Get Free Teaser
Campus proposal · Letter of intent · Verified 26 Oct 2026

AirTrunk Raigad Pen — Pen Taluka, MaharashtraAirTrunk · Raigad Pen Growth Centre, Pen Taluka, Raigad district · 3 GW capacity claimed · ₹2 lakh crore announced · non-binding LoI

Record PRJ-185Maharashtra — RaigadTier C — letter of intent only7 public sources checkedAdditive: unknown — no facility capacity counted
Non-binding letter of intentNo power approval3 GW, no phasingData error corrected on this pageDated and attributed
3,000MW
Capacity claimed
₹2lakh cr
Announced investment
~$21bn
In dollars
1.24x
This registry's counted total
70%
Of the 5 GW programme
1,217
Acres, whole smart city

On 1 June 2026 the Government of Maharashtra issued AirTrunk a non-binding letter of intent for land at the Raigad Pen Growth Centre in Pen Taluka, for a data centre campus the Chief Minister described as 3 GW at completion, at an announced investment of about ₹2 lakh crore — roughly US$21.05 billion. Three gigawatts is 1.24 times everything this registry counts across all 242 records in every Indian state. It is 70% of AirTrunk’s entire US$30 billion, 5 GW India programme. It is also about three times India’s total operational data centre capacity as measured in 2024. What exists today is a letter. Not a land allotment confirmation, not a power approval, not an environmental clearance, not a phased schedule, and not a construction start. The page records it as the largest claim in the Indian market and treats it as exactly that.

1At a glance

Company
AirTrunk — Blackstone and CPPIB backed, entered India via Lumina CloudInfra in April 2026
Site
Raigad Pen Growth Centre, Pen Taluka, Raigad district, Maharashtra — a 1,217-acre smart city branded Orange City
Instrument
Letter of intent for land allotment, non-binding, exchanged 1 June 2026
Capacity claimed
3 GW at completion
Announced investment
about ₹2 lakh crore — roughly US$21.05 billion
Share of the programme
70% of AirTrunk’s US$30 billion, 5 GW India commitment
Power
Not specified. No power approval or procurement disclosed
Schedule
None. No phasing, no construction date, no capacity milestones
Registry status
Proposal only. Zero MW counted; additive flag unknown

23 GW against everything

The scale is best understood by putting it beside the numbers that can be checked.

Raigad Pen LoI3 GW at completion, non-binding3,000 MWThis registry, counted242 records2,420.4 MWAirTrunk 5 GW programmeto 20305,000 MWIndia, operational 2024per one market sourceabout 950 MWMegawatts. Red is a letter of intent. Navy is countable capacity. Pale is a 2030 target.
Figure 1Megawatts. Red is a letter of intent, navy is countable capacity, pale is a 2030 target, blue is India’s operational stock in 2024.
3 GW in context
ComparisonFigureMultiple
Raigad Pen LoI3,000 MW—
This registry, counted2,420.4 MW1.24x
AirTrunk’s whole India programme5,000 MW70%
India’s operational capacity, 2024about 950 MWabout 3.2x
Maharashtra, counted here786.4 MW3.8x
NTT India, counted181 MW16.6x
Telangana, counted341.3 MW8.8x

The fourth row is the one that decides whether this is credible. Three gigawatts is about three times the operational capacity of the entire Indian data centre market as measured in 2024, by a market source outside this registry.

That does not make it impossible. India has announced well over 8 GW of data centre capacity across operators, and a market in which demand is doubling every two to three years can absorb a 3 GW campus over a decade. But it does mean the campus would, on its own, be the Indian market.

For anyone using this record commercially, the useful sentence is: 3 GW is 1.24 times the counted national total, and it is a letter of intent. Both halves of that sentence are load-bearing.

3The ₹20,000 crore error in the source file

This record contains a data error in its own source file, and the registry flags it rather than propagating it. Publishing the correction is more useful than hiding it.

What each source says
SourceFigureCorrect?
Registry master file, this record₹20,000 crore, about US$21 billionno — internally inconsistent
Reuters, 1 June 2026US$21.05 billionprimary, attributed to the Chief Minister
Data Center Dynamics, 4 June 2026200 billion rupees — US$21 billionequivalent to ₹2 lakh crore
CNBC TV18, ANI, UNI₹2 lakh croreconsistent with the dollar figure
Forbesabout US$21 billionconsistent
Correct figureabout ₹2 lakh crore / US$21.05 billion—

The error is a factor of ten. ₹20,000 crore is about US$2.26 billion, not US$21 billion. The correct figure is ₹2 lakh crore, which is what the Government of Maharashtra, Reuters and the company all published.

It matters because the per-megawatt arithmetic changes completely. Three gigawatts at ₹20,000 crore would be ₹6.7 crore per megawatt — a fifth of the cost of any other Indian build in this file, and obviously wrong. At the correct ₹2 lakh crore it is ₹66.7 crore per megawatt, which sits sensibly above the ₹53 crore programme rate because this site needs new transmission at 3 GW scale.

