Get Free Teaser
Capacity audit · India data centres

India’s Data-Centre Capacity: Five Numbers, Different Bases

MeitY’s ~1,575 MW, CBRE’s reported 1.75 GW H1 stock and 2 GW year-end outlook, C&W’s 1,789 MW, and Gridvik’s 778.69 MW count are not one reconciled total.

No single reconciled totalGovernment statement · provider estimates · forecast · Gridvik’s own mapped count.

There is no safe, source-free answer to “How much data-centre capacity does India have?” MeitY told the Lok Sabha in August 2026 that current capacity was about 1,575 MW; C&W reports 1,789 MW operational in H1; media coverage attributes a nearly 1,750 MW H1 operational estimate to CBRE; and CBRE’s roughly 2 GW year-end figure is a forecast. Gridvik’s public Registry separately shows 778.69 MW in its own operating-stage count. These are not five updates to the same reconciled stock series.[1][3][4][5][6]

Illustrative anonymous data-centre campus with an active building, a structure under construction and faint conceptual future outlines; not a depiction of a real facility
Illustrative artwork only. The buildings and outlines do not represent specific projects or a measured national total.
MeitY · Lok Sabha reply
≈1,575 MWGovernment statement of “current” capacity; measurement basis not defined in the release.[1]
CBRE · H1 2026
≈1,750 MWOperational estimate reported by Moneycontrol as CBRE’s; not shown in CBRE’s accessible summary.[3]
C&W · H1 2026
1,789 MWOperational capacity in C&W’s own series as of H1 2026.[4]
CBRE · end-2026 outlook
≈2 GWYear-end milestone/forecast in October coverage; not an observed 1 November total.[5]

Five figures, five source labels

The figures often appear together in headlines, but the sources do not publish a shared denominator or a cross-provider bridge. Read each number with its source, date and stage label attached.

FigureSource and dateSource’s labelBoundary to keep visible
≈1,575 MWMeitY statement submitted to Lok Sabha on 5 August; PIB release 6 August 2026“Installed capacity” / “current capacity”The release does not define the MW basis, reference date beyond the reply, or facility perimeter.
≈1,750 MWCBRE H1 2026 figure as reported by Moneycontrol on 8 October“Operational data centre capacity” at end-H1Secondary reporting attributes it to CBRE; CBRE’s accessible HTML summary does not display the absolute total.
1,789 MWC&W H1 2026 update, 23 September“Operational capacity” as of H1 2026A C&W consultancy estimate; its release does not reconcile it to MeitY, CBRE or Gridvik.
≈2 GWCBRE year-end 2026 outlook, quoted in October coverageExpected / milestone figure for end-2026A forecast at the 1 November cutoff—not a measured capacity total already achieved.
778.69 MWGridvik public Registry page, its October 2026 reconciliationGridvik’s own mapped total in the “operating” stageCompany-reported, record-derived count; not a government total or independent third-party validation.
Only one of these is a government-stated current-capacity figure. MeitY’s statement is a government source. CBRE and C&W figures are consultancy estimates; Gridvik’s 778.69 MW is Gridvik’s own Registry count; 2 GW is a forward-looking figure. Calling all of them “official” would misstate their provenance.

What MeitY actually told Parliament

A Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology release says the data-centre industry had grown from 375 MW in 2020 to a “current capacity of about 1,575 MW.” It records that the information was submitted by the Minister of State for Electronics and IT in the Lok Sabha on 5 August 2026; the Press Information Bureau posted the release on 6 August.[1]

This is stronger provenance than a press paraphrase: it is a government-published account of a ministerial reply to Parliament. But the wording still matters. The release uses “installed capacity” and “current capacity”; it does not specify whether the MW value means IT load, gross facility power, secured power, commissioned buildings, or another perimeter. Nor does it give a data cut-off more precise than the reply date. So the figure can be cited as MeitY’s stated figure—but should not be relabelled “1,575 MW of operational IT load” unless a source provides that basis.

