Get Free Teaser
Pipeline record · Verified 26 Oct 2026

CtrlS Bodh Gaya — 150 MW AI factoryCtrlS Datacenters · Bodh Gaya, Gaya district, Bihar · 150 MW reported under a non-binding letter of intent

Record PRJ-088Bihar — Bodh GayaTier E — announcement only8 public sources checkedAdditive: no
Letter of intent onlyCampus proposalNo site or permitCounts zero MW
150MW
Reported capacity
₹10,000cr
Reported investment
₹66.7cr
Per megawatt
0
Megawatts built
12.4×
Bihar’s entire counted base
3.4%
Of CtrlS’s 4.4 GW target

On 13 October 2026, at the inauguration of its Patna data centre, CtrlS signed a letter of intent with the Government of Bihar to invest ₹10,000 crore in a 150 MW hyperscale AI factory at Bodh Gaya. That is ₹66.7 crore a megawatt — and the building the same company had just opened, 100 kilometres away on the same day, cost about ₹34.5 crore a megawatt. No land, power connection, construction schedule or precise site has been published. This record adds zero megawatts to the registry, and it is a record anyway, because the price of a promise is the most useful number in the file.

1At a glance

Operator
CtrlS Datacenters Limited, the Hyderabad-based Rated-4 operator
Project
A 150 MW hyperscale AI factory at Bodh Gaya, Gaya district, Bihar
Instrument
A letter of intent with the state government, signed 13 October 2026. Non-binding
Reported investment
₹10,000 crore, described in coverage as about US$1.05 billion
Implied cost
About ₹66.7 crore a megawatt, at the top of this registry’s new-build range
Capacity basis
Not stated. Whether 150 MW is IT load, facility load or a mixed figure is not disclosed
Status
Announcement only. No land allotment, power approval, permit, site plan or construction schedule published
What it would mean
Twelve times Bihar’s entire counted data centre capacity, which is 12.1 MW
Additivity
Not additive. It contributes nothing to the registry’s counted capacity

2₹66.7 crore a megawatt

Divide the promise by the promise and you get a price. Put it beside the price of the building the same company opened the same day and the gap is the story.

Bodh Gaya AI factory — a letter of intent₹10,000 crore ÷ 150 MW₹66.7 crPatna Edge DC 2 — an inaugurated building₹400 crore ÷ 11.6 MW₹34.5 crCtrlS Kolkata, the operator’s own quote₹35 crore a megawatt₹35 crThe letter of intent is priced at nearly twice the cost per megawatt of the building the same company had just opened. The difference is not efficiency — it is what is being promised.
Figure 1Three figures from one company. The red bar is a letter of intent; the navy bar is a building with a foundation and a chief minister in it.
The same company, three prices
ItemBasis₹ crore per MW
Bodh Gaya, as announced₹10,000 crore ÷ 150 MW66.7
Kolkata phase one, as announced₹370 crore ÷ 16 MW23.1
Patna Edge DC 2, as announced₹400 crore ÷ 11.6 MW34.5
CtrlS Kolkata, the operator’s own quotestated directly35.0
Kolkata campus, as announced₹2,200 crore ÷ 60 MW36.7
This registry’s new-build bandother operators’ disclosures52 to 70

Four of the five CtrlS figures sit between ₹23 and ₹37 crore a megawatt — a company that builds cheaply, consistently, in tier-2 cities, on land it gets from state governments. The fifth is the letter of intent, at nearly double.

Two explanations fit and Gridvik does not choose between them. An AI factory is a different building: denser power, liquid cooling, more expensive electrical topology, possibly its own generation and a green-energy package. Or the ₹10,000 crore includes things a colocation shell does not: land at commercial rates, a solar plant, and fit-out that a colocation operator normally leaves to its tenants. Both are ordinary. Neither is published.

What the gap is worth to a reader

If Bodh Gaya is really an AI-grade build, ₹66.7 crore a megawatt tells you what AI capacity costs in India in 2026, and it is 1.9× what colocation costs the same firm.

If it is a colocation shell with a bigger number attached, then ₹66.7 crore is a marketing figure and the real build will come in near ₹35. Anyone pricing a competing AI campus needs to know which.