Why this is published

A data product that silently fixes its own errors gives a buyer no way to judge its reliability.

A data product that shows the error, names the sources that resolve it, and states the corrected arithmetic gives a buyer exactly that. This page is doing the second.

4A letter of intent is not a project

What the LoI does and does not do is the whole commercial content of this record, and it is worth being mechanical about it.

Status of each requirement
RequirementStatusEvidence
Political commitmentyesChief Minister’s announcement, 1 June 2026
Letter of intent for land allotmentyesexchanged, non-binding
Land allotment confirmednoLoI precedes allotment
Power approval or allocationnonot disclosed at any level
Environmental clearancenonot disclosed
Phasing or capacity milestonesnonot disclosed
Construction startnonone
Commissioned capacitynonone
Binding investment commitmentnothe LoI is explicitly non-binding

Eight of nine rows are empty. The one that is filled is the one that generates headlines.

For a 3 GW campus the binding constraint is not land and not capital. It is power. No Indian state has 3 GW of spare transmission capacity sitting at a greenfield site in Raigad district waiting for a tenant, and delivering it would require a dedicated 400 kV or 765 kV corridor, generation contracts and years of regulatory process. None of that is published.

The registry records the claim, dates it, attributes it to the Chief Minister’s office and Reuters, and counts zero. It will stay at zero until a substation is energised.

5Pen, and the third Mumbai

The site is inside a state plan rather than a private parcel, which is why the political commitment is real even though the project is not.

The Raigad Pen Growth Centre
ItemDetail
LocationPen Taluka, Raigad district — the Konkan mainland south-east of Mumbai
Size1,217 acres of planned smart city, branded Orange City
State framingDescribed by the Chief Minister as the first city of a third Mumbai vision, modelled on Bandra Kurla Complex
Institutional stepMMRDA signed a shareholder agreement for the project on 18 April 2026
Who was present at the LoIChief Minister Devendra Fadnavis; Australia’s Consul-General Paul Murphy
AirTrunk’s share of the siteNot published. 3 GW on 1,217 acres would be 2.5 MW per acre across the whole city

Two and a half megawatts per acre across the entire smart city is the lowest land efficiency of any project in this registry — against 12.9 at Chandivali, 9.0 at Mahape and 7.4 at Chandanvelly. That is not a criticism of the plan; it is a description of a greenfield 1,217-acre site with room for roads, power infrastructure and setbacks.

The commercial angle for anyone following Indian data centres is that Raigad is the state’s answer to Navi Mumbai’s land constraint. Navi Mumbai is described by one market source as holding roughly 44% of India’s data centre capacity, and this registry counts 786.4 MW across all of Maharashtra. Either way, the Mumbai region is full, expensive and constrained by 220 kV capacity, and the state is opening a greenfield alternative 60 kilometres south.

Whether AirTrunk builds 3 GW there is a different question from whether Pen becomes a data centre district. The second is already government policy.

6Procurement

Procurement window and scope
Gridvik assessment · 22 Oct 2026
What to buy here
Nothing. This is a non-binding letter of intent with no power, no schedule and no allotment
Where the capacity is
Raigad Pen Growth Centre, Pen Taluka — 1,217 acres of planned smart city, 60 km south-east of Mumbai
Who holds the answer
AirTrunk India, and the Maharashtra state government on land and power
The one question
What is the power allocation, and at what voltage
Why they will answer it
Three gigawatts cannot proceed without a published transmission plan
Gridvik estimate
Zero capacity attributable to a parcel today, with a first phase unlikely before 2029 on any comparable Indian schedule. Labelled an estimate
What changes it
A power allocation, a land allotment order, or a phased capacity schedule
All estimates are labelled as estimates. No tender dates claimed, no private contact data published.
Unlock GridFeed →

7Limits and open questions

  • Non-binding letter of intent. Nine of nine project requirements are unmet apart from political commitment.
  • The source file carried a tenfold error — ₹20,000 crore instead of ₹2 lakh crore — corrected and explained on this page.
  • 3 GW is the Chief Minister’s statement at the LoI signing, not an engineering design or a phased plan.
  • No power allocation, environmental clearance or land allotment is published.
  • The site area of 1,217 acres is the whole smart city, not AirTrunk’s parcel, which is not published.
  • The ₹66.7 crore per megawatt figure derives from a total-investment claim and is not a construction cost.
  • Zero megawatts counted. Additive flag unknown.
  • What would close it. A power allocation. For a 3 GW campus that is the only number that matters, and India has never allocated 3 GW to a single facility.

8Sources

Sources: Reuters report of 1 June 2026 attributing the figure to the Maharashtra Chief Minister’s post; Data Center Dynamics coverage of 4 June 2026; CNBC TV18, ANI and UNI reports of the ₹2 lakh crore letter of intent; Forbes on the $21 billion project; TechCrunch on the wider $30 billion programme; and coverage of the MMRDA shareholder agreement of 18 April 2026.