Why the H1 estimates sit near 1.8 GW without becoming one figure

C&W’s 23 September H1 update reports 1,789 MW of operational capacity as of H1 2026. It also says the country’s top seven data-centre markets added 178 MW during the half-year.[4]

Separately, Moneycontrol’s 8 October report says CBRE put India’s operational capacity at nearly 1,750 MW at end-H1 2026, with Mumbai accounting for 52% and Chennai 18%. CBRE’s public report page is dated 21 September and confirms Mumbai’s 52% share of operational stock, but its accessible summary does not give the 1,750 MW total. That absolute capacity figure is therefore presented here as media-reported as CBRE’s estimate, not as a number verified from the accessible CBRE summary page.[2][3]

The proximity of 1,750 MW and 1,789 MW is not proof of an agreed national figure. Both are consultancy estimates for H1, but the accessible summaries do not publish a common facility universe, capacity-basis definition, treatment of portfolios and phases, or a reconciliation to the government’s 1,575 MW statement. This article does not subtract the figures to create a “missing MW” total, average them, or choose a winner.

Use the label that belongs to the source. “Operational stock” in CBRE coverage and “operational capacity” in C&W’s release remain provider-specific estimates until the providers publish a like-for-like bridge.

The 2 GW figure is a forecast—not today’s inventory

October coverage of CBRE’s H1 report describes roughly 2 GW of operational capacity as a year-end milestone. As of the 1 November 2026 research cutoff, 31 December has not arrived; the 2 GW figure must remain a forecast or outlook, not an achieved result.[5]

The forecast also does not resolve the earlier stock estimates. A year-end outlook is a future date; the 1,575 MW, 1,750 MW and 1,789 MW figures refer to different sources and earlier reference points. A later forecast should not be used to “correct” an earlier estimate without checking how each source defines commissioned and operational supply.

What Gridvik’s 778.69 MW count represents

Gridvik’s public India Data Centre Registry page reports 778.69 MW in its “Operating” stage. The same page displays 242 source-linked records and describes a reconciled set of 130 counted records behind its stage totals. This is a Gridvik-published, record-derived figure—not a MeitY statistic, a CBRE or C&W estimate, or independent third-party validation.[6]

The Registry’s own methodology says that capacity basis is stated at record level: IT load, gross facility power and secured contracted power are not interchangeable. It also says public conflicts remain visible and parent/child records are not summed together. Those controls help explain how the register is constructed, but they do not turn its mapped records into a complete, externally audited national census. An aggregate should not be compared directly with a consultancy’s operational-stock estimate unless the facility universe, MW basis and cut-off date are first made consistent.[6]

For that reason, the article does not describe 778.69 MW as “India’s true operational capacity,” derive a shortfall against the consultancy estimates, or equate Registry records with buildings. A record may represent a portfolio, campus or phase rather than a single facility. The figure remains explicitly labelled as Gridvik’s own mapped Registry count.

Why this is not a 2.25× national capacity gap

A raw division of a media-reported CBRE H1 estimate by Gridvik’s Registry count would make two differently constructed numbers look like a single same-date, same-basis comparison. The sources do not establish that equivalence. This article therefore does not publish a “2.25× gap”, claim that one source missed a fixed amount of capacity, or imply that the Registry count disproves a government or consultancy figure.

The defensible conclusion is narrower: multiple organisations publish capacity numbers, but their public materials use different labels, reference points and measurement systems. A reconciliation remains an open data task, not a ratio that can be settled by arithmetic alone.

What a true reconciliation would need

Until those fields are aligned, the responsible answer is source-specific: “MeitY stated about 1,575 MW in its August reply”; “C&W estimated 1,789 MW operational in H1”; “Moneycontrol reported CBRE’s nearly 1,750 MW H1 estimate”; “CBRE’s 2 GW is an end-year outlook”; and “Gridvik’s Registry reports 778.69 MW in its own operating-stage count.”

Quick answers

What is the official government figure?

MeitY’s PIB release records a ministerial reply to the Lok Sabha stating current data-centre capacity at about 1,575 MW. The release does not define the MW basis or a more precise data cut-off.

Is India already at 2 GW?

