inauguration event page with the two-tower, 22-plus MW and 4,500-plus rack specification; Sify Infinit Spaces Bengaluru and portfolio pages with the 40-plus MW campus; the Sify Europe and US Bangalore data centre pages; Data Center Pulse on the January 2026 inauguration; DataCenterLocations and Baxtel specifications.