3Why the price is double

Four reasons a letter of intent costs more per megawatt
ReasonWhat it would do to the number
DensityAn AI hall at 100 to 170 kW a rack needs liquid cooling, much heavier electrical distribution and a different building. Cost per megawatt rises before cost per rack does
ScopeA colocation shell leaves white space for the tenant. An AI factory may include the IT it serves, which moves the number by a factor of two or more
EnergyIf a captive solar plant is inside the ₹10,000 crore, several hundred megawatts of generation are being bought with it
LandState allotment versus open-market purchase, which in Bihar is cheap and in Maharashtra is not

There is a fifth explanation that costs nothing to state: a letter of intent is written before anything is designed, and the number in it is a headline that both parties want to be large. ₹10,000 crore is a round figure with a lot of zeroes and it converts neatly into a billion dollars, which is the currency a government press release prefers.

What is not in doubt is the operating company’s direction. CtrlS says it will build over 4.4 GW by 2030. A rating agency projects its operational capacity at 950 to 1,000 MW by 2029. This letter of intent is 3.4% of the company target and 15% of the analyst projection, and it is the largest single announcement the company has made in Bihar.

4Bodh Gaya

Bodh Gaya is a pilgrimage town of about forty thousand people in Gaya district, and a UNESCO World Heritage site. It is not an obvious place to put 150 MW of accelerated computing, and that is worth saying plainly rather than treating as a puzzle.

What a 150 MW site needs that Bodh Gaya has not published
RequirementStatus
Landnot allotted in any public document
Power connectionnot stated. 150 MW of IT load is roughly 230 MW of facility load at a PUE of 1.55
Waternot stated. At a published benchmark of 20 MLD per gigawatt, 150 MW implies about 3 MLD, or three million litres a day
Fibre routenot stated. The nearest large cable landing is hundreds of kilometres east
Construction schedulenot stated
Anchor customernot stated

None of those is disqualifying. Bihar has land, it has a government that wants data centres, and Gaya has an international airport used by pilgrims. A site 100 kilometres from Patna can be served from the state capital’s utilities and workforce.

But three million litres of water a day in a district that is not documented as water-surplus is the question a serious buyer asks first. The state has not published an allocation, and neither has the company.

5A letter of intent is not a project

In this registry, an announcement gets a record and no megawatts. That is the whole discipline, and this record is the clearest example of why.

What has to happen before 150 MW becomes capacity
StageEvidenced today
Letter of intentyes, reported 13 to 15 October 2026
Definitive agreementno
Land allotment or purchaseno
Power sanction or connection agreementno
Environmental or building permitno
Construction startno
First phase energisedno

Every step above has failed to happen for large Indian data centre announcements within the last two years, several of them in this registry. Some have failed at step two. A registry that counted letters of intent would be a press-release index, and its total would be meaningless — the counted total here is 2,420.4 MW across 241 additive records precisely because the announcements are held outside it.

Where this record will be in a year

Either a land allotment, a power sanction and a foundation stone appear, and the record is upgraded with a phase-one capacity.

Or nothing appears, and the record stays exactly this size — a ₹10,000 crore sentence with a date on it. Both outcomes are useful, because the reader can see which one happened.

6Timeline

  • At the Patna inauguration, CtrlS signs a letter of intent with the Bihar government for ₹10,000 crore and a 150 MW AI factory at Bodh Gaya
  • The Bihar chief minister sets a target of 1,000 MW of data centre capacity in the state over five years
  • Coverage reports the announcement as a commitment, with the investment variously described as ₹10,000 crore and US$1.05 billion
  • No land, power, permit, site or construction information for the project in the public record

7Limits and open questions

What this record is
A 150 MW, ₹10,000 crore proposal under a non-binding letter of intent, dated and attributable to a named company and a named state
What it is not
A project. There is no site, no permit, no power and no construction
What Gridvik will not do
We will not count it, we will not substitute the state’s 1,000 MW goal for the project’s 150 MW, and we will not describe Bodh Gaya as a data centre location on the strength of a letter
First question
Is the 150 MW IT load or total facility load? The difference is roughly 80 MW of electricity and several hundred crore of grid work
Second question
What is in the ₹10,000 crore? Land, generation, IT equipment and building are four different businesses, and the per-megawatt price only means something once you know which are included
Third question
Why Bodh Gaya rather than Patna, where the company already has 12 MW and a substation? The answer will say whether this is an infrastructure decision or a political one
Why this record matters
It is the largest data centre announcement in eastern India, it prices AI capacity at double the same company’s colocation cost, and it is a live test of whether Bihar’s 1,000 MW target produces anything
What changes the tier
A land record, a power sanction, a definitive agreement, or a first phase with a capacity and a date

8Sources

Sources: CtrlS Datacenters press material on the Bihar announcement, The Hindu BusinessLine, Reuters, Times of India, ETDatacenters, Data Centre Magazine, Whalesbook, ICRA commentary on CtrlS capacity, Frontline on water use in Indian data centres.