Not on the evidence cited here as of 1 November 2026. The approximately 2 GW figure is reported as a CBRE year-end outlook, not an observed result.

Are CBRE’s 1,750 MW and C&W’s 1,789 MW interchangeable?

No. They are separate H1 consultancy estimates, and the accessible source summaries do not provide a shared definition or reconciliation. The CBRE number is media-reported from its report; C&W publishes 1,789 MW in its own update.

Does Gridvik’s 778.69 MW mean India has only that much operating capacity?

No. It is Gridvik’s own mapped Registry count, not an official or independently validated nationwide capacity total. It should be quoted only with that source and scope attached.

Why not publish the 2.25× difference?

Because that ratio would compare Gridvik’s record-derived count with a media-reported consultancy stock estimate without matching the date, facility universe or MW basis.

Can the MeitY figure be called 1,575 MW of IT load?

Not from the cited PIB release alone. It says “installed capacity” and “current capacity,” but does not define the MW basis as IT load.

Sources and method

Research cutoff: 1 November 2026. The article separates a government-published ministerial statement, consultancy estimates, a media-reported CBRE stock figure, a year-end forecast and Gridvik’s own Registry count. It does not present a single reconciled national total or infer the reason for differences that the sources do not explain.

  1. Press Information Bureau / Ministry of Electronics & IT, “Government Highlights Rapid Expansion of Data Centre Capacity to Support India’s Growing Digital and AI Infrastructure”, 6 August 2026. The release states capacity grew from 375 MW in 2020 to about 1,575 MW and says the information was submitted by the Minister of State in Lok Sabha on 5 August 2026.Government-published statement; the release does not define the MW basis or data-centre inclusion perimeter.
  2. CBRE, “Beyond Growth: India’s Rise Among APAC’s Leading Data Centre Markets”, official report page, 21 September 2026. The accessible summary reports Mumbai’s 52% share of operational stock but does not state the countrywide 1,750 MW absolute figure. CBRE-linked report PDF.Used as the primary report page; the absolute H1 capacity figure is not presented here as directly verified from the accessible HTML summary.
  3. Moneycontrol, “Network connectivity pips power in selection of data centre sites: CBRE”, 8 October 2026. Reports nearly 1,750 MW operational capacity at end-H1 and quotes the approximately 2 GW end-year outlook as CBRE’s. Secondary reporting, not the primary CBRE summary.
  4. Cushman & Wakefield, “India’s Data Centre Development Pipeline through 2030 Reaches 3,860 MW…”, 23 September 2026. Reports 1,789 MW operational as of H1 2026 and 178 MW added across the top seven markets in H1.C&W consultancy estimate; no crosswalk to the MeitY, CBRE or Gridvik totals is supplied in the release.
  5. The Economic Times, PTI, “India’s data centre sector attracted USD 173 bn since 2021, capacity seen 2 GW by year-end: CBRE”, 6 October 2026. Attributes the approximately 2 GW end-year milestone and H2 supply outlook to CBRE; the article treats the year-end number as a forecast at its research cutoff.
  6. Gridvik India Data Centre Project Registry, public page accessed 1 November 2026. Displays 778.69 MW in the operating stage, 242 source-linked records, and a 26 October 2026 reconciliation. Its method section says capacity basis is stated per record (including IT load, gross facility power and secured contracted power), conflicts remain visible, and parent/child records are not summed.Gridvik’s own company-reported mapped count; not independent third-party validation or an official national census.
Bottom line: quote each number with its source, date and status. MeitY’s ~1,575 MW is a government-stated “current capacity” figure with no MW basis specified in the release; C&W’s 1,789 MW is its H1 operational estimate; CBRE’s ~1,750 MW is media-reported as its H1 estimate; the 2 GW figure is a year-end outlook; and 778.69 MW is Gridvik’s own Registry count. None should be silently converted into another or presented as a single reconciled national total.

Gridvik is an independent research firm. This article is informational and not investment, legal, tax, engineering, energy-market or environmental advice. Market estimates, project plans and policies can change; verify material claims with the linked source and relevant advisers.